Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


 

Where to Start

 


 

How to Find Scholarly Sources

Use the commonly recommended sources below to connect you with a variety of resources for general research. If you are searching for specific types of sources, use the left side of this page to find recommended online tools and physical locations.

Start Your Search box

Start Your Search is a portal that combines library collections, catalogs, and databases into a single search experience.  Found on the The Library homepage, it comes with two options:

  • Basic offers a simple keyword, title, or author search.
  • Advanced offers multiple options for narrowing searches.

OskiCat logoOskiCat is UC Berkeley's catalog. Melvyl is the University of California system catalog. To access them:

  1. Find the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage.
  2. Select OskiCat or Melvyl in the Search tab.

A-Z Database List logo

A-Z Databases is the full list of UC Berkeley database subscriptions. To access it:

  • Find the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage.
  • Select Browse All Databases in the Databases tab.

About A-Z Database Icons

  • Resources with the  UCB Access Only key icon icon are only available to UC Berkeley students, faculty, staff, and workstation users.
  • Resources with the Free or open access  icon are available to all users.

 

South Asia Studies at UC Berkeley

Department of South and Southeast Asia logoThe Department of South and Southeast Asian Studies offers degree programs in history, religion, and cultural and textual traditions. Its faculty represent specialties in historical periods ranging from classical to modern, literature, and religious studies, performing research in India, Pakistan, Tibet, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam, and the Philippines.

 

Institute of South Asian Studies logoThe Institute for South Asia Studies (ISAS) is "one of the world's leading institutes for research and programs on South Asia, the Institute for South Asia Studies (ISAS) at the University of California, Berkeley works with faculty members, graduate students, community members, private institutions, and non-profit organizations to deepen understanding of the region and to create new generations of scholars of South Asia."

South/Southeast Asia LibraryLocated in Doe Library (Room 120), The South/Southeast Asia Library (S/SEAL) provides:

  • Quiet study spaces
  • Comfortable seating
  • Many electrical outlets
  • Large study tables
  • Several study carrels
  • A public computer
  • A public scanner.