It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
An Introduction to Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy by Ramanathan Srinivasan; Fathima FasminThis book covers the fundamental aspects and the application of electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS), with emphasis on a step-by-step procedure for mechanistic analysis of data. It enables the reader to learn the EIS technique, correctly acquire data from a system of interest, and effectively interpret the same. Detailed illustrations of how to validate the impedance spectra, use equivalent circuit analysis, and identify the reaction mechanism from the impedance spectra are given, supported by derivations and examples. MATLAB® programs for generating EIS data under various conditions are provided along with free online video lectures to enable easier learning. Features: Covers experimental details and nuances, data validation method, and two types of analysis - using circuit analogy and mechanistic analysis Details observations such as inductive loops and negative resistances Includes a dedicated chapter on an emerging technique (Nonlinear EIS), including code in the supplementary material illustrating simulations Discusses diffusion, constant phase element, porous electrodes, and films Contains exercise problems, MATLAB codes, PPT slide, and illustrative examples This book is aimed at senior undergraduates and advanced graduates in chemical engineering, analytical chemistry, electrochemistry, and spectroscopy.
Chalcogenide by Abhay Kumar Singh; Tien-Chien JenThis is introductory book for researchers, scientists and students in the area of organic and inorganic composite materials. This book has addressed timely the innovative topic "chalcogenide-multiwalled carbon nanotubes and chalcogenide-bilayer graphene" composite materials under a glassy regime. This book will give a clear idea on the concepts of the newly established composite materials area, by providing interpretations of inside physio-chemical mechanism. The remarkable landmark innovations related to this newly introduced research field are included in this book. Additionally, the possible futuristic applications in the area of nanoelectronics, optoelectronics, biomedical etc are also addressed.
Methodologies in Amine Synthesis by Alfredo Ricci (Editor); Luca Bernardi (Editor)Discover a comprehensive overview of efficient synthetic routes to an important compound class in organic and pharmaceutical chemistry Methodologies in Amine Synthesis: Challenges and Applications delivers powerful and state-of-the-art methods for the efficient preparation of amines. The text summarizes recent advances in the electrophilic amination reaction, hydroamination, C-H amination and newly developed photocatalytic approaches. The distinguished editor has included resources that discuss organocatalytic and enzymatic routes to the generation of amines under mild and environmentally friendly conditions. The book also highlights the relevance of the amino function in bioactive molecules, drugs, and smart materials, as well as the palladium-catalyzed aromatic amination reaction. It presents efficient and practical synthetic methods, highlights the opportunities and challenges associated with each, and discusses their possible applications in pharmaceutical chemistry and materials science. Edited by the expert who wrote Modern Amination Methods and Amino Group Chemistry, the book includes a breadth and depth of material essential to the practice of academic and industrial chemists working in organic synthesis and catalysis. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to new openings and perspectives in the electrophilic amination Discussions of asymmetric catalysed hydroaminomethylation and amino organocatalysis A treatment of the synthetic application of transaminase or MAO biocatalysis to the synthesis of amines An exploration of recent developments in C-H amination, as well as photocatalytic approaches to the synthesis of amines An examination of primary amines from renewable bio-based resources Perfect for organic, natural product, catalytic, medicinal, and polymer chemists, Methodologies in Amine Synthesis: Challenges and Applications will also earn a place in the libraries of materials scientists and chemists working with organometallics who desire a one-stop reference edited by a well-known expert in the field.
Copper in N-Heterocyclic Chemistry by Ananya Srivastava (Editor)Copper in N-Heterocyclic Chemistry provides an overview of copper-catalyzed synthesis and functionalization of N-heterocyclic compounds, covering all recent developments in a way that is ideal for researchers and students working in the area of synthetic organic chemistry and medicinal chemistry. The book explores N-heterocyclic compounds as unique structural units in the development of natural products and pharmaceuticals, along with the remarkable progress made in the area of high atom economic strategies, and more recently, copper-catalyzed C-H activation and its applications in organic synthesis. Readers will find troubleshooting protocols, as well as the advantages and limitations of each method discussed. As copper catalysts show versatile chemical reactivity in many aspects, including their oxidation states 0-3 are accessible and their ability to facilitate bond formations due to their ability to serve as Lewis acids, oxidizing agents and catalysts, this book is an ideal resource on the topics explored.
