Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books in library catalogs or articles in the indexes .
Architecture and solar radiation
Photovoltaic power systems
Renewable energy sources
Shades and shadows
Solar access rights
Use Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks for terminology, history, and development. See
Electronic Resources for more titles.
Environmental site layout planning: solar access, microclimate and passive cooling in urban areas / P J Littlefair...[et al.] London : BRE Publications, 2000.
Graphic standards of solar energy / Spruille Braden III. Boston : CBI Pub. Co., c1977.
The passive solar design and construction handbook / Steven Winter Associates; edited by Michael J. Crosbie. New York: Wiley, c1998.
Site layout planning for daylight and sunlight : a guide to good practice / PJ Littlefair. Repr. with corrections. Watford : Building Research Establishment, 1995.
Solar angle reference manual / Ron Sibson. New York : Wiley, c1983. LBL Bldg 90 TJ810 .S56 1983.
The solar economy : renewable energy for a sustainable global future / Hermann Scheer. London; Sterling, VA: Earthscan Publications, 2002.
Solar energy resource guide / 3rd ed. Berkeley, CA : Northern California Solar Energy Association, 2002.
Solar radiation data manual for buildings / Golden, Colo.: National Renewable Energy Laboratory,  NREL/TP ; 463-7904.Includes solar radiation graph and climatic conditions by state and location .
Solar Radiation Data - from the National Renewable Energy Lab. Includes solar resource information and data. -- Solar Radiation Data Manual for Buildings - complete text
Sun Angle Calculator - SunAngle computes the position of the sun and related information for a given location, date, and time. This information may be useful in building design, solar energy system design, photography, and other applications.
Building-integrated photovoltaic designs for commercial and institutional structures: a sourcebook for architects / Patrina Eiffert, Gregory J. Kiss. BIPV (building-integrated photovoltaic) Golden, CO: National Renewable Energy Laboratory, February 2000. AVAILABLE ONLINE.
Designing with solar power: a source book for building integrated photovoltaics (BiPV) / editors, Deo Prasad & Mark Snow. Mulgrave, Vic. : Images ; London ; Sterling, VA : Earthscan, 2005. Includes case studies on design buildings with solar power. Includes heating, climatic characteristics, and building data.
Going solar: understanding and using the warmth in sunlight / written and illustrated by Tomm Stanley ; photography by Tomm. Christchurch, New Zealand : Stonefield Publishing ; White River Junction, Vt. : Distributed in North America by Chelsea Green, 2004. Concise guide to solar energy.
Passive Solar Design - from Sustainable Sources.com.
Passive solar design strategies: guidelines for home building, San Francisco, California / Passive Solar Industries Council, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Charles Eley Associates. 1990 to 1998.
Solar building architecture / edited by Bruce Anderson. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, c1990.
Solar radiation and daylight models for the energy efficient design of buildings / T. Muneer; with a chapter on Solar spectral radiation by H.Kambezidis. 1st ed. Oxford; Boston: Architectural Press, 1997.
Solar radiation and daylight models / T. Muneer ; with a chapter... 2nd ed. Oxford ; Burlington, MA : Elsevier Butterworth Heinemann, c2004. Emphasis largley UK but includes spectral data and slope radiation charts.
Solar-projections version 1.0 / Silvina Apfeld, Balz Mueller. Los Angeles, Calif.: SCI-Arc Public Access Press, c2002. Public Access Press series; no. 43.
Solar technologies for buildings / Ursula Eicker. Chichester ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, c2003.
Sun, wind & light : architectural design strategies / G.Z. Brown, Mark DeKay; illustrations, Virginia Cartwright. 2nd ed. New York : J. Wiley, c2001. Includes data, design drawings, wind catchers, solar information.
Sunlighting as formgiver for architecture. Lam, William M. C. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1986. Sunwall design competition : United States Department of Energy national solar design competition / [sponsored by U.S. Dept. Golden, CO: National Renewable Energy Laboratory, July 2001.
Tap the sun : passive solar techniques and home designs. [2nd ed.]. [Ottawa] : Canada Housing and Mortgage Corporation, c1998.
