It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Arte Público Press, in Houston, Texas, is the largest US publisher of contemporary and recovered literature by US Hispanic authors, part of the University of Houston.
Online Archive of California (OAC)Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
CalisphereDigitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States by Nicolas KanellosThis book promises to be a very useful reference work, covering material that has heretofore been hard to find. . . . . useful in academic libraries and large public libraries. Reference Books Bulletin This dictionary provides an exhaustive reference guide to representative figures in Hispanic literature within the geographic, political, and cultural boundaries of the United States. While concentrating on contemporary writers who have made or promise to make a lasting contribution to multiethnic letters in this country, it is designed to make accessible to the English-language reader a literary world that has until now been articulated primarily in Spanish. Focusing mainly on Puerto Rican and Cuban writers, each entry summarizes the importance of the subject and indicates the literary genres and themes cultivated. There is a brief biography of each author, an analysis of major works and themes, and a survey of the criticism of the author's works. The first and most comprehensive volume on the subject, this extraordinarily detailed sourcebook is a compilation of bio-bibliographical essays on leading Hispanic novelists, poets, and dramatists, and includes secondary bibliographies for each entry as well as a general bibliography on Hispanic literature. Especially highlighted are such authors as Nuyorican Miguel Pinero, winner of the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best American Play; Chilean novelist, critic, and editor Fernando Alegria; the Cuban-American chronicler of life in Miami's exile community, Roberto Fernandez, and others. Kanellos' work answers a definite need for comprehensive biographical and critical information on these writers, and it will be a significant addition to academic and public libraries, and to research in Spanish, English, bilingual education, and ethnic studies.
Publication Date: 1989-09-26
Chicana/o and Latina/o Fiction by Ylce IrizarryIn this new study, Ylce Irizarry moves beyond literature that prioritizes assimilation to examine how contemporary fiction depicts being Cuban, Dominican, Mexican, or Puerto Rican within Chicana/o and Latina/o America. Irizarry establishes four dominant categories of narrative--loss, reclamation, fracture, and new memory--that address immigration, gender and sexuality, cultural nationalisms, and neocolonialism. As she shows, narrative concerns have moved away from the weathered notions of arrival and assimilation. Contemporary Chicana/o and Latina/o literatures instead tell stories that have little, if anything, to do with integration into the Anglo-American world. The result is the creation of new memory. This reformulation of cultural membership unmasks the neocolonial story and charts the conscious engagement of cultural memory. It outlines the ways contemporary Chicana/o and Latina/o communities create belonging and memory of their ethnic origins.An engaging contribution to an important literary tradition, Chicana/o and Latina/o Fiction privileges the stories Chicanas/os and Latinas/os remember about themselves rather than the stories of those subjugating them.
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
George Washington Gómez by Americo ParédesFiction. "An absorbing, heart-rending story told with sensitivity and wisdom.this book deserves a wide readership not only for its artistry but also for its subject matter" -Beaumont Enterprise.
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Hispanic American Firsts by Nicolas KanellosThis collection of the most significant firsts achieved by Hispanics, from pre-Columbian times to the present, features more than 1500 instances ranging from science to education to sports and entertainment. Each entry describes the achievement, summarizes its context and refers to further sources of study. The areas covered include: arts and entertainment; business; civil rights and protest; education; government; literature; organizations; religion; science and medicine; and sports
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Hispanic Caribbean Literature of Migration by Vanessa Pérez Rosario (Editor)This collection explores the literary tradition of Caribbean Latino literature written in the U.S. beginning with José Martí and concluding with 2008 Pulitzer Prize winning novelist, Junot Díaz. The contributors consider the way that spatial migration in literature serves as a metaphor for gender, sexuality, racial, identity, linguistic, and national migrations.
Publication Date: 2010-07-21
Hispanic Immigrant Literature by Nicolas KanellosImmigration has been one of the basic realities of life for Latino communities in the United States since the nineteenth century. It is one of the most important themes in Hispanic literature, and it has given rise to a specific type of literature while also defining what it means to be Hispanic in the United States. Immigrant literature uses predominantly the language of the homeland; it serves a population united by that language, irrespective of national origin; and it solidifies and furthers national identity. The literature of immigration reflects the reasons for emigrating, records--both orally and in writing--the trials and tribulations of immigration, and facilitates adjustment to the new society while maintaining links with the old society. Based on an archive assembled over the past two decades by author Nicol#65533;s Kanellos's Recovering the U. S. Hispanic Literary Heritage project, this comprehensive study is one of the first to define this body of work. Written and recorded by people from Mexico, Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America, the texts presented here reflect the dualities that have characterized the Hispanic immigrant experience in the United States since the mid-nineteenth century, set always against a longing for homeland.