Structure and Concentration of Point Defects in Selected Spinels and Simple Oxides by Andrzej Stokłosa; Stefan S. KurekStructure and Concentration of Point Defects in Selected Spinels and Simple Oxides presents diagrams and numerical data of important properties of spinels and oxides based on experimental results published in the literature. The values of many parameters presented can be used for optimization of preparation of new systems, to predict the practical properties of these systems. Applications include electronic devices, new metallic alloys with improved corrosion resistance, new ceramic materials, and novel catalysts, particularly for oxygen evolution and reduction reactions. Organized into four comprehensive parts, the authors present the problem of the structure and concentration of ionic and electronic defects in magnetite and hausmannite, pure and doped with M3+ cations, and in spinels exhibiting magnetic properties and high electric conductance. Additional Features include: Includes 236 figures presenting equilibrium diagrams of point defects and other useful details related to stoichiometric and nonstoichiometric spinels and oxides. Details novel methods of calculation of equilibria involving point defects. Collects scattered data published in nearly 500 original articles since the 1950s on spinels and oxides in one useful volume. Building upon the data presented, this book is an indispensable reference for material scientists and engineers developing new metal or oxide-based systems can easily calculate other useful parameters and compare the properties of different materials to select the best candidates for an intended use.
Titanium Dioxide (TiO2) and Its Applications by Francesco Parrino (Editor); Leonardo Palmisano (Editor); Ghenadii Korotcenkov (Series edited by)Scientific interest in TiO2-based materials has exponentially grown in the last few decades. Titanium Dioxide (TiO2) and Its Applications introduces the main physicochemical properties of TiO2which are the basis of its applications in various fields. While the basic principles of the TiO2properties have been the subject of various previous publications, this book is mainly devoted to TiO2 applications. The book includes contributions written by experts from a wide range of disciplines in order to address titanium dioxide's utilization in energy, consumer, materials, devices, and catalytic applications. The various applications identified include: photocatalysis, catalysis, optics, electronics, energy storage and production, ceramics, pigments, cosmetics, sensors, and heat transfer. Titanium Dioxide (TiO2) and Its Applications is suitable for a wide readership in the disciplines of materials science, chemistry, and engineering in both academia and industry. Includes a wide range of current and emerging applications of titanium dioxide in the fields of energy, consumer applications, materials, and devices Provides a brief overview of titanium dioxide and its properties, as well as techniques to design, deposit, and study the material Discusses the relevant properties, preparation methods, and other apposite considerations in each application-focused chapter
Liquid Biphasic System by Pau Loke Show; Sze Ying Lee; Kit Wayne ChewDownstream bioprocesses have a significant role to play in the creation of a sustainable biobased economy, enabling the creation of new products and systems from the more sustainable bioprocessing of natural products. Liquid Biphasic System: Fundamentals and Applications in Bioseparation Technology explores in detail the fundamental processes and applications of this new separation system, aiding in the understanding of the basic principles of the technique and offering constructive criticisms of the latest findings. Including coverage of the background, principles, mechanisms, and applications, Liquid Biphasic System addresses how to adapt the technology for the purification of useful compounds with greater cost efficiency and greener processing. It is essential reading for bioprocess engineers, biochemical engineers, biosystem engineers, chemists, and microbiologists working in the fields of bioprocessing. Researchers, scientists, and engineers concerned with the selection and evaluation of alternative bioseparation processes will find the book particularly useful.
Biotechnical Processing in the Food Industry by Deepak Kumar Verma (Editor); Ami R. Patel (Editor); Kawaljit Singh Sandhu (Editor); Ashish Baldi (Editor); Sandra Garcia (Editor)This new book, Biotechnical Processing in the Food Industry: New Methods, Techniques, and Applications, explores several newly emerged techniques and technologies that have significantly changed the scenario of the dairy and food sector by making the processes more stable and more economically viable. Worldwide adoption of these novel technologies will also, the editors believe, provide benefit to consumers in terms of enhanced food safety labeling, nutritional security, and value-added products at reasonable cost. Divided into three main parts, the book looks at technological trends and advances in dairy research and industry, emerging technological developments, and potential advanced research in the food, health and processing industry.
