Skip to main content

American Studies 191, Fall 2019 Gold McBride: "Start Your Search"

What is Start your search?

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keywords; variant word endings;

    amateur* ncaa race

* = truncation symbol/wildcard. child* = child childs children childish childhood...

on the left, limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles; or limit to books, limit by language...

 

2.  use alternative terms

     amateur* ncaa black

3.  advanced search; phrase searching, alternative terms

     amateur* ncaa
     black* or "african american*"

 

     latino* or latina* or latinx or hispanic*
     entrepreneur* or business*
     "los angeles"

 

quotation marks keep two or more words together as a phrase

4.   search by subject heading

      College athletes salaries (subject)

      makeup (subject)
     "motion pictures" or film* (subject)
   

  

5.    find alternative search terms; go broader if needed

     "marie kondo"
     "consumer behavior*"

 

     "Marie kondo" or konmari
     consumer*

 

or just:  "marie kondo" or konmari     and limit to scholarly articles

Evaluating Search Results

Evaluating sources

When you encounter any kind of source, consider:

  1. Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view? 
  2. Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
  3. Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
  4. Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? What is its scope?
  5. Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
  6. Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?

Filters for Narrowing Your Search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.