It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture ACSA annual directory. Washington, D.C.: ACSA Press, 1989/90--present. Annual. Lists ACSA member schools including addresses, phone numbers, session dates and faculty teaching in each program. Additional index by faculty name, body arranged by institution.
Guide to architecture schools, editor, John K. Edwards. 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, c1998. Information on careers in architecture and profiles of academic architecture programs in the U.S. and Canada. Includes information on degrees, faculty statistics and special programs. Includes a list of schools of architecture worldwide.
Royal Institute of British Architects. Schools of architecture recognized by the Royal Institute of British Architects. London: RIBA Publications, 1985. Factual information on schools of architecture in the United Kingdom. A more up-to-date directory of schools in the United Kingdom is contained in Royal Institute of British Architects,Directory of RIBA members, issued annually.
Art theorists of the Italian Renaissance. University of Chicago Library, Chadwyck-Healey, Inc. A database of full-text treatises on art and architecture printed and published between 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists. First or early editions have been preferred and translations are from the publication period.
L'architecture dans les collections de periodiques de la Bibliotheque Forney, by Laure Lagardere. Paris: Mairie de Paris, Direction des affaires culturelles, Bibliotheque Forney, c1990. Detailed listing of architectural periodicals in their collection, which specializes in French architecture periodicals but includes historical and foreign journals. Gives broad subject coverage, frequency, special features and holdings for each title. Chronological and general indexes, and a timeline.
Books of the fairs: a collection of the world's fair publications 1834-1915. Woodbridge, Conn: Research Publications, 1989. 174 reels. Materials from Smithsonian Institution Library on many but not all expositions 1834-1915. Includes folios of artwork, manuscript letters, penny guides, exhibit brochures, congress proceedings, and issues of journals devoted to coverage of a fair. Secondary materials, such as historical studies of fairs, facsimiles and reprints not included.
Catalogue of the Library of the Graduate School of Design, Harvard University. Harvard University. Graduate School of Design. Library. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1968. 44 vols. supplement 1, 1968; supplement 2, 1974; supplement 3, 1979. In addition to books. a section in rear of supplements also includes index to selected periodicals. Holdings now included in RCAT (RLG catalog) available via MELVYL.
International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and the Restoration of Cultural Property. Library. List of acquisitions,Library, ICCROM = Liste des acquisitions, Bibliotheque, ICCROM. Rome : International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and the Restoration of Cultural Property, 1979-- . Contains author and title indexes of books and journal articles; subject index issued separately.
National register of historic places, California. Rev. and enl. ed. Teaneck, N.J.: ChadwyckHealey, 1984. All properties registered through December 1982 arranged by state, county and vicinity. Fiche for Berkeley buildings are within Alameda County, 4-13 of 287 and include UC Berkeley buildings. UC Santa Barbara owns complete set for all 27,000 properties throughout the U.S.
Culbertson, Margaret. American house designs: an index to popular and trade periodicals, 1850-1915. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. Art reference collection no. 19. Indexes 34 non-professional magazines and includes 6,500 house designs. Good source for plans of houses, ordinary and more well known. Geographic, architect name indexes. Exterior view and plans. Information about the journals indexed, and a list of 2000 architects/designers arranged geographically.
Fitch, James Marston. American building. 2nd ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1966-1972. 2 vols. Vol. 1 covers historical background of American architecture. Vol. 2 covers the environmental forces that have shaped building design, methods and materials. Circ. copies available in the stacks.
Popular American housing: a reference guide, edited by Ruth Brent and Benyamin Schwarz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1995. Guide to sources on the history, theory, research and practice of housing. Essays and a bibliography.
Calendar of creative man / John Paxton and Sheila Fairfield. London : Macmillan, 1980, c1979. Well organized timeline from prehistory to 1970 with focus on visual and 3-dimensional arts. Notes by date events and major works in each discipline. Illus.
Clark, Roger H. Precedents in architecture. 2nd ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1996. Historical precedents and typologies. Pt. 1 analyzes 64 buildings, including illustrations, site plans, elevations; Pt. 2 "identifies and delineates formal archetypal patterns." Covers buildings from renaissance to mid-1970s.
Cowan, Henry J. Historical outline of architectural science. 2d ed. London : Applied Science Publishers, 1977. Series: Architectural science series. Well-illustrated overview of development of architectural forms, structures, technology and materials.
Fletcher, Banister, Sir. Sir Banister Fletcher's a history of architecture. 20th ed. Ed. by Dan Cruickshank. Oxford; London; Boston: Architectural Press, 1996. Includes many plans and drawings. Classic history of architecture. Circulating copies of previous editions are available.
Gibberd, Vernon. Architecture source book. Secaucus, NJ: Wellfleet, 1988. Not a comprehensive survey of world architecture but places the buildings of this century in the context of Western cultural history. Does not include China, Japan, India, and South America.
Pelican history of art. Ed. by Nikolaus Pevsner. Baltimore, Penguin Books, 1953--. Approximately 20 volumes of this standard on-going art historical set are devoted to architecture. (Art and architecture of China, for example.)
For additional titles perform a series search for Pelican History of Art.
Pevsner, Nikolaus. History of building types. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1976. Standard source for historical information on building types. Includes chapters on libraries, hospitals, museums, prisons, warehouses and office buildings, etc. Brief bibliographies found at rear for each building type. Circulating copies available in the stacks.
Pevsner, Nikolaus. Outline of European architecture. Baltimore: Penguin Books, 1960. Western architecture from the end of the Roman Empire to the mid-twentieth century.
Pothorn, Herbert. Architectural styles: an historical guide to world design. New York: Facts on File, 1982. Brief illustrated articles ranging from antiquity to the present, including non-European. There is a section on architectural details and terms illustrated with drawings and plans.
Simpson, Frederick Moore. History of architectural development. London, New York: Longmans, Green 1954--1962. 4 vols. Library has: v.1-3; lack vol. 4. Standard work, scholarly and readable. Excellent line-drawings, and adequate bibliographies. Each volume has 24 plates, ground plans and footnote references. v.1 Ancient and classsical architecture by H. Plommer, 1956; v.2 Early Christian, byzantine and romanesque architecture, by C. Stewart, 1954; v.3 Gothic architecture, by C. Stewart, 1961; v.4 Renaissance architecture, by J.Q. Hughes and N. Lynton, 1962.
Sturgis, Russell. History of architecture. New York: Baker & Taylor 1906-1915. 4 vols. v.1 Antiquity, by Russell Sturgis; v.2 Romanesque & Oriental, by Russell Sturgis; v.3 Gothic in Italy, France and Northern Europe, by A.L. Frothingham; v.4 Gothic in Great Britain - Renaissance - modern architecture, by A.L. Frothingham.
Wilson chronology of the arts, by George Ochoa and Melinda Corey. New York : H.W. Wilson Co., 1998. Global timeline of events and works of art, including painting, sculpture, architecturee, literature and film, as well as decorative art and performance art. In chronological order, with index, list of birth and death dates, and bibliography.
World atlas of architecture, foreword by John Julius Norwich. New York: Portland House, 1988. English edition of Le Grand atlas de l'architecture mondiale created by Encyclopedia Universalis and derived from Mitchell Beazley's Great architecture of the world. Great concise pictorial survey.
Yarwood, Doreen. Chronology of western architecture. New York: Facts on File, 1987. Chronological guide to style in western architecture from the Bronze Age through 1986. Includes selected bibliography and glossary/index.