Applied Biopolymer Technology and Bioplastics by Neha Kanwar Rawat (Editor); Tatiana G. Volova (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor)With growing concern for the environment and the rising price of crude oil, there is increasing demand for non-petroleum-based polymers from renewable resources. Recognizing emerging developments in biopolymer systems research, this book brings together a number of key biopolymer and bioplastic topics in one place. The book highlights the importance and impact of eco-friendly green biopolymers and bioplastics, both environmentally and economically. It provides important insight into the diversity of polymers obtained directly from, or derived from, renewable resources. This volume, Applied Biopolymer Technology and Bioplastics: Sustainable Development by Green Engineering Materials, will be valuable for a broad audience of engineers and scientists, especially those designing with biopolymers and biodegradable plastics, or evaluating the options for switching from traditional plastics to biopolymers. The content of this book will prove useful for students, researchers, and professionals working in the field of green technology.
Bioprocessing of Biofuels by Prakash Kumar Sarangi; Sonil NandaThe major issues relating to environmental sustainability such as a heavy dependency on fossil fuels, increased greenhouse gas emissions, pollution, global warming and climate change have prompted many efforts around the globe to seek alternative energy sources that have negligible environmental impacts and societal benefits. There is an immense interest in biofuels research throughout the world owing to its massive potential to address environmental concerns. Biofuels have the capacity to supplement current and future energy demands through being blended with fossil fuels or even replacing them completely as drop-in fuels in automobiles as well as for heating and the power industries. Waste biomass, primarily lignocellulosic biomass (e.g. agricultural crop residues, forestry biomass and energy crops) and microalgae can act as some inexpensive renewable bioresources for the production of biofuels and biochemicals. The prime focus of Bioprocessing of Biofuels is to shed light on this significant process, especially through microbial conversion technologies to recover and transform the inedible polysaccharides into hydrocarbon biofuels and bioenergy. The book offers introductory coverage of the most crucial topics as follows: A systematic overview of the state-of-the-art in the production and utilization of biofuels Categorical bioprospecting of bioresources for biofuel production Biomass pretreatment and enzymatic saccharification Bioconversion of waste biomass and algae to liquid and gaseous biofuels New developments in microbial fuel-cell technologies Bioprocessing of Biofuels unites topics related to the cutting-edge applications of bioresources and green technologies to reinvigorate biorefineries, positioning them within a competitive energy market. Written to be instantly applicable, this volume offers a reference book for undergraduate and graduate students, scientific investigators and research scholars around the globe working in the areas relating to energy and fuels.
Biogas Production by Nagamani Balagurusamy (Editor); Anuj K. Chandel (Editor)This book focuses on biogas production by anaerobic digestion, which is the most popular bioenergy technology of today. Using anaerobic digestion for the production of biogas is a sustainable approach that simultaneously also allows the treatment of organic waste. The energy contained in the substrate is released in the form of biogas, which can be employed as a renewable fuel in diverse industrial sectors. Although biogas generation is considered an established process, it continues to evolve, e.g. by incorporating modifications and improvements to increase its efficiency and its downstream applications. The chapters of this book review the progress made related to feedstock, system configuration and operational conditions. It also addresses microbial pathways utilized, as well as storage, transportation and usage of biogas. This book is an up-to-date resource for scientists and students working on improving biogas production.
Handbook of Antiblocking, Release, and Slip Additives by George WypychHandbook of Antiblocking, Release, and Slip Additives, Fourth Edition, is the only comprehensive reference available on the subject of antiblocking, release, and slip additives, which are of high industrial importance. These additives are used to alter the properties and performances of polymers, minimizing adhesion, aiding separation, and improving the efficiency and cost of processing methods. These characteristics make additives an important topic across the spectrum of industry sectors that employ plastics and polymers. Fully updated to include the latest research and additives, the book considers all essential aspects of chemistry, physical properties, influence on properties of final products, formulations, methods of incorporation, analysis, and effects on health and environment. It also provides a complete analysis of existing literature and patents. Processing is discussed in detail, including coverage of types and concentrations, the effect of the additives on the process and product properties, advantages and disadvantages, and examples of formulations. This combination of data and performance analysis makes the book a vital source of information for industry research and development as well as academia.
