UC Berkeley Campus Research Guide: Landscape

• Berkeley Campus Plan Index, Vol 3:7, Landscape. (1981) University of California, Berkeley. Buildings and Campus Development Committee. Berkeley: University of California.
• Ecological study areas for teaching and research on the University of California campus, Berkeley: a report of the Landscape Architecture Advisory Subcommittee (1966) by Landscape Architecture Advisory Subcommittee, Berkeley.
• H. Leland and Adele W. Vaughan collection, 1931-1955. Includes many of their UCB projects. Available at CED Archives, CEDA 1999-18; call for appointment. See Archives Finding Aid .
• Landscape Heritage Plan, University of California, Berkeley (2004) by Capital Projects/Facilities Services, University of California, Berkeley. Extensive history of and plans for the campus landscape. Available online here.
  • Highly recommend seeing the Appendix at the Environment Design Library Reference desk: LD 761 L 36 2004 Appendix.
• Landscape master plan, University of California, Berkeley (2004) by Berkeley Facilities Services, University of California, Berkeley
• Landscape master plan, University of California, Berkeley (1961) by Thomas Dolliver Church & Associates, San Francisco, CA.
• Landscape records for the University of California, Berkeley, 1959-1969 by Thomas Dolliver Church. Available at UC Archives. See Archives Finding Aid
• Scattering of buildings softened by landscape: University of California's Berkeley campus, (December 1984), Architecture : the AIA journal Vol:74, p. 72-81.
• University of California, Berkeley: an architectural tour and photographs (2002) by Harvey Helfand. Campus guide.

In addition, the California Landscape Architecture research guide may be helpful.

• Blake Estate Collection. Spans ca.1922-1998 and contains records documenting its history as the private residence of Anson S. and Anita Blake and later as a teaching resource owned and managed by the UCB, Department of Landscape Architecture, now the Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning. Included are projects by professional architects and landscape architects, as well as design projects by landscape architecture students. Available at CED Archives ARCH 2002-6; call for appointment; view the Finding aid
• Blake garden (Spring 1987) by Linda Haymaker, Pacific Horticulture, 48(1), p. 8 -13. Discusses early development of the garden and the subsequent work under the ownership of UC Berkeley. Plan and photographs. See: Ref Desk File:UCB Buildings, Landscape, Plans.
• Blake garden : a history of landscape change (2006) compiled by Linda Jewell, John Norcross and graduate students
• Return to glory (Summer 1986), by Lawrence Lee, Garden Design, 5(2), p.56-64. Describes restoration of the Blake garden, including plant species. Photographs.

 Botanical Garden Architect: Office of Architects and Engineers. Completed: 1927

• Berkeley Campus Plan --Vol. 3:1, p. 21 and Vol. 3:10, p. 27
• General plan ... for botanic garden & arboretum in Strawberry Canyon, University of California, Berkeley (1937) by Adele Wharton Vaughan. Map. Scale [1:228], 1/16" = 1". Scale [1:480]. 1" = 40'.
• Master plan: Botanical garden, University of California. [Berkeley, Calif.]: The Garden, [198-?].
• A master plan for a botanical garden and arboretum in Strawberry Canyon, University of California, Berkeley (1937).
• Proposed plans for botanical institute: [University of California, Berkeley]. (1911). Map. Scale [1:4,800] 1" = 400'. Available at Bancroft G4364.B5:2U5 1911 .P7 University Archives Case XB

 Campanile Esplanade Also called “Sather Esplanade”

The formal open-air setting for the Campanile planted with sycamores, remnants of the 1915 Panama Pacific Exposition, transplanted after the expo closed. When planted and trimmed in the formal manner, these pollarded trees are called London Plane Trees.

 Campanile Way

• Campanile Way design concept (1976) by Garrett Eckbo & Associates.
• "Campanile Way/Sather Road" in Landscape Heritage Plan (2004) by Capital Projects/Facilities Services, University of California, Berkeley.

Central or Memorial Glade Landscape architect: Richard Haag and Royston Hanamoto Alley and Abey landscape architects. Completed: 1997-1998

The Glade is the topping on the underground layers of the Gardner Stacks in Doe Library.

• Central glade open space study (May 1988) by Han-Ming Hsia. Thesis (Master of Landscape Architecture) University of California, Berkeley.
• Design guidelines for the central glade (1990) by U.C. Berkeley Campus Planning Study Group.
• Memorial Glade design guidelines (1992) by Central Glade Restoration Project Committee; assisted by Planning, Design and Construction.
• A study of the central glade, University of California, Berkeley (1989) by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.
• Photo

 Faculty Glade

Goodspeed Natural Area: Sloping grass area between the Faculty Club and Strawberry Creek

 Founders Rock Area

• Founders Rock area. [Contributors, Campus Planning Study Group, Richard Bender, director ... et al., landscaping issues, Russell Beatty, Matt Potteiger]. Draft. [Berkeley, Calif. : The Group, 1979] Includes planning information regarding Stern Hall, maps, and plans.

Grinnell Natural Area

A grove of coast live oak, Monterey pine trees, and redwoods near the West entrance of campus, bordered to the north by Strawberry Creek and the Eucalyptus Grove.

