Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

3 libraries are now open! Plus: UC Library Search is here!

Data H195: Start Your Search

Guide for Data Science Honors Thesis Seminar

Welcome!

Welcome to the library guide for Data Science H 195. This guide will help you find sources, citation information, and details about Text Mining & Computational Text Analysis with library resources. If you get stuck, Berkeley librarians are here to help you in a research consultation and 24/7 chat reference.

What is Start Your Search?

Start Your Search brings back results from the library catalog OskiCat, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers indexed through databases (some but not all), and online encyclopedias and dictionaries like Oxford University Press.

How can you filter through the results? Here is an illustrated example:

 

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.
search databases on the home page screenshot

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

Find Articles

Finding PDFs

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks or Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

  • When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)

Find Research Data Examples