The Optometry and Health Sciences collection includes print and online material in optometry, ophthalmology, vision science, healthcare, and research procedures in health and medicine.
50 Studies Every Ophthalmologist Should Know by 50 Studies Every Ophthalmologist Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of ophthalmology. Selected using a rigorous methodology, emphasis has been placed on landmark studies which have influenced current ophthalmology practice guidelines. For each study, a concisesummary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. An illustrative clinical case concludes each review, followed by brief information on other relevant studies. This book is a must-read for ophthalmologists, especially those intraining or preparing for board review, as well as anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management by This book provides a comprehensive review on the surgical care of patients requiring removal of an eye, as well as consequent functional and cosmetic rehabilitation. In addition to covering the crafting of ocular prosthetics, Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management also addresses the psychological and physical adjustments to losing an eye, and adapting to that loss. Divided into five parts, Anophthalmia functions as a go-to reference for ophthalmologists and oculoplastic surgeons. The book begins by laying out the clinical foundations and history of anophthalmia. Part II and III discuss surgical removal techniques, prosthesis fitting and maintenance, congenital anophthalmia, infections and inflammations, and newer surgical techniques such as osseointegration after orbital exenteration. Finally, the book concludes with chapters on prosthetic options including scleral shells, keratopigmentation procedures, and cosmetic contact lenses. Unique in content, Anophthalmia is a vital resource for practicing ophthalmologists, oculoplastic surgeons, and all medical professionals who care for patients with surgical and traumatic loss of the eye and orbital tissues. Additionally, sufficient detail and explanation make this work accessible to those in training, such as medical students, ophthalmology residents, and fellows.
Challenges and Applications for Implementing Machine Learning in Computer Vision by Machine learning allows for non-conventional and productive answers for issues within various fields, including problems related to visually perceptive computers. Applying these strategies and algorithms to the area of computer vision allows for higher achievement in tasks such as spatial recognition, big data collection, and image processing. There is a need for research that seeks to understand the development and efficiency of current methods that enable machines to see. Challenges and Applications for Implementing Machine Learning in Computer Vision is a collection of innovative research that combines theory and practice on adopting the latest deep learning advancements for machines capable of visual processing. Highlighting a wide range of topics such as video segmentation, object recognition, and 3D modelling, this publication is ideally designed for computer scientists, medical professionals, computer engineers, information technology practitioners, industry experts, scholars, researchers, and students seeking current research on the utilization of evolving computer vision techniques.
Diabetes and Retinopathy. Volume 2, Computer-aided Diagnosis by Diabetes and Retinopathy brings together the multifaceted information about the research and clinical application from academic, clinical, bioengineering and bioinformatics perspectives. The editors bring together a stellar cast of authors to pull together this diverse and interesting field. Academic researchers, bioengineers, new investigators and students interested in diabetes and retinopathy need an authoritative reference to bring this multidisciplinary field together to reduce the amount of time spent on source-searching and more time on actual research and the clinical application. This reference depicts the current clinical understanding of DR as well as the many scientific advances in understanding this condition.
Effective Science Communication: A Practical Guide to Surviving as a Scientist by Effective Science Communication: A practical guide to surviving as a scientist is devoted to the variety of ways that scientists are expected to communicate in their day-to-day professional lives. It includes practical advice on how to publish your work in scientific journals, apply for grants, and effectively communicate your research to both scientific and non-scientific audiences. There are chapters devoted to constructing a digital footprint, dealing with the media, and influencing science policy. Guiding you throughout are a number of useful exercises that will help you to become a more effective communicator, providing a helping hand in your scientific journey to not only survive, but to prosper in the process.
Foundations of Corneal Disease: Past, Present and Future by The field of cornea has seen tremendous advances over the last 40 years--this uniquely comprehensive book will discuss the history of these advances, current best practices in important diseases of the cornea and ocular surface, and examine future directions in diagnosis and management. Written by leading experts, many of whom trained under Claes Henrik Dohlman, MD, PhD, whose influence and many invaluable contributions have defined and shaped the field of cornea, each chapter will reflect the state of the art in the various aspects of cornea. Foundations of Corneal Disease: Past, Present, and Future contains six different sections, opening with an introduction which delves into the evolution of subspecialty training in cornea, and provides a historical perspective of our understanding of ocular surface disease. Section Two addresses perspectives on important corneal and external diseases including infectious keratitis, dry eye, and herpes simplex. Section Three and Section Four address surgery and surgical alternatives, and frontiers in corneal research. Section Six closes this book with a discussion of special topics: imaging the cornea, corneal blindness, eye banking, and clinical trials in dry eye, and explores future directions in this fast-paced field. Foundations of Corneal Disease: Past, Present, and Future contains is an ideal guide for corneal specialists, ophthalmology residents and fellows planning to enter cornea, corneal scientists, and to those in ophthalmology and visual science interested in a comprehensive resource on cornea and the history of this field.
Healthcare Digital Transformation: How Consumerism, Technology and Pandemic are Accelerating the Future by This book is a reference guide for healthcare executives and technology providers involved in the ongoing digital transformation of the healthcare sector. The book focuses specifically on the challenges and opportunities for health systems in their journey towards a digital future. It draws from proprietary research and public information, along with interviews with over one hundred executives in leading health systems such as Cleveland Clinic, Partners, Mayo, Kaiser, and Intermountain as well as numerous technology providers. The authors explore the important role of technology and role of EHR systems, digital health innovators, and big tech firms in the ongoing digital transformation of healthcare. Based on best practices from real-life examples, the book is a guidebook that provides a set of templates and frameworks for digital transformation practitioners in healthcare.
