Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic. The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.
1. Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic. Examples: literature, film, anthropology, history...
2. From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.
Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.
Library home: Databases >pull down "all database type" menu to News > Access World News
lucas hnath "doll's house, part 2"
lucas hnath "doll's house, part 2" (lead/first paragraph)
Scholarly articles - literature and history
Both MLA Bibliography (literature) and Historical Abstracts (history) are included in "Start Your Search", however sometimes it's easier to find the relevant items if you search the specific database; or they may have search features not included in "Start Your Search"
Library home > Databases: Browse Databases > pull down the "All Subjects" menu to Literature; pull down the "All Database Types" menu to Articles
"a doll's house"
nora character (pull down the Anywhere menu to subjects)
Library home > Databases: Browse Databases > pull down the "All Subjects" menu to History; pull down the "All Database Types" menu to Articles
historical period: 1800 to 1900
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the UC-eLinks icon, click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.
[Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]
Library home >Databases > Browse Databases > Browse: General Article Databases > JSTOR
Everyone Loves JSTOR: