Nuggets of Number Theory : a Visual Approach by Roger B. NelsenNuggets of Number Theory will attract fans of visual thinking, number theory, and surprising connections. This book contains hundreds of visual explanations of results from elementary number theory. Figurate numbers and Pythagorean triples feature prominently, of course, but there are also proofs of Fermat's Little and Wilson's Theorems. Fibonacci and perfect numbers, Pell's equation, and continued fractions all find visual representation in this charming collection. It will be a rich source of visual inspiration for anyone teaching, or learning, number theory and will provide endless pleasure to those interested in looking at number theory with new eyes. Author Roger Nelsen is a long-time contributor of ``Proofs Without Words'' in the MAA's Mathematics Magazine and College Mathematics Journal. This is his twelfth book with MAA Press.
Call Number: QA241 .N435 2018
The Mathematics of Everyday Life by Alfred S. Posamentier; Christian SpreitzerIf you think of mathematics as a series of pointless classroom exercises without much relevance to real life, this book will change your mind. As the authors show, math is deeply embedded in almost every aspect of daily life--from managing your personal finances, making consumer purchases, and sharpening your computational skills, to learning to apply mathematical concepts that will give you a better grasp of both ordinary and extraordinary events and help you better appreciate the world we live in. With some basic geometry under your belt, you'll discover that there is an optimal point on a soccer field from which to shoot a goal. And you'll be more clever with the gears of a bike. If you like to play cards or go to the casino, knowing something about probability will give you an edge. You'll also have an enhanced understanding of the "whispering effect" inside the Capitol rotunda, why a car's headlights are so bright, and even why sewer covers are round.
Call Number: QA93 .P6725 2018
Random Processes : First-passage and Escape by Masoliver JaumeRandom processes are one of the most powerful tools in the study and understanding of countless phenomena in natural and social sciences. The book is a complete medium-level introduction to the subject. The book is written in a clear and pedagogical manner but with enough rigor and scope that can appeal to both students and researchers. This book is addressed to advanced students and professional researchers in many branches of science where level crossings and extremes appear but with some particular emphasis on some applications in socio-economic systems.
Call Number: QA274 .M374 2018
Sobolev and Viscosity Solutions for Fully Nonlinear Elliptic and Parabolic Equations by N. V. KrylovThis book concentrates on first boundary-value problems for fully nonlinear second-order uniformly elliptic and parabolic equations with discontinuous coefficients. We look for solutions in Sobolev classes, local or global, or for viscosity solutions. Most of the auxiliary results, such as Aleksandrov's elliptic and parabolic estimates, the Krylov-Safonov and the Evans-Krylov theorems, are taken from old sources, and the main results were obtained in the last few years. Presentation of these results is based on a generalization of the Fefferman-Stein theorem, on Fang-Hua Lin's like estimates, and on the so-called ``ersatz'' existence theorems, saying that one can slightly modify ``any'' equation and get a ``cut-off'' equation that has solutions with bounded derivatives. These theorems allow us to prove the solvability in Sobolev classes for equations that are quite far from the ones which are convex or concave with respect to the Hessians of the unknown functions. In studying viscosity solutions, these theorems also allow us to deal with classical approximating solutions, thus avoiding sometimes heavy constructions from the usual theory of viscosity solutions.
Call Number: QA3 .M283 no.233 (2018)
Tactile Learning Activities in Mathematics : a Recipe Book for the Undergraduate Classroom by Julie Barnes; Jessica M. LibertiniQ: What do feather boas, cookies, and paper shredders have in common? A: They are all ingredients that have the potential to help your undergraduate students understand a variety of mathematical concepts. In this book, 43 faculty from a wide range of institutional settings share a total of 64 hands-on activities that allow students to physically engage with mathematical ideas ranging from the basics of precalculus to special topics appropriate for upper-level courses. Each learning activity is presented in an easy-to-read recipe format that includes a list of supplies; a narrative briefly describing the reasons, logistics, and helpful hints for running the activity; and a page that can be used as a handout in class. Purchase of the book also includes access to electronic printable versions of the handouts. With so many activities, it might be hard to decide where to start. For that reason, there are four indices to help the reader navigate this book: a concept index, a course index, an author index, and a main ingredient index. In addition to providing activities for precalculus, calculus, commonly required mathematics courses for majors, and more specialized upper-level electives, there is also a section describing how to modify many of the activities to fit into a liberal arts mathematics class. Whether you are new to using hands-on activities in class or are more experienced, the authors hope that this book will encourage and inspire you to explore the possibilities of using more hands-on activities in your classes. Bon appetit!
