It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
The Periodic Table by Eric R. ScerriThe periodic table of elements, first encountered by many of us at school, provides an arrangement of the chemical elements, ordered by their atomic number, electron configuration, and recurring chemical properties, and divided into periodic trends. In this Very Short Introduction Eric Scerrilooks at the trends in properties of elements that led to the construction of the table, and shows how the deeper meaning of the table's structure gradually became apparent with the development of atomic theory and, in particular, quantum mechanics, which underlies the behaviour of all of theelements and their compounds.This new edition, publishing in the International Year of the Periodic Table, celebrates the completion of the seventh period of the table, with the ratification and naming of elements 113, 115, 117, and 118 as nihonium, moscovium, tennessine, and oganesson. Eric Scerri also incorporates newmaterial on recent advances in our understanding of the origin of the elements, as well as developments concerning group three of the periodic table.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: QD467 .S344 2019
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry by Victoria F. Roche; Thomas Lemke; David A. Williams; S. William ZitoWith expert contributions from experienced educators, research scientists and clinicians, Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry, Eighth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional students, graduate students and pharmacy faculty alike. This 'gold standard' text explains the chemical basis of drug action, emphasizing the structure-activity relationships, physicochemical-pharmacokinetic properties, and metabolic profiles of the most commonly used drugs. Comprehensive coverage of the most cutting edge understanding of drug chemistry, organized and written for ready comprehension Extensively referenced to allow learners to explore areas of interest in greater depth Contemporary focus on drugs viewed by practitioners as the most clinically important in today's health care environment Clinical Significance testimonials that provide a clinician's view of the relevance of medicinal chemistry to practice Science-practice interface made explicit through drug monographs that highlight therapeutic indications, adverse reactions and drug-drug interactions End-of-Chapter exercises that allow learners to test their understanding and recall of key concepts eBook available . Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more
Polymer Nanocomposites by Joseph H. KooPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Up-to-date polymer nanocomposite principles, practices, and characteristics This fully updated guide helps engineers and scientists understand and use the special properties of cutting-edge polymer nanocomposites. Written by a recognized authority in the field, Polymer Nanocomposites: Processing, Characterization, and Applications, Second Edition, begins with an overview of key technologies and processes. Each chapter then examines a different property (structural, mechanical, thermal, flammability, ablation, and electrical) and explains relevant commercial and industrial applications. Examples for a wide variety of usage include applications for spacecraft and defense vehicles, medical and dental implants, flame-retardant and conductive polymers for additive manufacturing, and fire-resistant woven and nonwoven fabrics. Coverage includes: * Nanotechnology and nanomaterials fundamentals * Applications in an expansive range of industries and commercial sectors * Processing of multifunctional polymer nanocomposites * Structure and properties characterization * Mechanical, thermal, flammability, ablation, electrical, and tribological properties * Opportunities, trends, and challenges in the field
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 K66 2019
Organic Chemistry by Pierre Vogel; Kendall N. HoukProvides the background, tools, and models required to understand organic synthesis and plan chemical reactions more efficiently Knowledge of physical chemistry is essential for achieving successful chemical reactions in organic chemistry. Chemists must be competent in a range of areas to understand organic synthesis. Organic Chemistry provides the methods, models, and tools necessary to fully comprehend organic reactions. Written by two internationally recognized experts in the field, this much-needed textbook fills a gap in current literature on physical organic chemistry. Rigorous yet straightforward chapters first examine chemical equilibria, thermodynamics, reaction rates and mechanisms, and molecular orbital theory, providing readers with a strong foundation in physical organic chemistry. Subsequent chapters demonstrate various reactions involving organic, organometallic, and biochemical reactants and catalysts. Throughout the text, numerous questions and exercises, over 800 in total, help readers strengthen their comprehension of the subject and highlight key points of learning. The companion Organic Chemistry Workbook contains complete references and answers to every question in this text. A much-needed resource for students and working chemists alike, this text: -Presents models that establish if a reaction is possible, estimate how long it will take, and determine its properties -Describes reactions with broad practical value in synthesis and biology, such as C-C-coupling reactions, pericyclic reactions, and catalytic reactions -Enables readers to plan chemical reactions more efficiently -Features clear illustrations, figures, and tables -With a Foreword by Nobel Prize Laureate Robert H. Grubbs Organic Chemistry: Theory, Reactivity, and Mechanisms in Modern Synthesis is an ideal textbook for students and instructors of chemistry, and a valuable work of reference for organic chemists, physical chemists, and chemical engineers.
Call Number: QD251.3 .V54 2019
The Periodic Table by Eric R. ScerriThe periodic table of elements is among the most recognizable image in science. It lies at the core of chemistry and embodies the most fundamental principles of science. In this new edition, Eric Scerri offers readers a complete and updated history and philosophy of the periodic table. Written in a lively style to appeal to experts and interested lay-persons alike, The Periodic Table: Its Story and Its Significance begins with an overview of the importance of the periodic table and the manner in which the term "element" has been interpreted by chemists and philosophers across time. The book traces the evolution and development of the periodic table from its early beginnings with the work of the precursors like De Chancourtois, Newlands and Meyer to Mendeleev's 1869 first published table and beyond. Several chapters are devoted to developments in 20th century physics, especially quantum mechanics and and the extent to which they explain the periodic table in a more fundamental way. Other chapters examine the formation of the elements, nuclear structure, the discovery of the last seven infra-uranium elements, and the synthesis of trans-uranium elements. Finally, the book considers the many different ways of representing the periodic system and the quest for an optimal arrangement.
Call Number: QD467 .S345 2020
Experimental Electrochemistry by Rudolf HolzeShowing how to apply the theoretical knowledge in practice, the one and only compilation of electrochemical experiments on the market now in a new edition. Maintaining its didactic approach, this successful textbook provides clear and easy-to-follow instructions for carrying out the experiments, illustrating the most important principles and applications in modern electrochemistry, while pointing out the potential dangers and risks involved. This second edition contains 84 experiments, many of which cover electrochemical energy conversion and storage as well as electrochemical equilibrium.