Introduction to Fluoropolymers by Sina EbnesajjadIntroduction to Fluoropolymers, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of the history, principles, properties, processing and applications of fluoropolymers, supporting their development and utilization in high-performance applications, components, and products. This second edition has been updated and expanded to include new in-depth chapters on manufacturing and applications of PTFE and melt processible fluoropolymers. The book begins by demonstrating the role of fluoropolymers in everyday life, before introducing the history and basic principles of fluoropolymers. This is followed by detailed coverage of the main fluoropolymer types. Properties and applications are illustrated by real-world examples as diverse as waterproof clothing, vascular grafts and coatings for aircraft interiors. The different applications of fluoropolymers show the benefits of a group of materials that are highly water-repellant and flame-retardant, with unrivalled lubrication properties and a high level of biocompatibility. Health and safety and environmental aspects are also covered throughout the book, with a final chapter examining safety, disposal, and recycling in detail. This book is an essential resource for anyone looking to understand or use fluoropolymer materials in their products. This includes engineers, product designers, manufacturers, scientists, researchers, and other professionals, across industries such as automotive, aerospace, medical devices, food and beverages, high performance apparel, oil and gas, renewable energy, solar photovoltaics, electronics and semiconductors, pharmaceuticals, and chemical processing. This is also a valuable introductory guide for academic researchers and advanced students in plastics engineering, polymer science, and materials science.
Halogen Bonding in Solution by Stefan Huber (Editor)Long-awaited on the importance of halogen bonding in solution, demonstrating the specific advantages in various fields - from synthesis and catalysis to biochemistry and electrochemistry! Halogen bonding (XB) describes the interaction between an electron donor and the electrophilic region of a halogen atom. Its applicability for molecular recognition processes long remained unappreciated and has mostly been studied in solid state until recently. As most physiological processes and chemical reactions take place in solution, investigations in solutions are of highest relevance for its use in organic synthesis and catalysis, pharmaceutical chemistry and drug design, electrochemistry, as well as material synthesis. Halogen Bonding in Solution gives a concise overview of halogen bond interactions in solution. It discusses the history and electronic origin of halogen bonding and summarizes all relevant examples of its application in organocatalysis. It describes the use of molecular iodine in catalysis and industrial applications, as well as recent developments in anion transport and binding. Hot topic: Halogen bonding is an important interaction between molecules or within a molecule. The field has developed considerably in recent years, with numerous different approaches and applications having been published. Unique: There are several books on halogen bonding in solid state available, but this will be the first one focused on halogen bonding in solution. Multi-disciplinary: Summarizes the history and nature of halogen bonding in solution as well as applications in catalysis, anion recognition, biochemistry, and electrochemistry. Aimed at facilitating exciting future developments in the field, Halogen Bonding in Solution is a valuable source of information for researchers and professionals working in the field of supramolecular chemistry, catalysis, biochemistry, drug design, and electrochemistry.
The Curious World of Fluorinated Molecules by Konrad Seppelt (Editor)The Curious World of Fluorinated Molecules: Molecules Containing Fluorine is the sixth volume in the Progress in Fluorine Science series and is edited by the world-renowned scientist Konrad Seppelt. Dr. Seppelt brings together a team of global experts to uncover the multifaceted nature of the most electronegative element in the Periodic Table. The book explores the fascinating world of unpredictable, fluorine-containing molecules through their discoveries, path to recognition, current state of the art, and impact on the broader fields of fluorinated materials development. This volume will inspire and energize researchers, future scientists, and educators working in fluorine chemistry.
