Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Making the History of 1989
Collection of translated primary documents, essays, and teacher guides dealing with the fall of communism
1956 Digital Archive
On the 1956 uprising in Hungary.
Magyar Elektronikus Könyvtár
More than 7000 digitized documents, images and more related to Hungarian life and history.
The Polish National Digital Library-Cyfrowa Biblioteka Narodowa Polona
Access to important literature and scientific materials, historical documents, journals, graphics, photography, and maps.
YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland
Thousands of documents, posters, photographs, and more that illustrate Jewish life in Poland prior to WWII.
1956 Polish and Hungarian Crises
English translations of documents from Russian and Bulgarian archives related to the uprisings.
1980-81 Polish Crisis
Translated set of documents, most from Russian archives and record the Soviet response to the Polish crisis, including preparations for military intervention. There are also documents from other Eastern European archives which contain the Communist bloc leaders’ discussions and reactions to the events in Poland.
Soviet Invasion of Czechoslovakia
Documents on the 1968 Prague Spring in Czechoslovakia and the Soviet invasion in response.
Todor Zhivkov Collection
Leader of Bulgaria from 1954 until the fall of the Soviet Union, this collection contains documents by and about Todor Zhivkov
Ukrainian Nuclear History
Covers Ukraine's nuclear history, from Ukrainian physicists' early involvement in the Soviet nuclear program to the 1986 Chernobyl disaster to the 1994 decision for Ukraine to give up its massive Soviet-era nuclear arsenal.