2002 Solar Home Tour Guide. Berkeley, CA : Northern California Solar Energy Association, 2002.
An editor's and reporter's guide to solar energy in California : the forgotten solution to the energy crisis / David Bainbridge. San Diego, CA :United States International University, .
Cutting the cost of cold : affordable warmth for healthier homes / edited by Janet Rudge & Fergus Nicol. London New York : E & FN Spon, c2000. Also ebook.
Energy conscious architecture / [Carl Stein]. Washington, D.C. : National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, c2001.
Energy efficient buildings: architecture, engineering, and environment / Dean Hawkes and Wayne Forster. 1st American ed. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2002.
Energy in architecture: the European passive solar handbook / edited by John R. Goulding, J. Owen Lewis, Theo C.Rev. ed. London : B.T. Batsford for the Commission of the European Communities, Directorate General XII for Science, Research and Development, 1992.
Power with nature: alternative energy solutions for homeowners / Rex A. Ewing. Updated 2nd ed. Masonville, CO: PixyJack Press, c2006. Online table of contents. Includes solar, wind, hyro, heating, off-grid, grid-tie, bibliographys, glossary, and resources.
Residential manual : for compliance with the 1998 energy efficiency standards (for low-rise residential buildings. Sacramento, Calif.: California Energy Commission, 1999. Also online.
Sol power: the evolution of solar architecture / Sophia and Stefan Behling ; in collaboration with Bruno Schindler; foreword by Sir Norman Foster. Munich ; New York : Prestel, c1996.
The solar economy: renewable energy for a sustainable global future / Hermann Scheer. London; Sterling, VA: Earthscan Publications, 2002.
Solar energy in architecture and urban planning = Solarenergie in Architektur und Stadtplanung / Munich ; New York: Prestel, c1996.
Solar energy, technology policy, and institutional values / Frank N. Laird. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001. Also ebook.
Solar radiation and daylight models for the energy efficient design of buildings / T. Muneer; with a chapter on Solar spectral radiation by H Kambezidis. Oxford ; Boston : Architectural Press, 1997.
Solar architecture and planning / editor, Santosh Ghosh ; associates, Ranajit Gupta, Sumita Gupta. Calcutta : Centre for Built Environment, 1997.
Solar Access and Planning
Solar Heating & Photovoltaics
CEPHEUS : Wohnkomfort ohne Heizung = Living comfort without heating / Herausgeber und Hauptautoren: Helmut Krapmeier, Eckart Drossler ; unter Mitwirkung von: Ignacio Martinez . [et al.] ; [Ubersetzungen:.Wien; New York : Springer, c2001.
Comfort in any climate / [Michael Reynolds]. Taos, N.M. : Solar Survival Press, c2000.
Passive solar commercial and institutional buildings : a sourcebook of examples and design insights / International Energy Agency; principal editor, S.R. Hastings. Chichester; New York : J. Wiley, c1994.
The passive solar house / James Kachadorian. White River Junction, Vt. :Chelsea Green Pub. Co., c1997.
Photovoltaics and architecture / edited by Randall Thomas. London ; New& York : Spon Press, 2001
Photovoltaics in buildings : a design handbook for architects and engineers / principal editors, Friedrich Sick, Thomas Erge. London : James & James (Science Publishers) Ltd., c1996.
Photovoltaics in the built environment : a design guide for architects and engineers / Washington, D.C. :U.S. Dept. of Energy, 1997.
Practical photovoltaics: electricity from solar cells / Richard J. Komp; introduction by John Perlin. 3rd ed. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Aatec Publications, 1995.
Solar heating systems for houses : a design handbook for solar combisystems / editor, Werner Weiss. London : James & James, c2003. Also ebook. A solar combisystem is the combination of domestic hot water preparation and space heating. This book was published in the UK, it offers current areas of practice and design, performance data, case studies with photos and drawing details.
The solar house: passive heating and cooling / Daniel D. Chiras. White River Junction, Vt. : Chelsea Green Pub., c2002.