Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

The Bancroft Library Guide to Japanese American Internment, Relocation and Resettlement Records: Japanese American Internment Collections in Bancroft

A guide to the collections held at The Bancroft Library relating to Japanese American Interment during World War II

Navigation

To access the Library catalog record for the collection, click on the linked Call # provided. 

To access the finding aid/digital files for the collection, click on the linked Title.

To access digital files on Calisphere, click on the linked digital objects in Extend of collection.

Note: Not all the collections have digital files. Whole or parts of a collection may have been digitized. Links are provided as available. Searching Calisphere, the Online Archive of California, and the UC Berkeley Library Catalog OskiCat may yield additional results. 

Call # Title Extent of collection Description
BANC MSS 86/97 c Yoshiko Uchida papers, 1903-1994 (bulk 1942-1992) 68 boxes, 1 carton, 2 volumes, 2 oversize folders, 14 oversize boxes, 1 portfolio (32.linear feet) 433 digital objects Yoshiko Uchida was born in Alameda, California in 1921, the second daughter of Takashi ("Dwight") and Iku Umegaki Uchida. Dwight Uchida immigrated to the United States from Japan in 1903 and worked for the San Francisco offices of Mitsui and Company, where he eventually became a manager. Iku Umegaki, the eldest daughter of a prefectural governor of Japan, immigrated to the U.S. in 1916 to marry Dwight Uchida. Both were graduates of Doshisha University, one of the early Christian universities of Japan, and were early and active members of the Sycamore Congregational Church in El Cerrito, Calif.
BANC MSS 83/115 c Rosalie H. Wax Papers, 1943-1990 10 boxes (4.2 linear feet) 153 digital objects Consists chiefly of a 1981-1982 revision of her Tule Lake field notes, written for the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study in 1944-1945, while Wax was at the Relocation Center near Newell, Calif. The revision, funded by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation, includes a first and final draft, plus interviews conducted in 1981-1982 with former internees at Tule Lake, and longitudinal oral histories (Wax's term) created from the field notes and interviews. Additional material includes drafts of an unpublished book, articles and papers based on the revision, correspondence regarding the revision, and miscellaneous writings by internees and other researchers regarding the internment.
BANC MSS C-B 510 Robert Walker Kenny Papers, 1920-1947 41 boxes and 16 cartons, 6 digital objects Attorney General, January 1, 1943, to December 31, 1946, as reflected in this collection are: Kenny's interest in civil rights problems growing out of the return of Japanese evacuees to California. (Legislature. Senate. Fact-finding Committee on Japanese Resettlement,1 letter. 1943.) (Japanese American Citizens League 4 letters. 1946.)
BANC MSS 78/177 c Wayne M. Collins papers, 1918-1974 (bulk 1945-1960). 33 boxes, 4 cartons (18.75 linear ft.) 526 digital objects Consists of selected material remaining from Collins' San Francisco legal practice. Major portion of collection is devoted to his work as legal representative for the Tule Lake Defense Committee from 1945 to 1960. Includes correspondence, litigation documents for mass civil and equity suits filed for renunciants, individual case files, and financial files for the Committee's trust accounts. Also includes Collins' legal files representing his civil liberties and general law practice, including case files and other materials concerning East Indian deportation, Levering Act/Loyalty Oath controversy, estate files of Astaroth Haskell and Bruce Porter, and the Berkeley Free Speech Movement. Also includes a small amount of personal papers, including family correspondence, genealogical, other biographical materials, and ephemera.
BANC MSS 76/173 c Harry Lees Kingman papers (1921-1975) 8 boxes, 5 cartons (9.55 linear ft.) 5 digital objects Correspondence, manuscripts of writings and speeches, subject files, tear sheets and reprints of writings, and clippings, relating mainly to his long career as executive director of the University of California YMCA (Stiles Hall); work in China with the International Committee of the American YMCA, 1921-1927; loyalty oath controversy at the University of California; aid to Japanese-Americans during World War II; work as West Coast Director, FEPC, 1943-1945; formation with Mrs. Kingman of the Citizens' Lobby for Freedom and Fair Play, 1957; support of John F. Kennedy's presidential campaign, 1960.
BANC MSS C-R 1 Ralph W. Hollenberg collection of materials relating to the Farm Security Administration, Region IX, 1924-1949 (bulk 1938-1945). 9 cartons (11.25 linear ft.) 18 digital objects

