Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Environmental Design Archives: Project Index

Designed to assist researchers who are using the archival collections at the Environmental Design Archives

What is a Project Index?

The project index is an Excel Spreadsheet that we create for each collection the EDA holds. This list is a comprehensive list of the projects we hold documentation for. Projects are organized, in these inventories, by the original client's last name or project title, and not by address.
The EDA does not organize or catalog its material according to address. This is due to several factors, some of which include: (1) often the address is simply not listed on plans (in some cases if the house was built in a new subdivision in which addresses had not yet been assigned), (2) addresses changes over time, (3) matters of the privacy of the current homeowner.

Where do I find the Project Index?

Visit the EDA website: https://archives.ced.berkeley.edu/ and click on the collections link on the left side of the page. 

undefined

 

Once you click the Collections link you will see a list of names and firms. Each name represents a collection and each name is also a hyperlink. If you click on any creator you will be taken to that information page. Each information page contains a brief biography and the scope and contents of the collection. 

 

 undefined

 

Along the top of each information page, you will also see a paragraph that reads: "Return to List of Collections

To download a list of projects by this architect in an Excel spreadsheet, see the Project Index. For instructions on interpreting the Project Index, see The Guide to the Project Index. To view the finding aid for this architect's collection, see the Finding Aid at the Online Archive of California."

 

undefined

 

If you click on the project index link will download an excel spreadsheet that lists all of the projects by that creator that the EDA holds.

 

undefined