It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
OskiCat: locate materials including books, government publications, and audio and video recordings, in the UC Berkeley libraries.
Melvyl: locate materials at other campuses in the UC system. Melvyl also allows you to expand your search to libraries worldwide.
For major resources for finding statistics and data related to education see library guide on Educational Statistics.
Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveAn archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. [1880 - 2000]
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).
Index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day. [1972 - present]
Indexes scholarly and popular journals, books, book reviews, and proceedings worldwide on a wide range of topics within the fields of film and television studies. Includes complete data from all volumes of the Index to Film Periodicals, Treasures from Film Archives, Documentation Collections, and FIAF Affiliates' Publications.
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. [1976 - present]
Indexes 150 scholarly and popular periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 300 other periodicals selectively for reviews and articles on the topic film and television. Search by keyword, production title and more or browse by some 2000 subject headings.
Provides detailed information about motion pictures (production information and citations for reviews and critical articles) and cinema workers from over 170 countries. [1900 - present]
Indexes international feature films and shorts, Hollywood entertainment shorts, documentaries, and television movies from all over the world. Includes references to critical and industry articles on films, articles on personalities from hundreds of international film/TV journals, information about film awards and prizes, and searchable plot summaries with cast and crew lists. This database is produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Online journal focusing on critcal essays on the life and work of notable international film directors.
Critical essays on the life of work of notable international film directors (part of the electronic journal Senses of Cinema). Essays include filmographies and bibliographies, links to related web resources, and numerous still images from works of the director profiled.
Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
The Film Encyclopedia by Ephraim KatzLong considered the undisputed bible of the movie industry, Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film. Unrivaled in its scope, this intelligent and engrossing A to Z reference contains nearly 8,000 entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking Motion picture studios and film centers Film-related organizations and events Industry jargon and technical terms Inventions, inventors, and equipment Now in its fully revised and updated fourth editionk with hundreds of new entries, The Film Encyclopedia is the indispensable film book for moviegoers, students, critics, and everyone associated with the art and craft of motion pictures.
Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts by Susan HaywardCinema Studies: The Key Concepts is an essential guide for anyone interested in film. Providing accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms, this is a must-have guide to a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times. Now fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, the book includes new topical entries such as: CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digital cinema/Post-digital cinema Dogme 95* Movement-image/Time-image Quota quickies 3-D technology
Schirmer Encyclopedia of FilmThis reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by Edward Branigan (Editor); Warren Buckland (Editor)The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. When first encountering film theory, students are often confronted with a dense, interlocking set of texts full of arcane terminology, inexact formulations, sliding definitions, and abstract generalities. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory challenges these first impressions by aiming to make film theory accessible and open to new readers. Edward Branigan and Warren Buckland have commissioned over 50 scholars from around the globe to address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions. The result is a highly accessible volume that clearly defines, and analyzes step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from familiar concepts such as 'Apparatus', 'Gaze', 'Genre', and 'Identification', to less well-known and understood, but equally important concepts, such as Alain Badiou's 'Inaesthetics', Gilles Deleuze's 'Time-Image', and Jean-Luc Nancy's 'Evidence'. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an ideal reference book for undergraduates of film studies, as well as graduate students new to the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series by Richard B. Armstrong; Mary Willems ArmstrongLibrary Journal called the earlier version of this work, then titled The Movie List Book, the most valuable film reference in several years. Now, ten years later, it has been completely revamped to include over 670 entries on a variety of film themes, settings and series. Each entry contains a mini-essay that defines the topic, followed by a chronological list of representative films.The entries range from themes (reincarnation, viral epidemics, twins) to settings (lighthouses, asylums, sewers), occupations (librarians, lumberjacks, veterinarians), supernatural and mythological creatures (vampires, mermaids, gorgons), sports (golf, football, pool), animals (alligators, dogs, whales)--and of course hundreds more! The book also contains an extensive list of film characters and series, including: B-movie detectives (Mr. Moto, Philo Vance); Western heroes (The Durango Kid, Red Ryder); made-for-television film series (Moment of Truth, In the Line of Duty); and foreign film good guys (El Santo) and bad guys (Fantomas). Many entries are cross-referenced to direct readers to related topics.From the Abominable Snowman to Zorro, this encyclopedia provides film scholars and fans with an easy-to-use reference volume for researching film themes or tracking down obscure movies on subjects such as suspended animation, robots, submarines, ventriloquists, and the Olympics.
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by John C. Tibbetts; James Michael WelshPraise for the previous edition: "An outstanding selective survey of a fascinating topic, well suited to both general and academic audiences, and highly recommended for all public and academic libraries."—Choice "A wonderful resource...especially appealing to those who want to explore how classic literature has been turned into cinematographic art."—School Library Journal The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film, Second Edition provides a comprehensive, in-depth look at more than 300 American and foreign novels and their film adaptations. Edited and written by two renowned film scholars, with contributions from more than 70 top academics, this engaging reference explores both the popular and lesser-known films that have come to define this genre. Each of the more than 300 illuminating entries provides an overview of the literary source and a critical assessment of its various film adaptations. This edition includes more than 30 all-new entries and numerous updates to cover new adaptations, as well as many new photographs. Providing an in-depth look at how books are selected for the silver screen, The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film, Second Edition is a fascinating study for anyone interested in film and literature. New entries include: Cold Mountain The Far Side of the World (Master and Commander) Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone The Hours The Lord of the Rings trilogy Mystic River The Shipping News Stuart Little Whale Rider.