It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
Dictionary of art. Jane Turner, ed. NY: Grove, 1996. Not a dictionary, in spite of its name. Includes excellent articles on landscape topics. Bibliographies & illustrations. Available online as Grove art online.
Dictionary of gardening. Anthony Huxley, ed. in chief; Mark Griffiths, ed. 4 vols. NY: Stockton Press, 1992.
Includes plant descriptions, plant science, garden history, horticultural science, gardening techniques, biographies.
Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design. Chicago Botanic Garden. Candice A. Shoemaker, ed. 3 volumes. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001--. Excellent source for landscape design history. Substantive signed articles are illustrated and each includes a brief bibliography. Chronologies of of selected projects are given for landscape designers.
The Oxford companion to the garden. Patrick Taylor, ed. NY: Oxford Univ. Pr., 2006. Online table of contents. A one-volume encyclopedia of short authoritative articles on notable gardens, landscape designers, garden features, etc. New ed. of the classic The Oxford companion to gardens. Selectively illustrated. Bibliography: pp.531-538.
A community-contributed database of high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. (JSTOR Plant Science)
Global Plants is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Through Global Plants, herbaria can share specimens, experts can determine and update naming structures, students can discover and learn about plants in context, and a record of plant life can be preserved for future generations. Primary source content highlights include Carl Linneaus's annotated editions of Species Naturae and correspondence from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; and foundational reference works and books such as The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa, Flowering Plants of South Africa, and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, bibliographical references and links to images. (Part of the Oxford Art Online suite.)
The Hillier gardener's guide to trees & shrubs: a directory of more than 4,000 high-performance trees and shrubs for the garden, John Kelly, ed.; John Hillier, consultant ed. North American ed. Pleasantville, NY: Reader's Digest Association, [1997?]
Each listing describes the plants growth habit. The color photos are excellent; however, not all cultivars listed are illustrated. Has a greater range of plants than Dirr's Hardy Trees and Shrubs, although Dirr's photos are generally better at giving a sense of the plant form.