a-Tertiary Amines en Route to Natural Products by Abdul Hameed; Mariya Al-Rashida; Muhammad Raza Shaha-Tertiary Amines en Route to Natural Products presents the multistep synthesis of natural products using schematic diagrams. This approach provides a quick-and-easy way to review and understand new and novel synthetic strategies to construct structural frameworks of natural products. The book covers the class of natural products bearing the α,α-disubstituted α-amino acid motif. Featured natural product molecules include Altemicidin, Amathaspiramide (A-F), Kaitocephalin, Lactacystin, Salinosporamide, Manzacidins (A,C), Neooxazolomycin, Sphingofungins (E,F), (1S,3R)-1-Aminocyclopentane-1,3-diarboxylic Acid (ACPD), Total synthesis of cephalotaxine and related molecules, α-amino acids based natural products, α amino acid based natural products and Tetrodotoxin. This book is ideal for chemists working in the area of organic synthesis, especially those who are involved in the development of new, efficient and novel methodologies for natural product synthesis. Outlines synthetic strategies for natural products bearing α-tertiary amines and α,α-disubstituted α-amino acid motif Describes multistep synthetic routes that highlight key steps Covers asymmetric and diastereoselective synthetic approaches towards targeted natural products Illustrates multistep synthetic routes related to -amino acids based natural products and -amino acids based natural products
Functional metal-organic frameworks : structure, properties and applications by Ali Morsali and Sayed Ali Akbar Razavi"In this book, application of functional metal-organic frameworks in environmental and energy science especially separation of pollutant gases, storage of explosive and energy gases, detection and purification of hazardous chemicals, designing ion/electro conductive and heterogeneous catalysis is discussed repeatedly. So, the content of this book can be useful in industry for designing novel MOF-based adsorbents, catalysts and conductive materials."-- Provided by publisher
Nanocomposites for the Desulfurization of Fuels by Tawfik Abdo Saleh (Editor)Research on nanotechnology has mainly focused on the aspects of synthesis of nanomaterials that have unique chemical, thermal, and mechanical properties applicable to a wide range of applications. A variety of properties and phenomena have been investigated, and many of the studies have been directed toward understanding the properties and applications of nanomaterials. Nanomaterials have properties that are useful for enhancing surface-to-volume ratio, reactivity, strength, and durability. Due to their enhanced chemical and mechanical properties, the nanomaterials play promising roles in enhancing the desulfurization. Nanocomposites for the Desulfurization of Fuels is an essential reference source that discusses the synthesis, properties, and technological developments of nanomaterials and their applications in petroleum. Featuring research on topics such as hybrid materials, catalytic properties, and environmental concerns, this book is ideally designed for chemical engineers, scientists, researchers, academicians, and students in fields that include chemistry, petroleum, materials science, physics, and engineering.
Green Sustainable Process for Chemical and Environmental Engineering and Science by Inamuddin (Editor); Rajender Boddula (Editor); Mohd Imran Ahamed (Editor); Abdullah Asiri (Editor)Green Sustainable Process for Chemical and Environmental Engineering and Science: Green Solvents for Biocatalysis delivers an in-depth overview of biocatalysis in green solvents for industrial applications, also including outlines of sustainable methodologies in the area of organic chemistry, agriculture, analytical chemistry and engineering and pharmaceutical sciences. The book provides unique content in the area, making it a great source for information for undergraduate, postgraduate students, faculty, R&D professionals, production chemists, environmental engineers and industrial experts. Provides a broad overview of biocatalysis of sustainable processes Discusses the use of green alternative solvents in biocatalysis Outlines eco-friendly organic synthesis and chemical processes using biocatalysis Includes tactics on industrial product development using biocatalysis
Phycobiotechnology by Jeyabalan Sangeetha (Editor); Devarajan Thangadurai (Editor); Saniyasi Elumalai (Editor); Shivasharana Chandrabanda Thimmappa (Editor)This volume explores and explains the vast uses and benefits of algae as food, feed, and fuel. It covers the most advanced applications of algae in the food and feed industries and for environmental sustainability. With chapters written by experts and which were extensively reviewed by many well-known subject experts and professionals, Phycobiotechnology: Biodiversity and Biotechnology of Algae and Algal Products for Food, Feed, and Fuelprovides an abundance of valuable information. Algae are a genetically diverse group of organisms with a wide range of physiological and biochemical characteristics that have unique capabilities in the fields of agriculture, pharmaceuticals, industry, and environment. Algae hold the potential to become the planet's next major source of energy and a vital part of the solution for climate change and dependence on fossil fuels. Many varieties of algae are also known to be an abundant source of vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients that can boost the human immune system.
