It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
From Professor Skeem: At the heart of your presentation are the references that you identify through your literature search. You are required to turn in an annotated bibliography in APA format that summarizes the key articles you rely upon to develop your presentation. You must have at least ten referencesin your bibliography. Of these, at least eight must be to original empirical articles(including meta-analyses) from the professional literature – not books, review chapters, popular press articles, the internet, etc.
Find Articles With Index Databases
We have over one thousand research databases which help you find articles (and more) on a wide variety of topics. They are organized according to academic discipline, by name, or by type of database (dissertations, e-books, etc.)
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Research related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
EconLitCore resource for economics, broadly defined.
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
ERICAll levels of education and all educational specialties.
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.
Cited By Searching
If an article is relevant to your topic, it can be very helpful to see not just what they cited (references, bibliography) but future scholars who cited it. There are several different ways to do this, and the results will overlap -- no single method is comprehensive.
PsycINFO, Social Services, and many library databases: In the results list, click on Cited by
"The essential meaning of the term is that objective knowledge from scientific research including rigorous evaluation studies should occupy a central place in policy decision making. Seeking rigorous and reliable knowledge and promoting its utilization within the policy process are core features of an evidence-based policy approach." (From the International Encyclopedia of the Behavioral Social Sciences: Policy Analysis: Evidence-Based Policy-Making)
Confirmability: The study's procedures are described explicitly.
Dependability: Data was collected across multiple settings, time periods, and informants.
Authenticity: The study seem plausible.
Transferability: The study acknowledges scope and boundaries.
Applicability: Evaluators and policy researchers would be able to use this study to take concrete action.
Attention to ethics: Ethical concerns addressed, including who benefits and whether anyone could be harmed by this study.
Structure of Empirical Articles
From the assignment: "The prototypic key source will describe the results of a research study (with introduction, method, results, and discussion sections) and will be published in a high profile general journal (e.g., Criminology, Psychological Bulletin) or specialty journal (e.g., Law & Human Behavior, Criminal Justice & Behavior, Psychology, Public Policy & Law)."
Searching Recommended E-Journals
Sometimes it's more efficient to go directly to some recommended sources -- these are suggested by Professor Skeem: