Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.

Environmental Design Archives: How to Find Materials

Designed to assist researchers who are using the archival collections at the Environmental Design Archives

How Collections are Organized

Collections are organized by the creators of the records such as architect, landscape architect, firm, designer, or photographer and then by original client’s last name or project title not by address. Client name can be an individual (Robert Birge), the corporate entity (Eichler Homes), or organization (U.S. Farm Security Administration).

How Collections are Described

Before coming to do research, it helps if you can supply a list of items you would like to view during your visit. To find this information, you can consult the following resources:

 

Information pages: found via the list of collections page consist of a webpage for each collection containing a brief biography of the creator of the records, and for each collection--the scope of contents, links to the project index, and an online finding aid. 

Finding Aids: for individual collections are available to aid researchers in understanding the arrangement, scope, and contents of the records. They can be accessed through the EDA’s website or directly through the Online Archive of California where digital images are also available (see eyeball icon).

Not sure what a finding aid is or how to use one? Take a look at our finding aid guide, in the dropdown menu, or watch the video below. 

Project Index: an excel spreadsheet that lists all the projects for a particular EDA collection. This index is organized by the original client's last name or project title and can be found on the information page for each respective collection. Click on the Project Index tab on the dropdown menu on this page for a step by step guide for reading a Project Index.

 

Digitized Archival Material

  • The Online Exhibits website hosts digital versions of physical exhibits curated by the EDA team. Check out over 2,000 digitized collection images here! Browse by exhibition or keyword search!
  • Calisphere: Several thousand high-resolution images from the EDA are accessible here.
  • Internet Archive: a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The EDA hosts a page with videos and audio recordings from our collections.
  • Gallery Talks: If you missed any of our lecture series from this year or the last two years, you can watch them here.
  • Virtual Collections are thematic digital exhibits comprised of content coming from different archival collections.

    • Journey to The Sea Ranch engages visitors with archival collections through a series of visually-rich stories, including a comprehensive timeline of the creative process and tours of the built environment. 

  • Online Archives of California (OAC): The EDA has 158 collections described here, 19 of which have online items. To learn more about our holdings, check out our page on the OAC.