Food and Agricultural Biotechnology in Ethical Perspective by Paul B. ThompsonThis 3rd edition of Food and Agricultural Biotechnology in Ethical Perspective updates Thompson's analysis to reflect the next generation of biotechnology, including synthetic biology, gene editing and gene drives. The first two editions of this book, published as Food Biotechnology in Ethical Perspective in 1997 and 2007, were the first comprehensive philosophical studies of genetic engineering applied to food systems. The book is structured with chapter length treatments of risk in four categories: food safety, to animals, to the environment and socio-economic risks. These chapters are preceded by two chapters providing orientation to the uses of gene technology in food and agriculture, and to the goals, methods and background assumptions of technological ethics. There is also a chapter covering all four types of risk as applied to the first US technology, recombinant bovine somatotropin. The last four chapters take up 1) intellectual property debates, 2) religious, metaphysical and "intrinsic" objections to biotechnology, 3) issues in risk and trust and 4) a review of ethical issues in synthetic biology, gene editing and gene drives, the three key technologies that have emerged since the book was last revised.
Advanced Green Materials by Shakeel Ahmed (Editor)Advanced Green Materials: Fabrication, Characterization and Applications of Biopolymers and Biocomposites looks at their extraction, purification, modification, and processing for various industrial, biomedical, pharmaceutical, and construction applications. The book comprehensively summarizes recent technical research accomplishments in natural materials and discusses various aspects of natural materials from a chemistry/engineering point of view. The book is unique with contributions from experts working on hybrid biopolymers and bio- composites, bioactive and biodegradable materials, bio-inert polymers and composites, natural polymer and composites, and metallic natural materials. The book will be a useful reference for scientists, academicians, research scholars, and biotechnologists. Advanced biocomposite materials continue to become increasingly popular and important for a broad range of different science and engineering applications. In the race to exploit the unique mechanical, thermal, and electrical properties of these materials, researchers must also address new challenges to predict, understand, and manage the potentially adverse effects they could have on the environment and human lives. The book describes recent developments and applications of biopolymers and biocomposites for applications in various industrial fields. Chapters include original research and the latest reviews in similar fields. Biopolymers and biocomposites occupy an exceptional position in the exciting new world of novel biomaterials. Considering their sustainability, non-toxic properties, and their ability to have tailored properties and functions, they should be considered as a smart candidate in the advancement of biomaterials technology. Covers all types of biopolymers and advanced industrial applications, from packaging to biomedical therapeutics Discusses the shift from research to industrial large-scale application of biopolymers and biocomposites Emphasizes new strategic trends, such as bio-based and biodegradable additives for bioplastics, PHAs, new lignin-based biopolymers, and new polymers based on terpenes and biosensor applications
Biomass, Biofuels, Biochemicals by Thallada Bhaskar (Editor); Ashok Pandey (Editor)Biomass, Biofuels, Biochemicals: Lignin Biorefinery discusses the scientific and technical information relating to the structure and physico-chemical characteristics of lignin. The book covers the different processes (biological, thermal and catalytic routes) available for lignin conversion into specialty chemicals or fuels, activity relationships, and how optimized process parameters help establish the feasible size of the commercial plant in a centralized or decentralized model. In addition, the advantages and limitations of different technologies are discussed, considering local energy, chemicals, biopolymers, drug intermediates, activated carbons, and much more. Includes information on the most advanced and innovative processes for lignin conversion Covers information on biochemical and thermo-chemical processes for lignin valorization Provides information on lignin chemistry and its conversion into high value chemicals and fuels Presents a book designed as a text book, not merely a collection of research articles
