Skip to main content

C3: Arts and Humanities Summer 2019: "Start Your Search"

What is Start your search?

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches: Start Your Search

1.  "language learning app*"

* = truncation/wildcard (child* = child childs children childhood childish...)

quotes = keep 2 or more words together as a phrase

if the results are too broad you can be more specific:\

     "language learning app" or "language learning apps"

2.  use alternative terms, including narrower terms:

"social media" activis*  "people of color"

"social media" activis* "african american*"

limit to scholarly

3.  advanced search; alternative terminology

advamced search

queer* or gay* or lesbian*
venezuela*
"social media"

limit by geography (not always complete but worth trying)

 

voseo or "second person"
speech*
"central american*"

Search Results Annotated

Start Your Search - Filters for narrowing your search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.