Skip to main content
America preserved: a checklist of historic buildings, structures, and sites recorded by the Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record. Indicates types of illustration and documentation included in records for historic buildings, neighborhoods, and sites, e.g., photogrammetric images, measured drawings, etc. California HABS information.
American architectural masterpieces: an anthology comprising masterpieces of architecture in the United States, American architecture of the twentieth Century. Includes black and white views, plans, elevations and details.
American architecture of the twentieth century: a series of photographs and measured drawings of modern, civic commercial and industrial buildings. Contains plans, elevations, details and views in oversized format.
An anthology of houses, edited and introduced by Monica Pidgeon and Theo Crosby. Contains 310 photos, plane & diagrams of 50 modernist houses.
Architectural details 2003 : annual selected edition from Detail review of architecture. Annual compilation of drawings from Detail magazine.
Architectural Records in the San Francisco Bay Area: A guide to research. California Cooperative Preservation of Architectural Records, Waverly B. Lowell, editor. For an inventory of the historic architectural records of the San Francisco Bay Area and their locations.
Architectural representation handbook : traditional and digital techniques for graphic communication / Paul Laseau. Architecture in detail series. Similar to the GA series, each monograph examines a contemporary building. See a
list of all books in the series.
The architecture of western gardens : a design history from the Renaissance to the present day. Architettura dei giardini d'Occidente. Edited by Monique Mosser and Georges Teyssot. (See also The History of Garden Design)
Blueprints: twenty-six extraordinary structures by Christopher Gray. Photographs and blueprints of 16 buildings and a few other structures. Scale not always apparent.
Building footprints: a selection of forty-five building plans, all drawn at the same scale. Ground floor plans of a variety of well-known structures in the world.
Building skeletons: an investigation of ten buildings. Drawings of structural systems for the Farnsworth House, Crown Hall, Richards Medical Research Building, Student Center MIT, Tiber Island Apartments, N.C. Mutual Insurance Building, Earth Sciences Building, Lever House, Pirelli Building and Chase Manhattan Bank.
Comparative analysis of 20th-century houses, by Hideaki Haraguchi. Axonometric drawings of important houses.
Contemporary masterworks, ed. by Colin Naylor. Contemporary arts series. Photographs, essays, bibliographies and occasionally plans for approximately 100 "classic" buildings. Separate sections for works of art, photography and design also included.
Details of modern architecture, by Edward R. Ford. Details for numerous buildings designed by Sullivan, Le Corbusier, Wright, Rudolph Schindler, etc.
Domus Map Guides - Included in Domus Magazine. These are thematic guides to architectural landmarks in selected locations.
Drawings of great buildings. Edited by Werner Blaser. Contains 180 orthogonal drawings showing plan and elevation combined with sections of great buildings in the history of architecture.
Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design. editor, Candice A. Shoemaker.
Encyclopedia of world architecture, by Henri Stierlin. Color photos of famous buildings with scaled sections, elevations, and plans primarily arranged by style and place.
GA document. Detailed drawings, scaled plans and photos of projects.
Global architecture. Outstanding visual documentation in oversized format for major modern and contemporary buildings. Indexed in Avery Index.
Global architecture detail. Comprehensive detail drawings in a large format for major contemporary buildings. Indexed in ARCH via Melvyl.
Great architecture of the world. John Julius Norwich, ed.
The Great buildings collection by Kevin Matthews.[CD-ROM]
Handy key to your "National Geographics". Subject and picture locator.
Historic American Buildings Survey; California (HABS) Reproductions of photographs and drawings of the Historic American Buildings Survey for California. Also available on microfiche, or search the HABS index. To search for HABS for other states in the catalogs do a title search for "Historic American Buildings Survey [state]". Copies of photos and drawings available from Library of Congress.
History of garden design, the western tradition from the Renaissance to the present day, ed. by Monique Mosser and Georges Teyssot. Over 600 illustrations, including many scaled plans.
Huellas de edificios; una coleccion de plantas de edificios dibujadas en la misma escala = building footprints; a selection on ground-plans drawn to the same scale, by Eduardo Sacriste. Footprints of historically significant buildings, excluding dwellings, drawn to a scale 1 cm-2m and reduced proportionally to 1:2. Plates identified and described in vol. 1.
Illustrated atlas of the world's great buildings: a history of world architecture from the classical perfection of the Parthenon to the breathtaking grandeur of the skyscraper. Each chapter covers a single building style with corresponding scale drawing.
Illustration index. 4th ed. By Marsha C. Appel.
Illustration index V, 1977-1981; Illustration index VI, 1982-1986 Illustration index VII, 1987-1991; Illustration index VIII, 1992-1996. By Marsha C. Appel.
Image-based research : a sourcebook for qualitative researchers. Edited by Jon Prosser.
In detail : single family houses : concepts, planning, construction. Edited by Christian Schittich; [translated from the German by Peter Green and Elizabeth Schwaiger].
Index to italian architecture: a guide to key monuments and reproduction sources. Compiled by Edward H. Teague. Provides citations to illustrations of approx 1,800 works of Italian architecture, planning and landscape sites. Includes works from most historical periods and styles.
Introduction to landscape architecture, by Michael Laurie.
Italian Renaissance: sixty measured drawings with details from the thirteenth to the sixteenth century. Oversized plates of details. Index to buildings in Vol. 1.
Key buildings of the twentieth century, by David Dunster. Photographs and plans of houses designed by famous architects.
Key monuments of the history of architecture, by Henry A. Millon. Black and white photos with scaled plans and sections for each building or site.
Landscape architecture: an illustrated history in timelines, site plans, and biography. William A. Mann. Black and white maps and scaled ground plans of some of the most important historical environmental design projects from prehistory to the 1970s.
Living in a dream: great residences of the world. Cut-away drawings, elevations, color photos, plans, drawings of 12 castles and palaces from all over the world. Scale not given.
National Register of Historic Places, California. Complete nominations including building and landscape plans. All nominations through December 1982 also available on microfiche.
Picture researcher's handbook : an international guide to picture sources and how to use them compiled by Hilary and Mary Evans.
Scale models : houses of the 20th century edited by Friedrich Kurrent
Single building series. Each monograph examines a contemporary building.
Source book of American architecture: 500 notable buildings from the 10th century to the present by G.E. Kidder Smith. Black & white photos, no plans.
Study-book of mediaeval architecture and art: being a series of working drawing of the principal monuments of the Middle Ages; whereof the plans, sections, and details are drawn to uniform scales, by Thomas H. King.
Various dwellings described in a comparative manner by Richard Saul Wurman. A collection of comparative descriptive drawings in perspective of thirty-five significant dwellings from around the world drawn to the scale of 1:384.
World architecture 1900-2000: a critical mosaic general editor, Kenneth Frampton. Organized by continent, includes plans and photos: v. 1. Canada and the United States; v. 2. Latin America; v. 3. Northern Europe, Central Europe and Western Europe; v. 4. Mediterranean Basin; v. 5. The Middle East; v. 6. Central and southern Africa; v. 7. Russia-USSR-CIS; v. 8. South Asia; v. 9. East Asia; v. 10. Southeast Asia and Oceania.
World architecture index: a guide to illustrations by Edward Teague. Comprehensive list of visual sources found in approx. 100 different books arranged by geographical location with indexes to architect or designer, and building or site name. Abbreviations refer to books in which illustrations appear. See abbreviations list and call numbers in front of volume.
World atlas of architecture. Pictorial history of architecture including color photographs, diagrams, orthogonal drawings, hypothetical reconstructions.