It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Environmental Issues Today: Choices and Challenges [2 Volumes]This two-volume set provides an authoritative overview of the major environmental issues of the 21st century, with a special focus on current challenges, trends, and policy choices. This set provides an up-to-date, comprehensive, and focused resource for understanding the nature and scope of environmental challenges facing the United States and the world in the 21st century, as well as options for meeting those challenges. Volume One covers environmental trends and challenges within the United States, while Volume Two illuminates environmental issues and choices around the world. Issues covered in both volumes include vital topics such as climate change, air and water pollution, natural resource and species protection, and agricultural/industrial impacts on the environment and public health. For all topics, the authors--scholars and experts hailing from a wide range of environmental and policy fields--detail a range of political, social, and economic options for the future and explain why the issue in question is important for society and people as well as the natural world. User-friendly division of volumes into U.S. and international coverage Authoritative and objective analysis from environmental scholars Illuminating sidebars providing case studies about important environmental trends and policies Lists of issue-specific resources for further research
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)
The ORE of Environmental Science is a dynamic, scholarly, and up-to-date reference work. Articles go beyond science for an interdisciplinary perspective on the environment including social science, ethics, history, and more.
California Natural History Guides Series:
More than 100 of these useful guides have been published. Here is a sample:
A multifaceted primer on California soil ecosystems, soil types, as well as soil-affecting processes such as fires, floods, and erosion. The guide also details the history of land use in the state, including large scale agriculture, mining, and urban development.
Delves into an array of topics including fish and wildlife, ocean and climate cycles, endangered and invasive species, and the path from industrialization to environmental restoration. Covers tracing mercury through the aquatic ecosystem, finding ways to convert salt ponds back to tidal wetlands, anticipating the repercussions of climate change, and more. The guide also tells how San Francisco Bay sparked an environmental movement that now reaches across the country.
Covers the basics of fire ecology; looks at the effects of fire on wildlife, soil, water, and air; discusses firefighting organizations and land management agencies; explains current policies; and offers an overview of major wildfires in California's history.
It takes 8 gallons of water to grow a tomato; 616 gallons to make a burger patty. In fact, the food each of us consumes per day represents an investment of 4,500 gallons of water, according to the California Farm Bureau. Where does all that water come from? This book describes California rivers, lakes, wetlands, dams, and aqueducts and discusses the role of water in agriculture, the environment, and politics.
Identifies and describes native California tree species and most common shrub species. The authors discuss the dominant vegetation types, climates, principal landforms, and elevations of California's ecological regions. Includes line drawings, range maps, and color photographs.
Species accounts cover the life cycles, habits, distribution, and significance of each pest and discuss valuable options for reducing or avoiding damage from diseases, fungi, parasitic plants, animals, and other destructive factors such as such as air pollution, salt, and frost.
Selected websites for Natural Resources and Conservation. See this page for more.
Search across federal science agency publications; includes Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
A collaborative effort of 12 federal science agencies, this site serves as a gateway to more than 1800 scientific web sites. The site allows metasearching of free full-text and bibliographic databases such as Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, NTIS, PubMed, Agricola, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
WRI is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, and focuses on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.