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Hispanic Literature of the United States by Nicolas KanellosProviding a detailed historical overview of Hispanic literature in the United States from the Spanish colonial period to the present, this extensive chronology provides the context within which such writers as Sandra Cisneros, Rodolfo Anaya, and Oscar Hijuelos have worked. Hispanic literature in the United States is covered from the Spanish colonial period to the present. A detailed historical overview and a separate survey of Hispanic drama provide researchers and general readers with indispensable information and insight into Hispanic literature. An extensive chronology traces the development of Hispanic literature and culture in the United States from 1492 to 2002, providing the context within which such Hispanic writers such as Sandra Cisneros, Rodolfo Anaya, and Oscar Hijuelos have worked. Topics include an overview and chronology of Hispanic literature in the United States, a who's who of Hispanic authors, significant trends, movements, and themes, publishing trends, an overview of Hispanic drama, adn the 100 essential Hispanic literary works. Biographical entries describe the careers, importance, and major works of notable Hispanic novelists, poets, and playwrights writing in English or Spanish. A comprehensive, up-to-date bibliography lists primary sources. Essays detail the most important past and current trends in Hispanic literature, including bilingualism, Chicano literature, children's literature, exile literature, folklore, immigrant literature, Nuyorican literature, poetry, and women and feminism in Hispanic literature. More than 100 exceptional illustrations of writers, plays in performance, and first editions of important works are included.
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
Lucas Guevara by Alirio D. GuerraFiction. Latino/Latina Studies. Text in Spanish. Facsimile edition with illustrations. Lucas Guevara is the first Spanish-language novel of immigration to the United States. Published in the United States in 1914 by Colombian emigre Diaz Guerra, the novel establishes the structure and formula that numerous other Spanish-language narratives produced in this country would take up over the course of the twentieth century. The introduction by Nicolas Kanellos and Irma Liz Hernandez trace the author's development as a writer and present Lucas Guevara in the context of Hispanic history and immigrant literature.
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Mexicans in the Making of America by Neil FoleyAccording to census projections, by 2050 nearly one in three U.S. residents will be Latino, and the overwhelming majority of these will be of Mexican descent. This dramatic demographic shift is reshaping politics, culture, and fundamental ideas about American identity. Neil Foley, a leading Mexican American historian, offers a sweeping view of the evolution of Mexican America, from a colonial outpost on Mexico's northern frontier to a twenty-first-century people integral to the nation they have helped build. Mexicans have lived in and migrated to the American West and Southwest for centuries. When the United States annexed those territories following the Mexican-American War in 1848, the unequal destinies of the two nations were sealed. Despite their well-established presence in farm fields, workshops, and military service, Mexicans in America have long been regarded as aliens and outsiders. Xenophobic fantasies of a tidal wave of Mexicans overrunning the borders and transforming "real America" beyond recognition have inspired measures ranging from Operation Wetback in the 1950s to Arizona's draconian SB 1070 anti-immigration law and the 700-mile security fence under construction along the U.S.-Mexican border today. Yet the cultural, linguistic, and economic ties that bind Mexico to the United States continue to grow. Mexicans in the Making of America demonstrates that America has always been a composite of racially blended peoples, never a purely white Anglo-Protestant nation. The struggle of Latinos to gain full citizenship bears witness to the continual remaking of American culture into something more democratic, egalitarian, and truer to its multiracial and multiethnic origins.
Publication Date: 2014-10-06
Occupied America by Rodolfo AcunaOccupied America was the first textbook to be published for the growing number of Chicano History courses developing across the country and remains the bestseller. The Fourth Edition has been completely updated, containing a significant amount of new material on Mexican American history. In addition, the Fourth Edition contains a new introductory chapter, Not Just pyramids, Explorers, and Heroes, that includes the period before 1821. The Fourth Edition also looks at the question of gender and includes the role of gender throughout. Finally, a vast amount of new and updated sources have been added. Acuna's reputation as a radical and important voice of Chicano History has only increased since the first edition was published. The changes in the Fourth Edition make this edition of Occupied America the most comprehensive one yet.
Publication Date: 1999-12-22
Song of the Simple Truth by Julia De Burgos; Jack Agüeros (Translator)Song of the Simple Truth (Canción de la verdad sencilla) is the first bilingual edition of Julia de Burgos' complete poems. Numbering more than 200, these poems form a literary landmark--the first time her poems have appeared in a complete edition in either English or Spanish. Many of the verses presented here had been lost and are presented here for the first time in print. De Burgos broke new ground in her poetry by fusing a romantic temperament with keen political insights. This book will be essential reading for lovers of poetry and for feminists.
A Stab in the Dark by Facundo Bernal; Yxta Maya Murray (Foreword by); Anthony Seidman (Translator)Facundo Bernal's A Stab in the Dark (Palos de ciego) is a poetic chronicle of the struggles and joys of the Spanish-speaking community in Los Angeles and in the burgeoning border town of Mexicali during the early 1920s. Sharply satirical yet deeply empathetic, Bernal's poems are both a landmark of Chicano literature and a captivating read. Anthony Seidman's energetic translation -- the first into English -- preserves the prickly feel of Bernal's classic, down to the last stab.This edition also features the original Spanish text, an introduction by the prominent Mexicali writer Gabriel Trujillo Muñoz, an additional introduction by critic Josh Kun, and a foreword by writer and lawyer Yxta Maya Murray.
