It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
A library of teaching and research images, primarily serving the College of Environmental Design at the University of California, Berkeley. The collection includes over 82,000 digital images, over 300,000 35mm slides, and 37,000 lantern slides depicting architecture, landscapes, cities, and related material.
Oral history dating back to the beginnings of the University of California, when Hubert Howe Bancroft conducted interviews in the 1860s in support of his 39-volume history of the West. Over the decades, the Oral History Center has conducted 4,000 interviews on almost every topic imaginable.
A non-profit preservation organization whose mission is to promote, through education, an understanding and appreciation for Berkeley’s history, and to encourage the preservation of its historic buildings.
The California Historical Society, founded in 1871, is a nonprofit organization with a mission to inspire and empower people to make California's richly diverse past a meaningful part of their contemporary lives. The CHS Collection comprises a diverse body of materials documenting the history of California.
The Greene & Greene Virtual Archives (GGVA) contains images of drawings, sketches, photographs, correspondence, and other historical documents related to the work of the architects Greene & Greene, the southern California design firm (active 1894-1922) that is often associated with the architecture and craftsmanship of the American Arts and Crafts Movement.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Heritage is a nonprofit membership organization with a mission to preserve and enhance San Francisco’s unique architectural and cultural identity. This includes advocacy for historic resources, education programs, and tours and rental of the 1886 Haas-Lilienthal House.
The architectural collections of the Houston Metropolitan Research Center reflect a range of the region's architectural history. The principal focus of the collections is architectural drawings but also includes correspondence, office records, job logs, specifications, photographs, shop drawings, and oral history interviews.
icam is the international confederation of architectural museums and an organisation of architectural museums, centres and collections. It is dedicated to fostering links between all those interested in promoting the better understanding of architecture.
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes
PCAD includes a range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors.
Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists. SAA represents more than 6,200 professional archivists employed by governments, universities, businesses, libraries, and historical organizations nationally.
The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners.
An architectural research center of national importance situated within the UT Austin Architecture and Planning Library, supporting research and education about the history of the built environment by acquiring and preserving research collections and by making them accessible.
The Foundation for Landscape Studies is a New York not-for-profit public charity that initiates collaborative projects with other organizations, institutions, and individuals that promote and advance landscape history and historic landscape design, theory and practice.
This site aims to give a picture of the life, work and influence of Gertrude Jekyll; she was a notable garden designer and author, who was born in London and lived the greater part of her life in Surrey, England, from 1843 to 1932.