Skip to main content

College Writing 4B: Stories of Sustainability, Fall 2019: "Start Your Search"

instructor: Freeman

What is Start your search?

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keywords; variant word endings, phrase searching

     "wildlife decline"

quotation marks keep two or more words together as a phrase

on the left, limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles; or limit to books, limit by language...

2.  look for other interesting terms, in the titles, abstracts, official subject terms:

     "global biodiversity target*"

= truncation symbol/wildcard; child* = child, childs, children, childhood, childish...

3.  use official subject terms

     "game theory"
     "ecological sciences" 

   "game theory"  (subject)
      ecolog* (subject)

4.  advanced search

      "climate change"  (subject)
      educat* or school*
       child*

       look at results; find an interesting subject heading to click on:

       climate change education

3.   advanced search

     "environmental racis*"
      hispanic* or latinx or latino* or latina* or "mexican american*"

Search Results Annotated

Filters for Narrowing Your Search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.