Human Color Vision and Tetrachromacy by Human color perception is widely understood to be based on a neural coding system involving signals from three distinct classes of retinal photoreceptors. This retina processing model has long served as the mainstream scientific template for human color vision research and has also proven to be useful for the practical design of display technologies, user interfaces, and medical diagnosis tools that enlist human color perception behaviors. Recent findings in the area of retinal photopigment gene sequencing have provided important updates to our understanding of the molecular basis and genetic inheritance of individual variations of human color vision. This Element focuses on new knowledge about the linkages between color vision genetics and color perception variation and the color perception consequences of inheriting alternative, nonnormative, forms of genetic sequence variation.
Orbit and Oculoplastics: Newer Trends by This book covers the advances in the field of ophthalmic plastic and orbital surgery. This book aims at educating the general and specialist ophthalmologists and residents about the various facets that this niche subspecialty has to offer in the future. It covers the latest evidence-based approach in the diagnosis and management of various oculoplastic disorders. Chapters are supplemented with ample illustrations and well labelled diagrams wherever necessary. Chapters include key topics such as imaging, orbital decompression, lacrimal surgery, and orbital trauma. Chapters on navigation-guided orbital surgery, oculo-facial aesthetics, socket surgery, and targeted therapies on peri-ocular and orbital malignancies complete the coverage. A special chapter on photographic documentation in oculoplastics guides readers on how to capture the images for future reference and work. As part of the series "Current Practices in Ophthalmology" this volume is meant for residents, fellows-in-training, generalist ophthalmologists and specialists alike.
The Pocket Guide to Medical Retina by The latest installment in SLACK's Pocket Guide series, The Pocket Guide to Medical Retina provides essential information on medical retina diseases along with multimodal imaging of each condition, perfect for medical students, residents, fellows, or comprehensive ophthalmologists. This accessible small handbook covers the basics while allowing readers to quickly synthesize information easily related to clinical encounters. With over 300 high-resolution original figures, The Pocket Guide to Medical Retina is an image-heavy book with succinct text so information can be rapidly distilled. Drs. Jason Hsu and Allen Chiang have created the ultimate quick-summary pocket guide on retinal conditions including: Up-to-date figures, including spectral-domain optical coherence tomography and autofluorescence in addition to color fundus photos Macular diseases Retinal vascular diseases Infectious inflammatory diseases Noninfectious inflammatory diseases Retinal degenerations and dystrophies Pediatric retinal diseases Trauma-related retinopathies Drug-related retinopathies Peripheral retinal diseases Retinal and choroidal tumors With its portable size and plethora of useful information, The Pocket Guide to Medical Retina is a must-have for medical students up to practicing ophthalmologists.
The Science and Business of Drug Discovery by The Science and Business of Drug Discovery is written for those who want to learn about the biopharmaceutical industry and its products whatever their level of technical knowledge. Its aim is to demystify the jargon used in drug development, but in a way that avoids over simplification and the resulting loss of key information. Each of the twenty chapters is illustrated with figures and tables which clarify some of the more technical points being made. Also included is a drug discovery case history which draws the relevant material together into a single chapter. In recognizing that it is difficult to navigate through the many external resources dealing with drug development, the book has been written to guide the reader towards the most appropriate information sources, including those listed in the two appendices. The following topics are covered: Different types of drugs: from small molecules to stem cells Background to chemistry of small and large molecules Historical background to drug discovery, pharmacology and biotechnology The drug discovery pipeline: from target discovery to marketed medicine Commercial aspects of drug discovery Challenges to the biopharmaceutical industry and its responses Material of specific interest to technology transfer executives, recruiters and pharmaceutical translators 
Making Meaning of Data in Pharmaceutical and Clinical Research by 
Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact by The definitive step-by step resource for qualitative and ethnographic research Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is a comprehensive guide on both the theoretical foundations and practical application of qualitative methodology. Adopting a phronetic-iterative approach, this foundational book leads readers through the chronological progression of a qualitative research project, from designing a study and collecting and analyzing data to developing theories and effectively communicating the results--allowing readers to employ qualitative methods in their projects as they follow each chapter. Coverage of topics such as qualitative theories, ethics, sampling, interview techniques, qualitative quality, and advice on practical fieldwork provides clear and concise guidance on how to design and conduct sound research projects. Easy-to-follow instructions on iterative qualitative data analysis explain how to organize, code, interpret, make claims, and build theory. Throughout, the author offers her own backstage stories about fieldwork, analysis, drafting, writing, and publishing, revealing the emotional and humorous aspects of practicing qualitative methods. Now in its second edition, this thorough and informative text includes new and expanded sections on topics including post-qualitative research, phenomenology, textual analysis and cultural studies, gaining access to elite and difficult to access populations, on persuasive writing, novel interviewing approaches, and more. Numerous examples, case studies, activities, and discussion questions have been updated to reflect current research and ensure contemporary relevance. Written in an engaging and accessible narrative style by an acclaimed scholar and researcher in the field Offers new and updated examples of coding and qualitative analysis, full-color photos and illustrations, and a companion instructor website Synthesizes the most up-to-date multidisciplinary literature on qualitative research methods including seven main approaches to qualitative inquiry: grounded theory, case study, ethnography, phenomenology, narrative and autoethnography, participatory action research, and arts-based research Presents innovative qualitative data collection methods and modern representation strategies, such as virtual ethnography, photo-voice, and mobile interviewing Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is an ideal resource for undergraduate and graduate students, instructors, and faculty across multiple disciplines including the social sciences, healthcare, education, management, and the humanities, and for practitioners seeking expert guidance on practical qualitative methods.