Call Number: QA20.G35 T33 2018
Applying Mathematics by Otávio Bueno; Steven FrenchHow is that when scientists need some piece of mathematics through which to frame their theory, it is there to hand? What has been called "the unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics" sets a challenge for philosophers. Some have responded to that challenge by arguing that mathematics isessentially anthropocentric in character, whereas others have pointed to the range of structures that mathematics offers. Otavio Bueno and Steven French offer a middle way, which focuses on the moves that have to be made in both the mathematics and the relevant physics in order to bring the two intoappropriate relation. This relation can be captured via the inferential conception of the applicability of mathematics, which is formulated in terms of immersion, inference, and interpretation. In particular, the roles of idealisations and of surplus structure in science and mathematics respectivelyare brought to the fore and captured via an approach to models and theories that emphasize the partiality of the available information: the partial structures approach. The discussion as a whole is grounded in a number of case studies drawn from the history of quantum physics, and extended to contest recent claims that the explanatory role of certain mathematical structures in scientific practice supports a realist attitude towards them. The overall conclusion isthat the effectiveness of mathematics does not seem unreasonable at all once close attention is paid to how it is actually applied in practice.
Call Number: QA8.4 .B84 2018
Spectral Theory of Canonical Systems by Christian RemlingCanonical systems occupy a central position in the spectral theory of second order differential operators. They may be used to realize arbitrary spectral data, and the classical operators such as Schrödinger, Jacobi, Dirac, and Sturm-Liouville equations can be written in this form. 'Spectral Theory of Canonical Systems' offers a selfcontained and detailed introduction to this theory. Techniques to construct self-adjoint realizations in suitable Hilbert spaces, a modern treatment of de Branges spaces, and direct and inverse spectral problems are discussed. Contents Basic definitions Symmetric and self-adjoint relations Spectral representation Transfer matrices and de Branges spaces Inverse spectral theory Some applications The absolutely continuous spectrum
Call Number: QA320 .R465 2018
Unramified Brauer Group and Its Applications by Sergey Gorchinskiy; Constantin ShramovThis book is devoted to arithmetic geometry with special attention given to the unramified Brauer group of algebraic varieties and its most striking applications in birational and Diophantine geometry. The topics include Galois cohomology, Brauer groups, obstructions to stable rationality, Weil restriction of scalars, algebraic tori, the Hasse principle, Brauer-Manin obstruction, and etale cohomology. The book contains a detailed presentation of an example of a stably rational but not rational variety, which is presented as series of exercises with detailed hints. This approach is aimed to help the reader understand crucial ideas without being lost in technical details. The reader will end up with a good working knowledge of the Brauer group and its important geometric applications, including the construction of unirational but not stably rational algebraic varieties, a subject which has become fashionable again in connection with the recent breakthroughs by a number of mathematicians.
Call Number: QA3 .T7 Vol. 246
An Introduction to Envelopes : Dimension Reduction for Efficient Estimation in Multivariate Statistics by R. Dennis CookWritten by the leading expert in the field, this text reviews the major new developments in envelope models and methods An Introduction to Envelopes provides an overview of the theory and methods of envelopes, a class of procedures for increasing efficiency in multivariate analyses without altering traditional objectives. The author offers a balance between foundations and methodology by integrating illustrative examples that show how envelopes can be used in practice. He discusses how to use envelopes to target selected coefficients and explores predictor envelopes and their connection with partial least squares regression. The book reveals the potential for envelope methodology to improve estimation of a multivariate mean. The text also includes information on how envelopes can be used in generalized linear models, regressions with a matrix-valued response, and reviews work on sparse and Bayesian response envelopes. In addition, the text explores relationships between envelopes and other dimension reduction methods, including canonical correlations, reduced-rank regression, supervised singular value decomposition, sufficient dimension reduction, principal components, and principal fitted components. This important resource: * Offers a text written by the leading expert in this field * Describes groundbreaking work that puts the focus on this burgeoning area of study * Covers the important new developments in the field and highlights the most important directions * Discusses the underlying mathematics and linear algebra * Includes an online companion site with both R and Matlab support Written for researchers and graduate students in multivariate analysis and dimension reduction, as well as practitioners interested in statistical methodology, An Introduction to Envelopes offers the first book on the theory and methods of envelopes.
