Skip to main content

MCB 160L: Neurobiology Laboratory: Writing and citing with RefWorks

Inserting and formatting citations and bibliographies

Most citation managers work with word processing programs to enable you to quickly insert and format in-text citations and bibliographies while writing a paper. RefWorks can be used with bDrive/Google Docs and Microsoft Word.

Using RefWorks with Google Docs

Installing the Google Docs Add-on for RefWorks

  1. Sign in to your Proquest RefWorks account
  2. Click on the Tools icon and then on Tools
  3. Scroll down to Cite in Google Docs
  4. Click Get the Add-on
  5. Click on the Add button ("+ Free") to install the add-on
  6. Accept the list of conditions by clicking Allow

Using the RefWorks Google Docs Add-on

  1. Open a new Google Doc or an existing Google Doc to which you want to add references
  2. Start writing and place the cursor at the point at which you would like to add an in-text citation,
  3. Go to Add-ons > Proquest RefWorks > Manage citations
  4. A RefWorks sidebar should appear that contains all your references. (If you are not already signed into RefWorks you will be prompted to do so.) You can click on the downward arrow next to All references to select a specific RefWorks folder, or Search for a specific reference in your RefWorks collection.
  5. When you locate the citation you'd like to insert, mouse over the reference. You should see two buttons: Cite this and Edit and cite.
  • Clicking Edit and cite shows a preview of the in-text and reference list citations. Clicking change next to Current citation style allows you to select or search for a different style and globally reformat all citations in the paper. Clicking Insert adds the in-text and reference list citations to the paper.
  • Clicking Cite this automatically inserts the in-text and reference list citations in the currently selected style.
  • Note: It is always important to check the correctness of any automatically-generated citation.

Using RefWorks with MS Word

Installing Write-N-Cite for Word for Windows

  • Note: Users of Word for Mac 2016 will need to download RefWorks Citation Manager as an add-in from the Microsoft Store.
  • Note: Write-N-Cite will not work with Office 365 users using the cloud-based app.  Word must be installed locally.
  1. Sign in to your Proquest RefWorks account
  2. Click on the Tools icon and then on Tools
  3. Scroll down to Cite in Microsoft Word
  4. Click Download & install for your version of Word (32- or 64-bit)
    • To determine which version you are running, open Word and go to File > Account > About Word. Be sure to close Word before attempting to install Write-N-Cite.
  5. Close Word if it is open, and then open and run the .exe file downloaded to your computer to install Write-N-Cite.

Using Write-N-Cite with Word

  1. Sign in to your Proquest RefWorks account.
  2. Click Create Bibliography, search for your desired style, and select it.
  3. Open a new Word document or existing Word document to which you want to add references.
  4. Click on the RefWorks tab in the Word ribbon and click Log In. If offered a choice, select New RefWorks (blue logo)
    • Note: To log in and sync (see step 5) for the first time you must be connected to the internet.
  5. In the Extras panel click Sync My Database, so that the references and citation styles available match your current RefWorks collection.
  6. In the Citation and Bibliography panel select the desired Style for your citations using the drop-down menu. The style you selected in RefWorks in step 2 should be the first entry in the menu.
  7. Start writing and place the cursor at the point at which you would like to add an in-text citation.
  8. In the Citation and Bibliography panel click Insert Citation > Insert new. (After you have inserted a citation it will become available in the menu for re-selection.)
  9. Select the folder containing your desired reference, or search for a specific reference.
  10. Select the reference and click OK. An in-text citation should be added to your document.
  11. To create a bibliography, in the Citation and Bibliography panel click Bibliography Options > Insert Bibliography. A reference list formatted in your chosen style should appear at the end of the paper.
    • Note: It is always important to check the correctness of any automatically-generated citation.
Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.