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
¡Chicana Power! by Maylei BlackwellThe first book-length study of women?s involvement in the Chicano Movement of the late 1960s and 1970s, ¡Chicana Power! tells the powerful story of the emergence of Chicana feminism within student and community-based organizations throughout southern California and the Southwest. As Chicanos engaged in widespread protest in their struggle for social justice, civil rights, and self-determination, women in el movimiento became increasingly militant about the gap between the rhetoric of equality and the organizational culture that suppressed women?s leadership and subjected women to chauvinism, discrimination, and sexual harassment. Based on rich oral histories and extensive archival research, Maylei Blackwell analyzes the struggles over gender and sexuality within the Chicano Movement and illustrates how those struggles produced new forms of racial consciousness, gender awareness, and political identities. ¡Chicana Power! provides a critical genealogy of pioneering Chicana activist and theorist Anna NietoGomez and the Hijas de Cuauhtémoc, one of the first Latina feminist organizations, who together with other Chicana activists forged an autonomous space for women?s political participation and challenged the gendered confines of Chicano nationalism in the movement and in the formation of the field of Chicana studies. She uncovers the multifaceted vision of liberation that continues to reverberate today as contemporary activists, artists, and intellectuals, both grassroots and academic, struggle for, revise, and rework the political legacy of Chicana feminism.
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Recommended Databases (E-books and others)
Chicano DatabaseIndex of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
DigitaliaCollection of Spanish and Catalan e-books published in Latin America and Spain. (Digitalia Hispanica)
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH)Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Titles include: the History of Dispute series, Encyclopedia of Modern China, Encyclopedia of Religion, the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography and many more resources. (Formerly titled Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]
JSTORFull-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Literature Resources from GaleFull-text articles from scholarly journals as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Search across several Gale literature resources including LitFinder, Literature Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writer Series and Twayne's Author Series.
MLA International BibliographyIndexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Project MUSESeveral hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Ebook CentralEbook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
Doscientos Años de Narrativa Mexicana Siglo Xx, Volumen Ii by Rafael Olea FrancoLa serie de Doscientos a os de narrativa mexicana, cuyo t tulo rinde homenaje al libro pionero de Mariano Azuela Cien a os de novela mexicana (1947), pretende ofrecer visiones generales sobre algunos de los escritores que, en el mbito narrativo, han marcado viarias de las tendencias m s trascendentes en nuestros dos siglos como naci n aut noma. El segundo volumen, dedicado al siglo XX, contiene veintid s ensayos.Este di logo contribuir cr ticamente a la conmemoraci n de los doscientos a os de vida independiente de nuestro pa s y del primer siglo de la Revoluci n Mexicana.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by Nicolas Kanellos (Editor)From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic. Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on writers, such as Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Oscar Hijuelos, and Piri Thomas, others cover genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines. Special attention is given to the cultural, political, social, and historical contexts in which Latino literature has developed. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. The encyclopedia gives special attention to the social, cultural, historical, and political contexts of Latino literature, thus making it an ideal tool to help students use literature to learn about history and cultural diversity. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on individual writers, others cover themes, concepts, genres, historical events and topics, movements, associations and organizations, ethnic and national literatures, and publishers and magazines.
Publication Date: 2008-08-30
Hispanic Periodicals in the United States, Origins To 1960 by Nicolás Kanellos; Helvetica MartellBy all accounts, the most important document for studying history, literature, and culture of Hispanics in the United States has been Spanish-language newspapers. Now, a noted cultural historian and a respected indexer-bibliographer have teamed up to provide the first comprehensive and authoritative source on the production, worldview, and distribution of these periodicals. This useful compendium includes richly annotated entries, notes, and three indexes: by subject, by date, and by geography. The bibliography includes some 1,700 entries in standard bibliographic annotation
Publication Date: 2000-09-30
The Hispanic-American Almanac by Nicolás Kannellos"The editors have taken a series of complex issues and presented them in a readable, interesting book that students might actually read!" New Edition This updated source describes all major aspects of the culture and civilization of Hispanic Americans living in the United States. Chapters cover such topics as: -- Spanish explorers and colonizers -- Significant documents -- Historic landmarks -- Labor and employment -- Women -- Religion -- Literature -- Art -- Military -- Business -- Race -- Prominent Hispanics -- And more The format of each chapter varies, based on the subject being discussed. Overall, the text is narrative, augmented by approximately 450 photographs, maps and charts. A bibliography has been included at the end of each chapter to facilitate further research. Features of the Almanac include a glossary and a keyword index.