Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Environmental Design Archives: Policies and Procedures

Designed to assist researchers who are using the archival collections at the Environmental Design Archives

Policies & Procedures for Use of Collections

Holdings of the Environmental Design Archives are available to faculty, staff, students, and the public for research within conditions imposed by donor agreements and institutional policy. Researchers are also required to comply with access rules designed to protect archival material for use by future generations.

Researchers are required to complete a registration form and to furnish personal photographic identification. The registration form includes a statement of agreement to abide by the Environmental Design Archives regulations, which researchers are required to read and sign before gaining access to collections.

Stack areas are closed to the public. Materials cannot be removed from the Archives. Coats, briefcases, backpacks, handbags, books, etc., are not allowed in the research area. We provide for the storage of such items. No pens, food, or drinks, are permitted.

Personal computers and cameras (without the use of flash) may be used for taking notes provided that their use does not disturb other researchers. The use of such equipment is subject to approval by the staff. Scanners are not permitted.

Access to collections does not constitute permission to publish, reproduce, exhibit, broadcast, or electronically disseminate Environmental Design Archives materials. Researchers must obtain permission for these activities by separate agreement with the Archives. Researchers are responsible for observing all U.S. and international copyright regulations.

 

undefined

 

Digitization Services

The Environmental Design Archives provides digitization services for a fee. Researchers should consult the staff for current prices, procedures, and estimates of turnaround time by emailing designarchives@berkeley.edu. The Archives provides reprographic services on a prepaid basis only. 

The Environmental Design Archives delivers digital images to patrons in three primary formats

  • Reference images are intended for informational purposes and should be viewed on a computer screen. We deliver reference images to fit 11in by 17in or smaller, 150 dpi, PDF files. 
    • Best for historiansstudents, and homeowners.
    • Suitable for printing on home printers, but the reduction in size from large documents will reduce detail and contrast. Many archival documents are faint, to begin with, and will not reproduce well on home printers and/or copy paper.
    • Only delivered with the understanding that commercial use or distribution is not allowed.
  • Publication images are intended for reproduction (printing) in a book, journal, or online article. We deliver publication images to fit 8 ½in by 11in, 300 dpi, TIFF files, or to the size specified by your publication contract. 
    • Best for authors and historians
    • Only delivered upon receipt of the EDA’s use agreement.
  • Reproduction images are intended to be printed at “life-size” matching the archival document. We deliver reproduction images as scaled to the original document, at 300 dpi.
    • Best for architects or designersexhibition printing, and users needing scale reproductions of documents.
    • Need to be printed by a commercial printer on a large format printer; they are not suitable for printing on home or office printers.
    • The Environmental Design Archives makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the size and scale of reproduced archival documents. While every attempt is made to size our photographic reproductions accurately, the age and condition of archival documents as well as the inability of the archives to control the editing of image files once they leave our hands prevents us from making any guarantees to their accuracy

Requesting Use Permissions

To request images for publications, please fill out the Use Agreement.

To request digital images or physical objects for exhibition, please write a formal letter to the Curator Emeritus at wlowell@berkeley.edu.

Access to collections does not constitute the procurement of permission to publish, reproduce, exhibit, broadcast, or electronically disseminate Environmental Design Archives materials. Researchers must obtain permission for these activities by separate use agreement with the Archives. Researchers are responsible for observing all U.S. and international copyright regulations.

Fee Schedule