Finding Ellipses : What Blaschke Products, Poncelet's Theorem, and the Numerical Range Know About Each Other by Ulrich Daepp; Pamela Gorkin; Andrew Shaffer; Karl VossMathematicians delight in finding surprising connections between seemingly disparate areas of mathematics. Whole domains of modern mathematics have arisen from exploration of such connections--consider analytic number theory or algebraic topology. Finding Ellipses is a delight-filled romp across a three-way unexpected connection between complex analysis, linear algebra, and projective geometry. The book begins with Blaschke products, complex-analytic functions that are generalizations of disk automorphisms. In the analysis of Blaschke products, we encounter, in a quite natural way, an ellipse inside the unit disk. The story continues by introducing the reader to Poncelet's theorem--a beautiful result in projective geometry that ties together two conics and, in particular, two ellipses, one circumscribed by a polygon that is inscribed in the second. The Blaschke ellipse and the Poncelet ellipse turn out to be the same ellipse, and the connection is illuminated by considering the numerical range of a $2 \times 2$ matrix. The numerical range is a convex subset of the complex plane that contains information about the geometry of the transformation represented by a matrix. Through the numerical range of $n \times n$ matrices, we learn more about the interplay between Poncelet's theorem and Blaschke products. The story ranges widely over analysis, algebra, and geometry, and the exposition of the deep and surprising connections is lucid and compelling. Written for advanced undergraduates or beginning graduate students, this book would be the perfect vehicle for an invigorating and enlightening capstone exploration. The exercises and collection of extensive projects could be used as an embarkation point for a satisfying and rich research project. You are invited to read actively using the accompanying interactive website, which allows you to visualize the concepts in the book, experiment, and develop original conjectures.
An Alternative Approach to Lie Groups and Geometric Structures by Ercüment OrtaçgilThis book presents a new and innovative approach to Lie groups and differential geometry. Rather than compiling and reviewing the existing material on this classical subject, Professor Ortacgil instead questions the foundations of the subject, and proposes a new direction. Aimed at the curious and courageous mathematician, this book aims to provoke further debate and inspire further development of this original research.
Weighted Inequalities Involving P-Quasiconcave Operators by W. D. Evans; Amiran Gogatishvili; B. OpicSome problems in mathematical analysis (e.g., in theory of function spaces, in approximation theory or in interpolation theory) lead to the investigation of weighted inequalities on certain classes of quasiconcave functions on the interval I=(a, b) ∊ R. In this book we analyse the class Qρ(I) of ρ-quasiconcave functions in a complete generality in order to establish results needed for a comprehensive study of weighted inequalities on the class Qρ(I). We illustrate our results on weighted inequalities of Hardy type, on weighted inequalities of Hardy type involving supremum, and on reverse forms of these inequalities
Bilinear Regression Analysis : an Introduction by Dietrich von RosenThis book expands on the classical statistical multivariate analysis theory by focusing on bilinear regression models, a class of models comprising the classical growth curve model and its extensions. In order to analyze the bilinear regression models in an interpretable way, concepts from linear models are extended and applied to tensor spaces. Further, the book considers decompositions of tensor products into natural subspaces, and addresses maximum likelihood estimation, residual analysis, influential observation analysis and testing hypotheses, where properties of estimators such as moments, asymptotic distributions or approximations of distributions are also studied. Throughout the text, examples and several analyzed data sets illustrate the different approaches, and fresh insights into classical multivariate analysis are provided. This monograph is of interest to researchers and Ph.D. students in mathematical statistics, signal processing and other fields where statistical multivariate analysis is utilized. It can also be used as a text for second graduate-level courses on multivariate analysis.