Metal-Reinforced Ceramics by Andrew John RuysMetal-Reinforced Ceramics covers the principle of metal-fiber-reinforced ceramics, a well-known topic in the field of reinforced concrete. Much of the work that has been done has remained unpublished, hidden in industrial company archives due to the commercial sensitivity associated with the respective technologies that prevailed at the time, which no longer applies today. This book will discuss advanced technologies that have largely been undocumented before in a broad range of industrial application areas, with updates on alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide, tungsten carbide, fused silica, and carbon-based ceramics which are hard, heat resistant, wear resistant, and chemically durable. Provides detailed information on fundamental principles, advanced processing technologies and industrial applications Features comprehensive industrial knowledge not usually in the public domain from the author's experience spanning more than three decades Features armor ceramics, bioceramics, aerospace, mining and architectural ceramic applications
Selective Laser Sintering Additive Manufacturing Technology by Li Zhaoqing; Shifeng Wen; Qingsong Wei; Chunze Yan; Yusheng ShiSelective Laser Sintering Additive Manufacturing Technology is a unique and comprehensive guide to this emerging technology. It covers in detail the equipment, software algorithms and control systems, material preparations and process technology, precision control, simulation analysis, and provides examples of applications of selective laser sintering (SLS). SLS technology is one of the most promising advances in 3D printing due to the high complexity of parts it can form, short manufacturing cycle, low cost, and wide range of materials it is compatible with. Typical examples of SLS technology include SLS manufacturing casting molds, sand molds (core), injection molds with conformal cooling channels, and rapid prototyping of ceramic and plastic functional parts. It is already widely used in aviation, aerospace, medical treatment, machinery, and numerous other industries. Drawing on world-leading research, the authors provide state of the art descriptions of the technologies, tools, and techniques which are helping academics and engineers use SLS ever more effectively and widely. Provides instructions for how to accurately use SLS for forming Analyses the numerical simulation methods for key SLS technologies Addresses the use of SLS for a range of materials, including polymer, ceramic and coated sand powder
Imidic Polymers and Green Polymer Chemistry by Andreea Irina Barzic (Editor); Neha Kanwar Rawat (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor)This book reviews the latest research, development, and future potential of polyimides and green polymer chemistry. It combines the major interdisciplinary research in this area. Polymers with imidic structure, known as polyimides, are widely investigated owing to their practical implications in numerous industrial sectors. The book explains why polyimides offer versatility unparalleled in comparison to most other classes of macromolecules. In addition, developments in green polymer chemistry in this area have been stimulated by health and environmental concerns, interest in sustainability, desire to decrease the dependence on petroleum, and opportunities to design and produce "green" products and processes. Major advances include new uses of green processing methodologies, and green polymeric products. Imidic Polymers and Green Polymer Chemistry: New Technology and Developments in Process and Product is targeted to scientists, engineers, and students who are involved or interested in green polymer chemistry and imidic polymers. This book will serve as a valuable reference for those with an interest in synthesis of polyimides and the chemistry and physical chemistry of polyimide compounds.
Green Polymer Chemistry and Composites by Neha Kanwar Rawat (Editor); Iuliana Stoica (Editor); A. K. Haghi (Editor)This new book examines the latest developments in the important and growing field of producing conventional polymers from sustainable sources. With recent advancements in synthesis technologies and the discovery of new functional monomers, research shows that green polymers with better properties can be produced from renewable resources. This volume describes these advances in synthesis, processing, and technology and provides not only state-of-the-art information but also acts to stimulate research in this direction. Green Polymer Chemistry and Composites: Pollution Prevention and Waste Reduction illustrates how chemical industries play an essential role to sustain the world economies and looks at forthcoming technologies and scientific developments in novel products, less toxicological materials, and industrial procedures with high efficiency and renewable energy products. Green chemistry seeks for the design of innovative chemical products with higher efficiency and lowest hazardous substances for the health and the environment.
