It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Welcome to the library guide for Data Science H 195. This guide will help you find sources, citation information, and details about Text Mining & Computational Text Analysis with library resources. If you get stuck, Berkeley librarians are here to help you in a research consultation and 24/7 chat reference.
What is Start Your Search?
Start Your Search brings back results from the library catalog OskiCat, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers indexed through databases (some but not all), and online encyclopedias and dictionaries like Oxford University Press.
How can you filter through the results? Here is an illustrated example:
Finding Article Databases
Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic. The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.
1. Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic. Examples: literature, film, anthropology, history...
2. From the Library home page, click on "Find + borrow", select "Collections" from the dropdown menu, and choose the "Use Berkeley's electronic databases" box.
3. Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. [1954 - present]
Provides full-text access to journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and newsletters published by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery). Includes most historical and all current publications.
Annual Reviews publishes dozens of journals in several subject areas that capture the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; set the work in historical context; and highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed.
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Journal and magazine articles, conference papers, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). [1872 - present]
Indexes IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. It also includes IEE publications for the same time period (IEE is the
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It button for full text access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Search for and borrow items from all 10 UC libraries.
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:
When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)
DataCite provides persistent identifiers for research data but is also a good source to locate data for re-use projects. DataCite gathers metadata for each DOI assigned to an object. The metadata is used for a large index of research data that can be queried directly to find data, obtain stats and explore connections. All the metadata is free to access and review.