Call Number: QA278 .C648 2018
Introduction to the Theory of Valuations by Semyon AleskerTheory of valuations on convex sets is a classical part of convex geometry which goes back at least to the positive solution of the third Hilbert problem by M. Dehn in 1900. Since then the theory has undergone a multifaceted development. The author discusses some of Hadwiger's results on valuations on convex compact sets that are continuous in the Hausdorff metric. The book also discusses the Klain-Schneider theorem as well as the proof of McMullen's conjecture, which led subsequently to many further applications and advances in the theory. The last section gives an overview of more recent developments in the theory of translation-invariant continuous valuations, some of which turn out to be useful in integral geometry. This book grew out of lectures that were given in August 2015 at Kent State University in the framework of the NSF CBMS conference ``Introduction to the Theory of Valuations on Convex Sets''. Only a basic background in general convexity is assumed.
Call Number: QA166.197 .I68 2018
Print & eBook
A General Introduction to Data Analytics by André Carvalho; Tomás Horvath; João MoreiraA guide to the principles and methods of data analysis that does not require knowledge of statistics or programming A General Introduction to Data Analytics is an essential guide to understand and use data analytics. This book is written using easy-to-understand terms and does not require familiarity with statistics or programming. The authors--noted experts in the field--highlight an explanation of the intuition behind the basic data analytics techniques. The text also contains exercises and illustrative examples. Thought to be easily accessible to non-experts, the book provides motivation to the necessity of analyzing data. It explains how to visualize and summarize data, and how to find natural groups and frequent patterns in a dataset. The book also explores predictive tasks, be them classification or regression. Finally, the book discusses popular data analytic applications, like mining the web, information retrieval, social network analysis, working with text, and recommender systems. The learning resources offer: A guide to the reasoning behind data mining techniques A unique illustrative example that extends throughout all the chapters Exercises at the end of each chapter and larger projects at the end of each of the text's two main parts Together with these learning resources, the book can be used in a 13-week course guide, one chapter per course topic. The book was written in a format that allows the understanding of the main data analytics concepts by non-mathematicians, non-statisticians and non-computer scientists interested in getting an introduction to data science. A General Introduction to Data Analytics is a basic guide to data analytics written in highly accessible terms.
Online Resource - Access restricted to UC campuses
Divisors and Sandpiles : an Introduction to Chip-firing by Scott Corry; David PerkinsonDivisors and Sandpiles provides an introduction to the combinatorial theory of chip-firing on finite graphs. Part 1 motivates the study of the discrete Laplacian by introducing the dollar game. The resulting theory of divisors on graphs runs in close parallel to the geometric theory of divisors on Riemann surfaces, and Part I culminates in a full exposition of the graph-theoretic Riemann-Roch theorem due to M. Baker and S. Norine. The text leverages the reader's understanding of the discrete story to provide a brief overview of the classical theory of Riemann surfaces. Part 2 focuses on sandpiles, which are toy models of physical systems with dynamics controlled by the discrete Laplacian of the underlying graph. The text provides a careful introduction to the sandpile group and the abelian sandpile model, leading ultimately to L. Levine's threshold density theorem for the fixed-energy sandpile Markov chain. In a precise sense, the theory of sandpiles is dual to the theory of divisors, and there are many beautiful connections between the first two parts of the book. Part 3 addresses various topics connecting the theory of chip-firing to other areas of mathematics, including the matrix-tree theorem, harmonic morphisms, parking functions, $M$-matrices, matroids, the Tutte polynomial, and simplicial homology. The text is suitable for advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students.
Mathematical Biology : Modeling and Analysis by Avner FriedmanThe fast growing field of mathematical biology addresses biological questions using mathematical models from areas such as dynamical systems, probability, statistics, and discrete mathematics. This book considers models that are described by systems of partial differential equations, and it focuses on modeling, rather than on numerical methods and simulations. The models studied are concerned with population dynamics, cancer, risk of plaque growth associated with high cholesterol, and wound healing. A rich variety of open problems demonstrates the exciting challenges and opportunities for research at the interface of mathematics and biology. This book primarily addresses students and researchers in mathematics who do not necessarily have any background in biology and who may have had little exposure to PDEs.
Call Number: QH323.5 .F75 2018
Inverse Galois Theory by G. Mallery; B. H. MatzatA consistent and near complete survey of the important progress made in the field over the last few years, with the main emphasis on the rigidity method and its applications. Among others, this monograph presents the most successful existence theorems known and construction methods for Galois extensions as well as solutions for embedding problems combined with a collection of the existing Galois realizations.