Includes a few files containing reports, statements, talks, and press releases, with other printed material and clippings from 1942-1945, concerning the evacuation of Japanese Americans from the west coast during World War II.

BANC MSS C-A 171 Pacific Coast Committee on American Principles and Fair Play records, 1940-1951. 8 boxes, 5 cartons, 325 digital objects Materials relate to the evacuation, internment, and relocation of Japanese Americans during World War II. Correspondence includes requests for information from government agencies and officials, community groups, and private individuals. Committee records include in-house correspondence, memoranda, reports of activities, minutes of executive board meetings, financial records, and publications, including articles by Dr. Galen M. Fisher. Materials collected by the Committee for reference purposes include Japanese-American subject files relating to evacuation from the west coast, specific relocation centers, and resettlement legislative issues; War Relocation Authority files, including memoranda, reports, statements, press releases, and clippings which illustrate the committee's role in the interpretation and dissemination of government information; and, files for various organizations, which may include correspondence, minutes, reports, statements, and printed materials as well as clippings, all providing insight into the feelings of citizens connected to the situation.

f F870.J3 P2

Pamphlet boxes of materials on the Japanese in the United States during and after World War II. 1930-1946. 1 box, 37 digital objects 

Chiefly printed pamphlets.

CU-483.1 International House records concerning Japanese Americans evacuation and relocation, 1942-1947. 2 boxes, 15 digital objects  Contains files kept by the International House concerning Japanese American evacuation relocation activities at the University of California, Berkeley during and after World War II. Files contain mostly correspondence, much of it too and from the director of the International House during this time period, Allen C. Blaisdell. Also contains other related materials such as committee work and reports, clippings, etc.

 

Call # Title Extent of collection Description
BANC PIC 1942.008 Farm Security Administration photograph collection [graphic]. 8 boxes, 3 oversize boxes, and 1 oversize folder (ca. 960 photographic prints) and 71 negatives : gelatin silver prints ; chiefly 8 x 10 in. 2 digital objects Photographs document depression-era conditions in the American South, Midwest, Southwest, and California, including the impact of drought and the living conditions of agricultural laborers. Westward migration, migrant living conditions, strikes, FSA migratory labor camps in Arizona and California, Farm Associations, World War Two defense housing, and Mexican laborers. A few images of the Japanese American relocation during World War Two are also present.
BANC PIC 1951.005--B Library, Tanforan Assembly, 42 [graphic] 1 drawing, 1 digital object View of Tanforan Assembly Center library interior with readers seated at tables.
BANC PIC 1953.016--PIC Photographs from the Pacific Coast Committee on American Principles and Fair Play [graphic] 16 photographic prints : b&w ; 21 x 26 cm. or smaller. 16 digital objects Snapshots of groups and individuals, mainly Japanese American evacuees during World War II. Also includes views of housing facilities and trailers at Lomita[?] air strip, Mariposa, and/or El Segundo, California. One group portrait of Canal Christian Church members at Rivers, Arizona.
BANC PIC 1966.041--PIC Views of War Relocation Authority relocation camps for Japanese-Americans [graphic] 5 photographic prints and postcards : b&w ; various sizes. 4 digital objects Aerial views of vacant United States War Relocation Authority camps in Topaz, Utah, and Heart Mountain, Wyoming.
BANC PIC 1967.014

War Relocation Authority photographs [graphic]. : Japanese-American evacuation and resettlement.

