It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Titles include: the History of Dispute series, Encyclopedia of Modern China, Encyclopedia of Religion, the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography and many more resources. (Formerly titled Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
An online collection of thousands of books of high quality in the humanities. (American Council of Learned Societies Humanities e-Book Collection)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Sort results by relevance (default), newest,oldest,title, or author. Refine results by using filters.
Manage a single filter by hovering over it. You can:
Include it .
Exclude it .
Make it persistent .
Manage multiple filters in the Use the Active Filter area (top left column). You can:
Remove a persistent filter .
Make all current filters persistent (click "Remember all Filters").
Reset all filters (click "Reset Filters").
Multiple filters at the same time will retrieve items for either filter. (Ex: Adding Agriculture and Botany will find items about either Agriculture or Botany.)
Filter(s) after retrieving search results will retrieve items matching all filters. (Ex: Doing a search and adding the filter for Botany, looking at search results, and then adding another filter for Agriculture, will only retrieve items matching both Agriculture and Botany.)
Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.