It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Food Environment Atlas(e-resource)
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. interactive map, a variety of statistics.
Full text books on food safety, quality, processing, brewing, regulations, & microbiology, information on functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies, and new Fenaroli’s Handbook of Food Additives
Nutrition information and clinical tools for health care professionals. Includes nutrition care for specific conditions; nutrition calculators; supplement formulary; client education materials and sample menus; and additional resources. (ADA Nutrition Care Manual)
Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools. Provides nutrition care processes for specific diseases; nutrition calculators; nutrition therapy foods and sample menus; and more.
Encyclopedias & Resources
Food in America: the past, present, and future of food, farming, and the family meal by Andrew F. Smith; Marion Nestle (Foreword by)This three-volume work examines all facets of the modern U.S. food system, including the nation's most important food and agriculture laws, the political forces that shape modern food policy, and the food production trends that are directly impacting the lives of every American family. * Examines a breadth of contemporary food controversies and offers diverse viewpoints on them, placing these perspectives fairly into a broader historical context * Presents a multidisciplinary approach to the subject of food that highlights related issues in transportation, business, diet and nutrition, public health, the environment, and public policy * Includes primary documents that illuminate important laws, policies, and perspectives on the environmental, public health, and economic impact of food * Provides readers with the latest information about food controversies as well as extensive resources for further study on major food controversies
Call Number: TX360.U6 S596 2017
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by Neal K. Van Alfen (Editor-In-Chief)Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink by John F. MarianiFirst published in 1983, John Mariani'sEncyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. Last updated in the late 1990s, it is now back in a handsome, fully illustrated revised and expanded edition that catches readers up on more than a decade of culinary evolution and innovation: from the rise of the Food Network to the local food craze; from the DIY movement, with sausage stuffers, hard cider brewers, and pickle makers on every Brooklyn or Portland street corner; to the food truck culture that proliferates in cities acrossthe country. Whether high or low food culture, there's no question American food has changed radically in the last fourteen years, just as the market for it has expanded exponentially. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time theEncyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others. And no gastronomic encyclopedia would be complete without recipes. Mariani has included five hundred classics, from Hard Sauce to Scrapple, Baked Alaska to Blondies. An AmericanLarousse Gastronomique,John Mariani's completely up-to-date encyclopedia will be a welcome acquisition for a new generation of food lovers.
Call Number: TX349 .M266 2013
The Food Encyclopedia by Jacques L. Rolland; Carol ShermanThe most comprehensive and authoritative food encyclopedia available. Cooking can be a wondrous adventure, especially with a thorough understanding of the history and origins of food, a grasp of the cultures and environments involved, and an appreciation for those who over the years have played key roles in its development. The Food Encyclopedia has 8,000 entries, with cross-reference on foods, wines, beverages, cooking methods and techniques, and biographies of prominent people. It is the most comprehensive food reference in the marketplace today, featuring 500 stunning illustrations and photographs alongside its extensive coverage. In the entry on arugula, for example, we read that it is an assertive salad green, eruca sativa, has a peppery taste somewhere between nasturtium and watercress, and is used frequently in Mediterranean dishes. The ancient Romans used both the leaves and the seeds of arugula. Thomas Jefferson, in detailed written instructions to his gardener at Monticello, listed arugula as essential for his kitchen garden. Included are more than 150 biographies of prominent individuals -- chefs, authors and inventors -- who have contributed to food and its lore. Chefs include Julia Child, Paul Bocuse, Alice Waters and Michael Stadtlander. Among the notable authors are Elizabeth David, M.F.K. Fisher and Irma S. Rombauer. The inventors include Carl Sontheimer the developer of the Cuisinart food processor. Becoming more familiar with words and terms, and finding out the background behind a food or an ingredient, ensures a well-prepared dish and adds to the pleasure of serving it. For any cook, this authoritative and fascinating book is an outstanding reference and cookbook companion.
Call Number: TX349 .R564 2006 Reference
Larousse Gastronomique by Librarie Larousse StaffLarousse Gastronomique has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf. In fact, Julia Child once wrote, "If I were allowed only one reference book in my library, Larousse Gastronomique would be it, without question." The culinary landscape has changed dramatically in the last decade, prompting a complete revision of this classic work. Larousse Gastronomique has now been updated to add the latest advancements that have forever changed the way we cook, including modern technological methods, such as sous-vide cooking and molecular gastronomy. All-new color ingredient-identification photographs give this edition a fresh, elegant look. And for the first time, Larousse features more than 400 reportage photos–candid images of upscale restaurants from around the world–that give behind-the-scenes access into the kitchens where the finest food is created. Dozens of new biographies of people who have made significant contributions to the food world debut in this revision, including such luminaries as Ferran Adrià, Daniel Boulud, Alice Waters, Gaston Lenôtre, Thomas Keller, James Beard, and Julia Child. With entries arranged in encyclopedic fashion, Larousse Gastronomique is not only incredibly user-friendly, but it is also a fantastic read for anyone who loves food. Skip from Roasting to Robert (a classic French sauce), and then to Robiola (the Italian cheese); or go from Sake to Salad–with dozens of recipes–and on to Salamander, a type of oven used in professional kitchens for caramelizing (and named after the legendary fire-resistant animal). An index at the end of the book of all 3,800 recipes for cuisines from around the world makes it easy to find a myriad of preparations for any ingredient (eggs or chicken, for example) or type of dish (such as cakes or sauces). The unparalleled depth and breadth of information–from the traditional to the cutting-edge–make this newest edition of Larousse Gastronomique indispensable for every cook.
