Library Guides: UC Berkeley Campus Research Guide: Finding Resources

Contact Information

Environmental Design Library

Email Me

Contact:

210 Bauer Wurster Hall

Subjects and Keywords

Use subject headings, author/organization, or keywords such as these in the library catalogs:

[name of building]--Berkeley, Calif.
[last name, first name of designer/planner]

Architects--California--BerkeleyBerkeley, Calif.--Aerial photographsBerkeley,
Calif.--BuildingsBerkeley, Calif.--DescriptionBerkeley,
Calif.--History
Campus planning--California
College buildings--California

Historic buildings--California--Berkeley
Sather Tower--Berkeley, Calif

Universities and colleges--Buildings
University of California, Berkeley--[name of building]
University of California, Berkeley--Buildings--Photographs
University of California (1868-1952)--Designs and plans
University of California, Berkeley--History--[name of building] Berkeley, Calif.
University of California,Berkeley--Planning
University of California, Berkeley--Aerial photographs

Images

Search the library catalogs under subject, author/organization or keywords: University of California Berkeley Pictorial Works.

Aerial Photography Collection
includes some online images. Originals available at the Earth Sciences and Maps Library. Photographs of campus from as long ago as 1928.
Atkinson Photographic Archive of campus buildings
(2003) from the University of California History Digital Archive.
Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association Photo Gallery
Days of Cal: A Virtual Tour Through UC Berkeley's History
A project of the Bancroft Library
Kite Aerial Photos of UCB Campus
by Charles C. Benton.

Photographs located in the Bancroft Library or at the UC Archives.

Dennis Galloway photographs of the University of California, Berkeley [graphic] .ca. 1962-1996. See Finding aid
John Galen Howard photograph albums of University of California architectural projects[graphic] ca. 1910-1922. John Galen Howard papers.
Roy Flamm collection of California architectural photographs ca. 1917-ca. 1955? PARTIALLY ARRANGED COLLECTION. PORTIONS UNAVAILABLE FOR USE: Inquiries regarding these materials should be directed, in writing, to the Head of Public Services, The Bancroft Library. COLLECTION STORED, IN PART, OFF-SITE: Advance notice required for use. See Finding aid

Check out the Image Sources for the Built Environment guide to research and Archives & Special Collections.

Maps and Plans

Berkeley Campus Space Plan
(1981-1984) by the Buildings and Campus Development Committee. Includes floor plans; descriptions; evaluations of buildings; general condition; seismic safety; floor space(s); accessibility.
Capital Projects, Planning, Design, and Construction Services
Includes Current Projects. (Department of Facilities Management). Maintains a working collection of reduced drawings and plans for campus buildings. For access to the collection, present an official letter from a UCB faculty member stating purpose and need. There is a fee for photocopying. Call in advance for an appointment. NOTE: Contact this office only if the Environmental Design Library, Environmental Design Archives, University Archives or other library collections lack needed material.
Historic Campus Maps
University Archives, Bancroft Library, University of California History Digital Archives. Look under Archival Documents.

Journal Articles

Articles are not included in the library catalogs. Search subject and keywords such as those above.

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost (formerly WilsonWeb) (EBSCO)
America: History and Life
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) This link opens in a new window
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.

Other sources

Architecture Indexes & Abstracts
(UC Berkeley, Library)

Architect and Engineer Index (PDF). Vol. 1-95, 1905-1928. Compiled by Gary A. Goss, California Historical Society, 1982. San Francisco. Partial index by subject, location and designer to this San Francisco based architecture journal. Indexing for volumes from 1930 included in Art Index. Journals have same call number and are shelved in bound periodicals.

Cal Monthly, California Alumni magazine.
Searchable archives of articles, including many on campus buildings, designers, architects, planners.
Chronicle of the University of California : a journal of university history.
(1998- ) by Center for Studies in Higher Education, University of California, Berkeley.

Newspaper Articles

Access World News UCB Only. Complete full-text content of local and regional news from over 300 US newspapers. Includes titles such as Berkeley Voice, Oakland Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, San Jose Mercury News and Sacramento Bee. Coverage varies, but generally from 1980s or 90s to present.
The Daily Californian 1874-- . Student-run newspaper for UC Berkeley's campus and the city of Berkeley. See Finding aid for 1991-1994.
The Berkeleyan: A newspaper for faculty and staff of UC Berkeley, 1874 --. (Title varies.)
Also see
- The Berkeleyan
- Berkeleyan (Berkeley, Calif. :1974))
- For articles from 1994-2009, try UC Berkeley News>The Berkeleyan
San Francisco Chronicle, 1869-- Also available in microform copies.
INDEXES:
California Digital Newspaper Collection Offers over 200,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911, including:< >the Alta California, 1849-1891;the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910;the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911;the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911;the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890;the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907.For additional newspapers see News Databases

Secondary menu

UC Berkeley Campus Research Guide: Finding Resources