Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories and the NGO search engine below. Please also see the UCB Library Research Guide on this topic.
NGO Custom Search Engine
Think Tank Search Engine. Recommended. Searches think tanks worldwide. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.
Eldis: Migration. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes summaries and links to research and policy documents.
Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.
CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.
PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues.
Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.
Migration Policy Institute. An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS). Conducts research to develop theory and knowledge, inform policy-making and public debate in the field of migration.
International Migration Institute (IMI). Part of the Oxford Department of International Development, advances the understanding of forces driving migration processes.
Organization for Refuge, Asylum and Migration. Advocates for the safety and well-being vulnerable refugees and asylum seekers.
Centre for Global Development. Works to reduce global poverty and improve lives through innovative economic research. Includes research on migration, displacement, and humanitarian policy.
Overseas Development Institute (ODI). Think tank on international development and humanitarian issues based in London
Pew Research Center: Immigration. Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Refugees Studies Centre (RSC). Aims to build knowledge of the causes and effects of forced migration to improve the lives of the world’s most vulnerable.
The following directories and custom search engines may be used to locate development projects and interventions from International Development & Relief Organizations.
IGO Custom Search Engine
International Organisation for Migration (IOM). Publishes on internal displacement, missing migrants and migration governance, and also collects, uses, analyzes and publishes data across a wide range of migration topics.
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) collects and compiles data on asylum seekers and refugees, asylum applications, refugee status, recognition rates, and refugee populations movements and demographic characteristics (age and sex).
United Nations Population Division. Prepares estimates of migrant stock for each country using data from the United Nations Statistics Division.
United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA) provides statistics about Palestinian refugees for programme in Jordan, Lebanon, the Syrian Arab Republic, and the Occupied Palestinian Territory.
OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD, an international organization that includes Japan and South Korea.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository.World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.