Photographic prints: 38 boxes (ca. 5000 photographic prints), 5 oversize boxes (photographic prints) : b&w; various sizes. 5,850 digital objects Photographs document the evacuation of Japanese Americans and their life in various Relocation Camps across the United States. Post-war resettlement activities are also recorded.
BANC PIC 1973.049--B Hisako Hibi pictorial collection concerning the Tanforan Assembly Center and the Central Utah Relocation Center [graphic] 47 items (4 photographic prints, 25 relief prints, 18 drawings) 49 digital objects Includes watercolors, relief prints, etc. by Hisako Hibi, her husband Matsusaburo Hibi, and their child Ibuki.
BANC PIC 1979.003--PIC Tule Lake Relocation Center for Japanese Americans [graphic] / photographed by Raymond Okamura. 7 photographic prints : color ; 8 x 10 in. 7 digital objects Photos are of the remains of the camp, which was active during World War II.
BANC PIC 1979.071--PIC Drawings of the Tanforan Assembly Center [graphic] / by S.Y. Saito. 24 drawings : b&w ; 18 x 26 cm. and 16 x 21 cm. Includes two pages of annotations describing the views.
BANC PIC 1983.097--PIC Photographs of the Japanese-American evacuation from Berkeley, Calif. [graphic] 18 photographic prints. Photographs show Japanese-Americans waiting with luggage for transportation, people on busses, and similar scenes.
BANC PIC 1985.043--PIC Tule Lake Relocation Center views, Calif. [graphic] 43 photographic prints : b&w ; 21 x 26 cm. Collection contains photos of the Tule Lake Relocation Center, workers, farm labor, leisure activites, babies, nurses, the bank, library, barber, school, and social activites.
BANC PIC 1986.012--PIC Japanese American relocation center views [graphic] 45 items (photographic prints and photographs of drawings and clippings) : b&w ; various sizes. Photographs document the Japanese American evacuation of World War II and its effects. Shown are children and adults at various relocation centers throughout the west. Includes one view of Eleanor Roosevelt visiting the Gila River camp.
BANC PIC 1986.059--PIC Yoshiko Uchida photograph collection [graphic] 1 box (301 photographic prints and 15 slides), oversize folder(s) (11 items), and 80 negatives: chiefly b&w ; various sizes. Photographs related to the life and work of Japanese American author Yoshiko Uchida. Many family photographs are included dating from Uchida's youth, with some of her parents and grandparents prior to her birth. The majority of the collection consists of portraits and snapshots of the author herself, friends, associates, travels, and professional activities. Photographs relating to her career as a writer include publicity photographs, book signings, group portraits, schools and children. Some images are of Tanforan, Heart Mountain and Topaz Japanese relocation centers as well as Smith College.
BANC PIC 1987.070--A Photographs from the Yoshiaki Moriwaki family papers [graphic 80 photographic prints : b&w ; 20 x 25 cm. or smaller. Views include family pictures (birthday parties, baby pictures, etc.), pictures taken at Topaz Japanese Relocation Center in Utah, and pictures taken in Berkeley. One view shows Aki in uniform, others show the 442nd Combat Team in Europe during World War II. Some photos show the Isenberg family ranch in Los Altos, Calif. (Saku worked for this family).
BANC PIC 1988.027--PIC Mary A. Sears collection of photographs pertaining to the Agricultural Workers Health and Medical Association in California 1 box (ca. 315 photographic prints) : b&w ; various sizes + 50 p. typescript memoir. Photographs depict efforts of the Agricultural Workers Health and Medical Association in California, including health care facilities, medical staff, and patients. Many images document conditions at migratory labor camps at such California locations as Brawley, Porterville, Indio, Marysville, Shafter, Woodville, Visalia, as well as Yuma, Arizona and locations in other states. Also includes personal snapshots pertaining to Mary A. Sears' tenure as a nurse for the AWHMA. Includes two World War II-era letters to Sears from her friend Yoshi, a Japanese-American nurse, in part describing Yoshi's experiences as an internee in a relocation camp. Most photographs (folders 2-14) are loosely grouped and arranged to correspond with the narrative of Sears' memoir (folder 1). The memoir includes references to Tom Collins, to whom John Steinbeck dedicated a portion of Grapes of wrath. Two snapshots of Collins are present (folder 3).