Call Number: QA278.2 .R67 2018
How to Fall Slower Than Gravity : and Other Everyday (and Not so Everyday) Uses of Mathematics and Physical Reasoning by Paul J. NahinAn engaging collection of intriguing problems that shows you how to think like a mathematical physicist Paul Nahin is a master at explaining odd phenomena through straightforward mathematics. In this collection of twenty-six intriguing problems, he explores how mathematical physicists think. Always entertaining, the problems range from ancient catapult conundrums to the puzzling physics of a very peculiar kind of glass called NASTYGLASS--and from dodging trucks to why raindrops fall slower than the rate of gravity. The questions raised may seem impossible to answer at first and may require an unexpected twist in reasoning, but sometimes their solutions are surprisingly simple. Nahin's goal, however, is always to guide readers--who will need only to have studied advanced high school math and physics--in expanding their mathematical thinking to make sense of the curiosities of the physical world. The problems are in the first part of the book and the solutions are in the second, so that readers may challenge themselves to solve the questions on their own before looking at the explanations. The problems show how mathematics--including algebra, trigonometry, geometry, and calculus--can be united with physical laws to solve both real and theoretical problems. Historical anecdotes woven throughout the book bring alive the circumstances and people involved in some amazing discoveries and achievements. More than a puzzle book, this work will immerse you in the delights of scientific history while honing your math skills.
Call Number: QA43 .N34 2018
Flexible Imputation of Missing Data by Stef van BuurenMissing data pose challenges to real-life data analysis. Simple ad-hoc fixes, like deletion or mean imputation, only work under highly restrictive conditions, which are often not met in practice. Multiple imputation replaces each missing value by multiple plausible values. The variability between these replacements reflects our ignorance of the true (but missing) value. Each of the completed data set is then analyzed by standard methods, and the results are pooled to obtain unbiased estimates with correct confidence intervals. Multiple imputation is a general approach that also inspires novel solutions to old problems by reformulating the task at hand as a missing-data problem. This is the second edition of a popular book on multiple imputation, focused on explaining the application of methods through detailed worked examples using the MICE package as developed by the author. This new edition incorporates the recent developments in this fast-moving field. This class-tested book avoids mathematical and technical details as much as possible: formulas are accompanied by verbal statements that explain the formula in accessible terms. The book sharpens the reader¿s intuition on how to think about missing data, and provides all the tools needed to execute a well-grounded quantitative analysis in the presence of missing data.
Call Number: QA278 .B88 2018
Parametrix for Wave Equations on a Rough Background III : Space-time Regularity of the Phase by Jérémie SzeftelThis book is the third of a sequence of four papers dedicated to the construction and the control of a parametrix to the homogenous wave equation [square]gø=0, where g is a rough metric satisfying the Einstein vacuum equations. On a more general level, this book deals with the control of the eikonal equation on a rough background, and with the derivation of L2 bounds for Fourier integral operators on manifolds with rough phases and symbols, and as such is also of independent interest.
Call Number: QC174.26.W28 S944 2018
Binomial Ideals by Jürgen Herzog; Takayuki Hibi; Hidefumi OhsugiThis textbook provides an introduction to the combinatorial and statistical aspects of commutative algebra with an emphasis on binomial ideals. In addition to thorough coverage of the basic concepts and theory, it explores current trends, results, and applications of binomial ideals to other areas of mathematics. The book begins with a brief, self-contained overview of the modern theory of Gröbner bases and the necessary algebraic and homological concepts from commutative algebra. Binomials and binomial ideals are then considered in detail, along with a short introduction to convex polytopes. Chapters in the remainder of the text can be read independently and explore specific aspects of the theory of binomial ideals, including edge rings and edge polytopes, join-meet ideals of finite lattices, binomial edge ideals, ideals generated by 2-minors, and binomial ideals arising from statistics. Each chapter concludes with a set of exercises and a list of related topics and results that will complement and offer a better understanding of the material presented. Binomial Ideals is suitable for graduate students in courses on commutative algebra, algebraic combinatorics, and statistics. Additionally, researchers interested in any of these areas but familiar with only the basic facts of commutative algebra will find it to be a valuable resource.
