Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Environmental Design Archives: Other Archival Resources

Designed to assist researchers who are using the archival collections at the Environmental Design Archives

What Are Archives?

Archives are what are known as primary sources because they provide a first-hand account of an event by someone who witnessed it or experienced it. They are materials that were created by a person but have not been interpreted by others. Archives are unique, unpublished resources that are not available anywhere else. Archives are any material that has been identified as having lasting historical value. 

An archive is a collection containing original records, documents, images, drawings, correspondence, or other materials. For a researcher, archives are a treasure house of primary resources. See Archival Collections and Primary Source Databases for additional archival sources.

 Some examples of primary sources in our collections are as follows:
 
undefined
Manuscript Materials such as brochures and correspondence
 
undefined
Photographs, scrapbooks, and slides
 
undefined
Working drawings, blueprints, specifications

Using Archival Materials

For information on locating and using archives and special collections, see these research guides.:

 

Finding Archival Material 


Selected Design Archives

Selected Archival Collections in California

See the following guides for more links: History of Architecture and Historic Preservation.