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)Offering a panoramic view of the history and culture of food and drink in America with fascinating entries on everything from the smell of asparagus to the history of White Castle, and the origin of Bloody Marys to jambalaya, the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink provides a concise,authoritative, and exuberant look at this modern American obsession. Ideal for the food scholar and food enthusiast alike, it is equally appetizing for anyone fascinated by Americana, capturing our culture and history through what we love most--food! Building on the highly praised and deliciously browseable two-volume compendium the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, this new work serves up everything you could ever want to know about American consumables and their impact on popular culture and the culinary world. Within itspages for example, we learn that Lifesavers candy owes its success to the canny marketing idea of placing the original flavor, mint, next to cash registers at bars. Patrons who bought them to mask the smell of alcohol on their breath before heading home soon found they were just as tasty sober andthe company began producing other flavors. Edited by Andrew Smith, a writer and lecturer on culinary history, the Companion serves up more than just trivia however, including hundreds of entries on fast food, celebrity chefs, fish, sandwiches, regional and ethnic cuisine, food science, and historical food traditions. It also dispels a fewcommonly held myths. Veganism, isn't simply the practice of a few "hippies," but is in fact wide-spread among elite athletic circles. Many of the top competitors in the Ironman and Ultramarathon events go even further, avoiding all animal products by following a strictly vegan diet. Anyone hungeringto know what our nation has been cooking and eating for the last three centuries should own the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink. * Nearly 1,000 articles on American food and drink, from the curious to the commonplace * Beautifully illustrated with hundreds of historical photographs and color images * Includes informative lists of food websites, museums, organizations, and festivals
Call Number: TX349 .O94 2007
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew Smith (Editor); Bruce KraigThe second edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America thoroughly updates the original, award-winning title, while capturing the shifting American perspective on food and ensuring that this title is the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine.In over 1,400 entries, this new edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America reflects the many changes in American food consciousness during the twenty-first century. Once a niche market, food television has become ubiquitous, as are websites devoted to all sorts of regionalcuisines. New health consciousness has spawned obesity taxes, transfat and calorie-count laws, the slow food movement, and locavorism. Ethnic foods and the fusion of these have led to new crazes for such cuisines as Southwestern sushi and Filipino hamburgers. These timely trends and topics have been newly incorporated into the new edition of The Encyclopedia, adding one volume and over 300 new entries on these and other subjects such as food science and nutrition, molecular gastronomy, genetically-modified foods, food controversies, regional foods, thevolatile nature of food prices, and food traditions of major American cities. Entries from The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink have also been added, as have a substantial number of biographies of culinary personalities. All bibliographies and non-historical entries have been revisitedfor updating.
Call Number: TX349 .O93 2013 Reference
Dictionaries & Handbooks
The Diner's Dictionary by John AytoDid you know that "croissant" literally means "crescent" or that oranges are native to China? Do you realize that the word "pie" has been around for seven hundred years in English or that "toast" comes from the Latin word for "scorch"?From absinthe to zabaglione, this lively guide presents the meaning and origin of over 2,300 food and drink terms. From basic ingredients to herbs, spices, and traditional dishes to more exotic products and delicacies, this book offers a feast of classic food and recipe terms as well as newadditions to our gastronomic vocabulary over recent years such as Kobe beef, goji berry, latte, and wrap. Full of fascinating stories about some of our most popular foods and dishes as well as the more obscure, this is a delicious must-have for foodies and word buffs alike.
Call Number: TX349 .A86 2012
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Food and Drink in American History by Andrew F. SmithThis three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
Call Number: TX349 .F5716 2013
Fast Food and Junk Food by Andrew F. SmithThis fascinating and revealing work examines the incredible power of junk food and fast food--how nostalgic we are about them, the influence of the companies that manufacture or sell them, and their alarming effect on our country's state of health. * More than 700 A-Z entries on fast food, comfort food, and junk food, ranging from breakfast cereals to burgers and fries to snack chips and candy * A chronology of the significant events in the history of junk food and fast food * A bibliography containing more than 200 entries with citations to books, articles, and websites * A glossary of important terms used in the encyclopedia * A Resource Guide containing important DVDs, films and videos, and television series