Call Number: QA251.3 .H36 2018
Weak Convergence of Measures by V. I. BogachevThis book provides a thorough exposition of the main concepts and results related to various types of convergence of measures arising in measure theory, probability theory, functional analysis, partial differential equations, mathematical physics, and other theoretical and applied fields. Particular attention is given to weak convergence of measures. The principal material is oriented toward a broad circle of readers dealing with convergence in distribution of random variables and weak convergence of measures. The book contains the necessary background from measure theory and functional analysis. Large complementary sections aimed at researchers present the most important recent achievements. More than 100 exercises (ranging from easy introductory exercises to rather difficult problems for experienced readers) are given with hints, solutions, or references. Historic and bibliographic comments are included. The target readership includes mathematicians and physicists whose research is related to probability theory, mathematical statistics, functional analysis, and mathematical physics.
Call Number: QA3 .M283 no.234 (2018)
Print & eBook
Statistical Inference As Severe Testing : How to get Beyond the Statistics Wars by Deborah G. MayoMounting failures of replication in social and biological sciences give a new urgency to critically appraising proposed reforms. This book pulls back the cover on disagreements between experts charged with restoring integrity to science. It denies two pervasive views of the role of probability in inference: to assign degrees of belief, and to control error rates in a long run. If statistical consumers are unaware of assumptions behind rival evidence reforms, they can't scrutinize the consequences that affect them (in personalized medicine, psychology, etc.). The book sets sail with a simple tool: if little has been done to rule out flaws in inferring a claim, then it has not passed a severe test. Many methods advocated by data experts do not stand up to severe scrutiny and are in tension with successful strategies for blocking or accounting for cherry picking and selective reporting. Through a series of excursions and exhibits, the philosophy and history of inductive inference come alive. Philosophical tools are put to work to solve problems about science and pseudoscience, induction and falsification.
Online Resource - Access restricted to UC campuses
Print & eBook
Local Representation Theory and Simple Groups by Radha Kessar, Gunter Malle, Donna TestermanThe book contains extended versions of seven short lecture courses given during a semester program on "Local Representation Theory and Simple Groups" held at the Centre Interfacultaire Bernoulli of the EPF Lausanne. These focused on modular representation theory of finite groups, modern Clifford theoretic methods, the representation theory of finite reductive groups, as well as on various applications of character theory and representation theory.
Extremal Problems for Finite Sets by P. Frankl; Norihide TokushigeOne of the great appeals of Extremal Set Theory as a subject is that the statements are easily accessible without a lot of mathematical background, yet the proofs and ideas have applications in a wide range of fields including combinatorics, number theory, and probability theory. Written by two of the leading researchers in the subject, this book is aimed at mathematically mature undergraduates, and highlights the elegance and power of this field of study. The first half of the book provides classic results with some new proofs including a complete proof of the Ahlswede-Khachatrian theorem as well as some recent progress on the Erdos matching conjecture. The second half presents some combinatorial structural results and linear algebra methods including the Deza-Erdos-Frankl theorem, application of Rodl's packing theorem, application of semidefinite programming, and very recent progress (obtained in 2016) on the Erdos-Szemeredi sunflower conjecture and capset problem. The book concludes with a collection of challenging open problems.
Call Number: QA295 .F855 2018
An Introduction to Ramsey Theory : Fast Functions, Infinity, and Metamathematics by Matthew Katz; Jan ReimannThis book takes the reader on a journey through Ramsey theory, from graph theory and combinatorics to set theory to logic and metamathematics. Written in an informal style with few requisites, it develops two basic principles of Ramsey theory: many combinatorial properties persist under partitions, but to witness this persistence, one has to start with very large objects. The interplay between those two principles not only produces beautiful theorems but also touches the very foundations of mathematics. In the course of this book, the reader will learn about both aspects.