BANC PIC 1988.078--C Pig pens at Heart Mountain Relocation Center [graphic] / painted by Estelle Ishigo 1 painting : watercolor ; 33 x 48 cm. Japanese American artist, internee at Heart Mountain, Wyoming, and author of Lone Heart Mountain. She is featured in the motion picture Days of waiting : the life and art of Estelle Ishigo, and is also mentioned in Beyond words : images from America's concentration camps, by Deborah Gesensway and Mindy Roseman. Some of her paintings are in the collections of the University of California at Los Angeles.
BANC PIC 1988.084--A Activities and entertainment at Heart Mountain Relocation Center 11 photographic prints Photos show a theatrical folklore performance (in costume), dancing, wrestling, games, working in the fields, a general view of the Japanese relocation center, outdoor scenes, etc.
BANC PIC 1990.053--PIC Views of Tule Lake Relocation Center [graphic] 28 photographic prints : b&w ; 21 x 29 cm. Photographed by Don Tateishi for the Historic American Buildings Survey.
BANC PIC 1990.079--PIC Photographs of Charles Kikuchi and family [graphic] 10 photographic prints : b&w ; 13 x 18 cm. or smaller. Collection contains photographs of Charles Kikuchi and family, and photographs of the Gila River Relocation Center where the family was interned.
BANC PIC 1992.056--B [2nd Annual YBA Conference at Tule Lake, California] [graphic] 1 photographic print : b&w ; 21 x 49 cm. Photograph depicts a group portrait of Japanese-Americans.
BANC PIC 1998.012--PIC Sharp Park Enemy Alien Detention Center views, Pacifica, Calif. [graphic] 39 photographic prints : b&w ; 20 x 25 cm. or smaller. Photographs of the Sharp Park facility show interiors and exteriors of buildings including mess halls, dormitories, recreation rooms, the library, etc. Some photographs show detainees and guards.
BANC PIC 2000.020--fALB Japanese American family photograph album from the World War Two era [graphic] 1 album (190 photographic prints and 4 postcards) : b&w ; album 26 x 34 cm. Snapshots of family life in San Francisco, during internment at Heart Mountain (Wyoming), and during the military service of a friend or family member. Many include an apparent young couple, Mitsi and Toshi. Chiefly snapshot portraits or group portraits, often with barracks of internment camps or army bases in the background. Some postcards and photographs from Europe are included, presumably from Toshi's tour of duty with the army.
BANC PIC 2003.031 Japanese-American youth photograph album [graphic]. 1 box (1 album and 3 folders, 57 photographic prints) and 1 negative : 5 x 7 in. or smaller. Includes snapshot and formal portraits of numerous young Japanese-American men and women taken during the mid-1940s to early 1950s. Some photographs were possibly taken in San Francisco and Sacramento. Others appear to have been taken in an unidentified World War II Japanese-American internment camp. Laid-in material inlcudes additional portraits, as well as earlier and later family photographs. Includes photographs of Jim Mametsuka.
BANC PIC 2003.111 Photographs of Japanese Americans in Los Angeles during the Second World War 22 photographic prints in 1 folder Professional photographs depicting various topics pertaining to the Japanese American community of Los Angeles in the early years of World War II: a father showing a portrait of his son, Frank Nakako, who was then serving in the US Army; headquarters of the Los Angeles chapter of the anti-Axis Japanese American Citizens' League; editor Shuji Fujii, his wife Kikue Fujii, and Goerge Matsui in the press room of Doho; Japanese-American students at UCLA; a sign on the front window of Yokohama Specie Bank, announcing the revocation of its business license; Japanese Americans buying war bonds; Nisei girls Red Cross unit; Japanese churches in Los Angeles; the family of farmer Fusataro Fujimoto selling produce prior to their evacuation; American Legion members Dr. T.Y. Takeyama and Masao Igasaki; and Tokutaro Nishimura Slocum at his home in Van Nuys.
