It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Limit by library location, date, language, publication format, etc.
See item availability
Find course reserve material (by course or instructor)
Save and email search results
View items checked up and renew items online
Request items checked out
Melvyl: locate materials at Berkeley and other campuses in the UC system.
Search for materials at all the UC libraries
Click REQUEST in the detailed view of a catalog record prompt you to fill out a form to request the item through our Interlibrary Loan office.
Automatically format citations for your bibliography
Export citations to EndNote or RefWorks
Interlibrary Borrowing: Berkeley students are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States.Check OskiCat to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series. More on interlibrary borrowing
The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. For more, consult the Finding eBooks at Berkeleyguide.
Provides searchable electronic texts in cognitive and brain sciences. Contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals.
(ebooks from major university presses including books on education)
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. (These e-books are also listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.)
Civil Rights, Culture Wars: the fight over a Mississippi textbook by Charles W. EaglesJust as Mississippi whites in the 1950s and 1960s had fought to maintain school segregation, they battled in the 1970s to control the school curriculum. Educators faced a crucial choice between continuing to teach a white supremacist view of history or offering students a more enlightened multiracial view of their state's past. In 1974, when Random House's Pantheon Books published Mississippi: Conflict and Change (written and edited by James W. Loewen and Charles Sallis), the defenders of the traditional interpretation struck back at the innovative textbook. Intolerant of its inclusion of African Americans, Native Americans, women, workers, and subjects like poverty, white terrorism, and corruption, the state textbook commission rejected the book, and its action prompted Loewen and Sallis to join others in a federal lawsuit (Loewen v. Turnipseed) challenging the book ban. Charles W. Eagles explores the story of the controversial ninth-grade history textbook and the court case that allowed its adoption with state funds. Mississippi: Conflict and Change and the struggle for its acceptance deepen our understanding both of civil rights activism in the movement's last days and of an early controversy in the culture wars that persist today.
Deconstructing Race: Multicultural Education Beyond the Color-Bind by Jabari MahiriMahiri argues that multicultural education needs to move beyond racial categories defined by the social, political, and economic forces of white supremacy. Exploring contemporary and historical scholarship on race, the emergence of multiculturalism, and the rise of the digital age, Deconstructing Race investigates micro-cultural practices and provides a framework for understanding the diversity of individuals and groups.
Urban Teaching: the essentials by Lois Weiner; Daniel JeromeThis significantly revised edition will help prospective and new city teachers navigate the realities of city teaching. Now the classic introduction to urban teaching, this book explains how global, national, state, and local reforms have impacted what teachers need to know to not only survive but to do their jobs well. The Third Edition melds new insights and perspectives from Daniel Jerome--New York City teacher, social justice activist, and parent of color-- with what Lois Weiner, a seasoned teacher educator has learned from research and decades of experience working with city teachers and students in a variety of settings. Together, the authors explore how successful teachers deal with the complexity, difficulty, and rewarding challenges of teaching in today's city schools.