Skip to main content

Ethnic Studies 302: Professional Orientation, Fall 2019: Finding Books and Media

Instructor: Coronado

Library Catalogs: Finding Books etc.

To find books, DVDs, maps, sound recordings, manuscripts, and much more - everything except articles - use a library catalog.

OskiCat = most UC Berkeley libraries

MELVYL = all UC campus libraries, including all UC Berkeley libraries

What's the difference?  more details here

For each item make sure you know the name of the physical library, call number, and whether or not it's checked out, library use only, etc.

Call numbers are on the spine of the book; learn how to read them so you can find what you need on the shelves.

OskiCat's Request Button

No time to go hunting around the library stacks to find the books you need?  Use OskiCat's request feature.  Once you find the book you want, click (this button will only appear when an item can be requested). Authenticate yourself with CalNet, and follow the prompts.  OskiCat will ask you where you want the book(s) delivered to.  You will get an email when the books are ready to be picked up (usually within 1-3 days).

You can also use this button to:

  • Request materials from NRLF
  • Place holds on items that are checked out
  • Place holds on an item that has the status "in-process" which means it is being cataloged. 

Getting material from NRLF (short)

The Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF) is an off-campus storage facility for some library collections. NRLF materials are available to request in OskiCat.

  • Borrow print materials from NRLF via the REQUEST button in OskiCat. 
  • Receive electronic or paper copies of book chapters or journal articles via the Request an electronic copy from NRLF link that appears in eligible titles in OskiCat.

Google Books

Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book. Try it now:

Google Book Search

HathiTrust

HathiTrust (Hathi is pronounced hah-tee) is a partnership of libraries that works towards the goal of developing a shared digital access, preservation, and storage solution for the materials held in the member libraries. The contents of HathiTrust are similar to that of Google Books, but the collecting focus is on scholarly materials and the resource includes content and features (such as indexing and manipulation of results) not available in Google Books.

Downloading PDFs

  • To limit to full view (public domain materials) in your search, check the full view only box.
  • From the full view of any item, click on Download whole book (PDF).
  • Click login.
  • Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click login.
  • Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
  • Click Download whole book (PDF).
  • PDF will load and you will choose to either open it or save it.
 
Tips for searching HathiTrust:
  • Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction"
  • Wildcards: Use * or ? to search for alternate forms of a word. Use * to stand for several characters, and ? for a single character: e.g., optim* will find optimal, optimize or optimum; wom?n will find woman and women.
  • Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., (heart OR cardiac) AND surgery will find items about heart surgery or cardiac surgery.
 
Tips for doing a full-text search:
  • Phrase Searching: Use quotes to search an exact phrase: e.g., "occult fiction."
  • Multiple Term Searching: When your search terms are not quoted phrases, avoid common words (such as: a, and, of, the) to speed up your search.
  • Boolean Searching: Use AND and OR between words to combine them with Boolean logic: e.g., heart OR cardiac will find items containing the word heart or the word cardiac; heart AND cardiac will find items containing both words. Use a minus (-) to remove words from the result e.g., heart  -cardiac will find items containing the word heart that do not include the word cardiac.

Creating Collections

  1. On the Collections page, click on login.
  2. Choose the University of California, Berkeley from the drop down list and click on login.
  3. Enter your CalNet ID and passphrase.
  4. Click on Create a New Collection and name your collection (the description is optional).
  5. Indicate whether it is a Private or Public collection.
  6. Click on Add.

In the future if you want to edit, change the private/public setting, or delete the collection, your collections will always be listed in the My Collections tab whenever you are logged in to HathiTrust.

Search for eBooks

Search to see whether the Library has a particular eBook:

 

Find Dissertations

Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text, which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

DVDs and Non Print Media

Media Resources Center lists of media for Ethnic Studies

Media Resources Center:  Movies, Race and Ethnicity

How to Cite Media

You can also find non-print media of all types in OskiCat; search by keywords, author, subject, title, etc. and pull down the "Entire Collection" menu to the type of resource you want (maps, films, etc.)

All Media Resources Center materials must be used on-site.

Streaming media:  Kanopy

     Kanopy's collection "Ethnicity and Identity"

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.