BANC PIC 2010.014 Amy Kasai pictorial works depicting life in Japanese American internment camps [graphic]. 2 boxes (ca. 185 drawings, prints, paintings and photographic prints) : color and b&w ; 46 x 30 cm or smaller. Paintings, prints and drawings by Amy Kasai, documenting her experiences in Japanese-American internment camps during World War II. Works depict internees, camp grounds, and surrounding landscapes at the Fresno Assembly Center, Tule Lake Relocation Center, and Jerome Relocation Center (Arkansas). Also includes fine art works. Photographs depict Kasai, her family and other unidentified Japanese-Americans before, during and after internment. Also includes War Relocation Authority administrative manuals, reports, and other paperwork, as well as related papers, all of which may pertain to various duties performed by Kasai at the internment camps.
BANC PIC 2011.014 John Harvey Tolan photograph collection [graphic]. 6 boxes and 1 oversize folder (ca. 320 photographic prints) : 48 x 58 cm or smaller. Includes photographs documenting depression-era migrant workers camps and the relocation of Japanese-Americans during World War II. Photographs were commissioned by the Farm Security Administration, Federal Works Agency, U.S. Forest Service and other government agencies.
BANC PIC 2011.055 Snapshot albums of Japanese Americans in the 442nd Infantry during World War II [graphic]. 5 albums, 1 folder and 1 oversize folder (ca. 825 photographic prints) : b&w and color ; 23 x 30 cm or smaller. Snapshot photograph albums chiefly depicting Japanese-American soldiers of the 442nd Infantry's 100th Battalion during World War II. Photographs document the soldiers' leisure-time activities in various European cities (Milan, Rome, Capri, Pisa, Florence, Paris, Zurich, Schwabach) as well as New York, Hawaii and several California locations. Snapshots also depict the soldiers' European girlfriends and other acquaintances, U.S.O. showgirls, a U.S. cemetery in Florence, as well as commercial photographs of Italian female celebrities. Colonel Virgil R. Miller, the regimental commander of the 442nd Infantry, is depicted in at least one snapshot. Albums also include portraits and additional snapshots of numerous Japanese-American friends and relatives in the United States, chiefly from California. A few photographs were taken at the Gila Relocation Camp in Arizona and possibly other relocation centers. Also includes a panoramic group portrait of Japanese-American soldiers at Camp Blanding, Fla. Tots Kanada and Aki Kanada are depicted in snapshots throughout the albums.
Call # Title Extent of collection Description
G4272.M56E68 1942 .U5 Schools, stores & staff housing : Minidoka War Relocation Center. 2 maps Shows locations and dimensions of buildings (schools, administration buildings, staff housing, sewage disposal, water tower, etc.) and drainage at Minidoka War Relocation Center (now Minidoka Internment National Monument) in Jerome County, Idaho.
G4361.E1 1942 .C3 [Collection of maps on the pre-evacuation locations of Japanese Americans in California / prepared under the direction of Earl Warren, State Attorney General] 310 maps Correspondence, reports, etc., prepared under the direction of California State Attorney General Earl Warren, including lists of persons of Japanese ancestry and property holdings in various California cities and counties.
G4362.M318E63 1942 .U5 Recreation layout : Manzanar, California. 1 map : photocopy ; 70 x 80 cm Shows locations and dimensions of school buildings and recreational facilities (basketball, volleyball, and tennis courts, baseball and softball diamonds, football fields, running tracks, etc.) at Manzanar War Relocation Center (now Manzanar National Historic Site) in Owens Valley, California.