Call Number: QA165 .K38 2018
Applied Linear Algebra by Peter J. Olver; Chehrzad ShakibanThis textbook develops the essential tools of linear algebra, with the goal of imparting technique alongside contextual understanding. Applications go hand-in-hand with theory, each reinforcing and explaining the other. This approach encourages students to develop not only the technical proficiency needed to go on to further study, but an appreciation for when, why, and how the tools of linear algebra can be used across modern applied mathematics. Providing an extensive treatment of essential topics such as Gaussian elimination, inner products and norms, and eigenvalues and singular values, this text can be used for an in-depth first course, or an application-driven second course in linear algebra. In this second edition, applications have been updated and expanded to include numerical methods, dynamical systems, data analysis, and signal processing, while the pedagogical flow of the core material has been improved. Throughout, the text emphasizes the conceptual connections between each application and the underlying linear algebraic techniques, thereby enabling students not only to learn how to apply the mathematical tools in routine contexts, but also to understand what is required to adapt to unusual or emerging problems. No previous knowledge of linear algebra is needed to approach this text, with single-variable calculus as the only formal prerequisite. However, the reader will need to draw upon some mathematical maturity to engage in the increasing abstraction inherent to the subject. Once equipped with the main tools and concepts from this book, students will be prepared for further study in differential equations, numerical analysis, data science and statistics, and a broad range of applications. The first author's text, Introduction to Partial Differential Equations, is an ideal companion volume, forming a natural extension of the linear mathematical methods developed here.
Call Number: QA184.2 .O48 2018
Selected Works by Herbert Busemann; Athanase Papadopoulos (Editor)This is a two-volume collection presenting the selected works of Herbert Busemann, one of the leading geometers of the twentieth century and one of the main founders of metric geometry, convexity theory and convexity in metric spaces. Busemann also did substantial work (probably the most important) on Hilbert's Problem IV. These collected works include Busemann's most important published articles on these topics. Volume I of the collection features Busemann's papers on the foundations of geodesic spaces and on the metric geometry of Finsler spaces. Volume II includes Busemann's papers on convexity and integral geometry, on Hilbert's Problem IV, and other papers on miscellaneous subjects. Each volume offers biographical documents and introductory essays on Busemann's work, documents from his correspondence and introductory essays written by leading specialists on Busemann's work. They are a valuable resource for researchers in synthetic and metric geometry, convexity theory and the foundations of geometry.
Call Number: QA649 .B795 2018 Vols.1-2
Mathematical and Computational Methods in Photonics and Phononics by Habib Ammari; Brian Fitzpatrick; Hyeonbae Kang; Matias Ruiz; Sanghyeon YuThe fields of photonics and phononics encompass the fundamental science of light and sound propagation and interactions in complex structures, as well as its technological applications. This book reviews new and fundamental mathematical tools, computational approaches, and inversion and optimal design methods to address challenging problems in photonics and phononics. An emphasis is placed on analyzing sub-wavelength resonators, super-focusing and super-resolution of electromagnetic and acoustic waves, photonic and phononic crystals, electromagnetic cloaking, and electromagnetic and elastic metamaterials and metasurfaces. Throughout this book, the authors demonstrate the power of layer potential techniques for solving challenging problems in photonics and phononics when they are combined with asymptotic analysis. This book might be of interest to researchers and graduate students working in the fields of applied and computational mathematics, partial differential equations, electromagnetic theory, elasticity, integral equations, and inverse and optimal design problems in photonics and phononics.
Call Number: QA3 .M283 no.235 (2018)
Families of Berkovich Spaces by Antoine DucrosThis book investigates, roughly speaking, the variation of the properties of the fibers of a map between analytic spaces in the sense of Berkovich. First of all, we study flatness in this setting; the naive definition of this notion is not reasonable, we explain why and give another one. We then describe the loci of fiberwise validity of some usual properties (like being Cohen-Macaulay, Gorenstein, geometrically regular...); we show that these are (locally) Zariski-constructible subsets of the source space. For that purpose, we develop systematic methods for "spreading out" in Berkovich geometry, as one does in scheme theory, some properties from a 'generic' fiber to a neighborhood of it.
Call Number: QA331 .D83 2018
Print & eBook
Lectures on Logarithmic Algebraic Geometry by Arthur OgusThis graduate textbook offers a self-contained introduction to the concepts and techniques of logarithmic geometry, a key tool for analyzing compactification and degeneration in algebraic geometry and number theory. It features a systematic exposition of the foundations of the field, from the basic results on convex geometry and commutative monoids to the theory of logarithmic schemes and their de Rham and Betti cohomology. The book will be of use to graduate students and researchers working in algebraic, analytic, and arithmetic geometry as well as related fields.