It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
There are different search options when looking for articles. On this guide there is information and links for library databases and google scholar. Click here to learn more about the pros and cons to using a library database or Google Scholar.
Search for articles in scholarly and popular publications in the areas of business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. [1990 - present]
Over 11,000 popular magazines and scholarly journals in the areas of social sciences, humanities, engineering, technology, popular culture, and general interest. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese.
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology. (HistSciTechMed) [1976 - present]
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, and dissertations worldwide about research in the history of science, medicine, technology, and related fields. Subjects covered include agriculture, biology, construction, chemistry, energy, engineering, geology, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, social sciences, town planning, transport engineering, and zoology.
"Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications." [1965 - current]
"Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. To support engineering research, the database provides easy access to millions of bibliographic abstracts for the widest and deepest coverage of new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation."
This database also includes the content found within the Earthquake Engineering Abstracts database.
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
The link above goes to a specially configured version of Pubmed for UC Berkeley users. To use the free public version, please click here.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Google scholar allows you to search in many places at once but it is not the same as a library database and will not have all of the same materials. It is better to use Google Scholar as a starting place.