It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
Bishops Registers are the working records of the medieval prelates whose power transcended the ecclesiastical and extended over temporal affairs and the lives of whole communities. They record benefices, royal writs and patronage and are one of the fullest quotes to the nature and extent of the role of the medieval Church.
This microform collection is available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries. There are guides to the collection arranged by part or by Bishop.
Includes a broad range of digitized documents sourced from 21 libraries. The manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations are grouped thematically and address key gender issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.
The collection includes ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy materials, government papers, personal journals, and receipt books. These are supplemented with a selection of original essays from historians. The thematic areas addressed include: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body.
Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library.
Provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).
Digitized manuscripts that reveal the details of medieval life in the areas of business and trade, politics, community, family affairs, and relationships.
A collection created from source material from the British Library, Chetham's Library, the National Archives, and the West Yorkshire Archives, consisting of the Paston Family Papers, the Celys Family Papers, the Plumpton Correspondence, the Stonor Correspondence, and the Armburgh Family Papers (represented by the "Armburgh Roll," a single parchment roll written on both sides in ink). These include the only surviving family letter collections from the medieval period in England.
Manuscripts of important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
The core of the material is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are sourced from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliotheque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitatsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Oesterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University, Trinity College, Dublin, and about 15 other libraries and archives.
Digitized version of the Monumenta Germaniae Historica. (Brepols) [through 15th century]
An online project to digitize and make available via the Internet the entire contents of the Monumenta Germaniae Historic, a collection of original texts and commentaries dealing with German history from the earliest written sources through the 15th century. Currently, the online version is an interim one which allows consultation of digitized pages from the print edition, and which is intended to bridge the gap until the full-text version is ready to use. For fuller description, read Resource Details. Can be included in the Cross Database Searchtool (http://clt.brepolis.net/cds/pages/Search.aspx)
Official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272-1307) through the reign of Henry VII (1485-1509)
The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272-1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485-1509). This edition reproduces the rolls in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, with a full translation from the three languages used by the medieval clerks (Latin, Anglo-Norman and Middle English).
Over 230 manuscripts of early modern women writers whose work only exists in manuscript form. [1500-1700]
Perdita means 'lost woman' and the quest of the Perdita Project (University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University) has been to find early modern women authors who were 'lost' because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The 230 entries from the project were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. One of the key attractions of Perdita Manuscripts is that it brings together little known material from widely scattered locations.