Skip to main content

English 1B: Carceral Geographies: "Start Your Search"

Instructor: Lee

What is Start your search?

Start your Search includes books, articles and more.

Start your search is powered by EBSCO Discovery Services and combines a variety of library collections, catalogs and databases into a single search experience.

What's NOT included

Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly. 

Content that is not included in Start your Search:

Caveats
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:

  1. Many databases are not exclusively available from a single vendor. The Library subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest, for example, but the Bibliography is still available in Start your Search by other means.
  2. Journals that are available in one database are often also available in other databases. While we know that Compendex is not available in Start your Search, many of the journals in Compendex are available in Start your Search via other library database subscriptions.

Sample Searches - "Start Your Search"

1.  keyword search; phrase search; limiting to scholarly articles

(keywords) .  "salvage the bones"

limit to scholarly articles (checkbox on the left)

quotes keep two or more words together as a phrase

2.  narrowing your results

(keywords):    "salvage the bones" criticism
                       "salvage the bones" review
                        jesmyn ward interview

                       

3.  wildcards; alternative terminology

note:  look at search results to find additional terms to search

(keywords) .   "climate displacement" "african american*"
                       "climate change" "african american*"
                        "climate justice" "african american*"

child* = child childs children childish childhood...

4.  look for official subject headings:

(keywords) .    mass incarceration

click on the title, look for useful subject terms

subject:  alternatives to imprisonment united states

 

Search Results Annotated

Filters for Narrowing Your Search

Are there filters in the left sidebar that will help you narrow your search results?  Click on the category ("language" "geography") to view the options.

Quick Guide (Evaluating Sources)

When you encounter any kind of source, consider:

  1. Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view? 
  2. Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
  3. Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
  4. Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? What is its scope?
  5. Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
  6. Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?
Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.