 Hearst Mining Circle Architect: John Galen Howard Completed:1914

• Also see Hearst Mining Building
• "Mining Circle/Oppenheimer Way" in Landscape Heritage Plan (2004) by Capital Projects/Facilities Services, University of California, Berkeley. Photos and plans available online.
• Renovation of Hearst Mining Circle Nearing Completion (November 19, 2008) by Sameea Kamal, The Daily Californian.
• Photo

 Maxwell Family Field

• An artificial turf multi-use playing field. Formerly Kleeberger Field

Memorial Glade 

• See Central or Memorial Glade

 North Gate

A pedestrian gate at the north entrance to campus, located at the intersection of Euclid Avenue and Hearst Avenue, donated by the class of 1954.

• The Class of 1954 Gate competition, (1996) University of California, Berkeley. A brief history of the competition and construction of the gate, and reproductions of the finalists' and other entrants' architectural plans.

 Observatory Hill

• Observatory Hill study area: schematic design plans (1977) by Garrett Eckbo and Associates.

 Piedmont Way

• Piedmont Way History, (2007) Friends of Piedmont Way.

 Plazas See also individual plazas, by name

• Outdoor spaces for living and learning. (Mar./Apr. '87). Landscape Architecture. 77(2), p. 52-61.
• Planned Chaos on the Piazza. (October 1961) by Allan Temko, Architectural Forum , 115(4), p. 112-117.

 Sather Gate Architect: John Galen Howard. Completed: 1910.

• Sather Gate and Bridge. (n.d.). [PDF] National Register of Historic Places. Retrieved from nps.gov. Includes a National Register of Historic Places inventory nomination form, describing gate and brief history.
• The Sather Gate marble panels, 1977 May. UC Archives Folio f 308h.S353
• Also see Sather Tower under Architecture

 Sproul Plaza Hardison & DeMars with Lawrence Halprin. Completed: 1961.

• The Transformation of Lower Sproul – plans, drawings and budgetary information for renovation of Lower Sproul Plaza by the Lower Sproul Plaza Students Council.
• Center of action: with its last structures in place, the Berkeley Student Center is a model of urban design. (April 1970).Architectural forum, 132(3), p. 64 - 71. ill., plans.
• Paraboloids for a pedestrian city. (September 1959). Architect and Engineer, 218(3) p. 4-5 ill.
• Lower Sproul Urban Design Study (November 2007), [PDF], SMWM, University of California, Berkeley.

 Strawberry Creek

• Management plan for Strawberry and Claremont Canyons (1979) prepared by Joe McBride and revised by Russell A. Beatty.
• Photo of Strawberry Creek
• Strawberry Creek Collection. Studies, memoranda, articles, reports, field data, student term papers (undergraduate and graduate level for the departments of Forestry, Biology, Entomology, and Landscape Architecture), etc., on Strawberry Creek. Major topics include water pollution, water quality, aquatic ecology, hydrology, and history. Chiefly compiled by Prof. of Entomology and Parasitology, and Prof. Emeritus of Geology and Landscape Architecture, UCB. WRCA MS 88/1; See Finding aid
• Strawberry Creek management plan (1988) by Robert B. Charbonneau.
• Strawberry Creek: a walking tour of campus natural history. 2nd ed. (2000). Berkeley: University of California.

Trees

• Dawn Redwoods: One of the Dawn redwoods located by the west entrance to McCone Hall may date back to the seedlings and seeds brought back from China in 1948 by Palentology Professor Ralph Chaney. The Dawn Redwood had been known only as a fossil until 1941.
• Eucalyptus Grove: Located in the original southwest corner of the campus, on the north side of Strawberry Creek, the grove was planted as a wind break for the first campus athletic facility, "Cinder Track". It was located approx. where the Valley Life Sciences buildings now stands. The grove is thought to be the tallest stand of hardwoods in North America and was planted from seed taken from Australia in 1877. Adjacent to the grove is Douglas Tilden's statue, "The Football Players."
  • Photo - http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~eldrin/photo_album_II/berkeley_tour/32.htm
• Willey Redwood: Located Southeast of Giannini Hall, this is the oldest Redwood on campus, believed to have been planted before 1870. The tree is named for Reverend Samuel Willey, one of the founders of the College of California. Information from Berkeley Landmarks (2001) by Susan Dinkelspiel Cerny, p.163.
• Going out on a limb for Berkeley's venerable trees (January 26, 2004) by Steve McConnell, NewsCenter. With an illustrated slide show.
• Notes on the Origin of the Eucalyptus Grove on Strawberry Creek on the Grounds of the University of California, Berkeley (1954) by F.A. Jackson. Pamphlets on forestry in California; vv. 25.
• Photo
• Trees of Berkeley. Slide show with photos and identification of several notable trees on campus.
• Trees of the Berkeley campus (1976) prepared by Robert A. Cockrell with the assistance of Frederick F. Warnke.
• Trees of the Berkeley Campus (1953) by Woodbridge Metcalf. Pamphlets on dendrology; vol 18.
• Trees of the Berkeley campus, University of California (1969) by Woodbridge Metcalf and Dale Carnegie.
• University of California, Berkeley: an architectural tour and photographs (2002) by Harvey Helfand.