Theoretical and Computational Approaches to Predicting Ionic Liquid Properties by Aswathy Joseph (Editor); Suresh Mathew (Editor)Theoretical and Computational Approaches to Predicting Ionic Liquid Properties highlights new approaches to predicting and understanding ionic liquid behavior and selecting ionic liquids based on theoretical knowledge corroborated by experimental studies. Supported throughout with case studies, the book provides a comparison of the accuracy and efficiency of different theoretical approaches. Sections cover the need for integrating theoretical research with experimental data, conformations, electronic structure and non-covalent interactions, microstructures and template effects, thermodynamics and transport properties, and spectro-chemical characteristics. Catalytic and electrochemical properties are then explored, followed by interfacial properties and solvation dynamics. Structured for ease of use, and combining the research knowledge of a global team of experts in the field, this book is an indispensable tool for those involved with the research, development and application of ionic liquids across a vast range of fields. Highlights new approaches for selecting ionic liquids by combining theoretical knowledge with experimental and simulation-based observations Discusses how theoretical simulation can help in selecting specific anion-cation combinations to show enhanced properties of interest Compares the accuracy and efficiency of different theoretical approaches for predicting ionic and liquid characteristics
Analytical Pyrolysis Handbook by Karen D. Sam (Editor); Thomas P. Wampler (Editor)Analytical pyrolysis allows scientists to use routine laboratory instrumentation for analyzing complex, opaque, or insoluble samples more effectively than other analytical techniques alone. Analytical Pyrolysis Handbook, Third Edition is a practical guide to the application of pyrolysis techniques to various samples and sample types for a diversity of fields including microbiology, forensic science, industrial research, and environmental analysis. The much-anticipated third edition incorporates recent technological advances that increase the technique's sensitivity to trace elements, improve its reproducibility, and expand its applicability. The book reviews the types of instrumentation available to perform pyrolysis and offers guidance for interfacing instruments and integrating other analytical techniques, including gas chromatography and mass spectrometry. Fully updated with new sample pyrograms, figures, references, and real-world examples, this edition also highlights new areas of application including cultural materials, forensic analysis, and environmental studies. This book illustrates how the latest advances make pyrolysis a practical, cost-effective, reliable, and flexible alternative for increasingly complex sample analyses. Analytical Pyrolysis Handbook, Third Edition is an essential, one-stop guide for determining if pyrolysis meets application-specific needs as well as performing pyrolysis and handling the data obtained.
Current Developments in Biotechnology and Bioengineering by Jonathan Wong (Editor); Guneet Kaur (Editor); Mohammad Taherzadeh (Editor); Ashok Pandey (Editor); Katia Lasaridi (Editor)Current Developments in Biotechnology and Bioengineering: Sustainable Food Waste Management: Resource Recovery and Treatment covers the latest methods of food waste management and resource recovery from a sustainability perspective and is suitable for universities, municipalities, and companies working in the field. This book provides a comprehensive account of food waste chemistry, the latest techniques for food waste treatment and recycling, sustainability assessment (social, economic, environmental), and challenges in food waste management. The book explores recycling to value-added products using sustainable concepts and methodologies, and is useful as a course or reference book for biochemical engineering, environmental sustainability, and waste management.
Biochemical Engineering by Debabrata Das; Debayan DasBiochemical engineering mostly deals with the most complicated life systems as compared with chemical engineering. A fermenter is the heart of biochemical processes. It is essential to operate a system properly. A description of enzymatic reaction kinetics is followed by cell growth kinetics to determine several kinetic parameters. Operations and analyses of several biochemical processes are included to determine their special. The book also covers the determination of several operational parameters, such as volumetric mass transfer coefficient, mixing time, death rate constant, chemical oxygen demand, and heat of combustion.This book provides a novel description of the experimental protocol to find out several operational parameters of biochemical processes. A comprehensive collection of numerous experiments based on fundamentals, it focuses on the determination of not only the characteristics of raw materials but also other essential parameters required for the operation of biochemical processes. It also emphasizes the applicability of the analysis to various processes. Equipped with illustrative diagrams, neat flowcharts, and exhaustive tables, the book is ideal for young researchers, teachers, and scientists working towards developing a solid understanding of the experimental aspects of biochemical engineering.
Industrial Applications of Biopolymers and Their Environmental Impact by Abdullah Al Mamun (Editor); Jonathan Y. Chen (Editor)Biopolymers represent a carbon emission solution: they are green and eco-friendly with a variety of uses in biomedical engineering, the automotive industry, the packaging and paper industries, and for the development of new building materials. This book describes the various raw materials of biopolymers and their chemical and physical properties, the polymerization process, and the chemical structure and properties of biopolymers. Furthermore, this book identifies the drawbacks of biopolymers and how to overcome them through modification methods to enhance the compatibility, flexibility, physicochemical properties, thermal stability, impact response, and rigidity.
Databook of Flame Retardants by Anna Wypych; George WypychDatabook of Flame Retardants contains information on commonly-used additives broken out into five sections, including General, Physical, Health and Safety, Ecological, and Use. Over one hundred types of data are included for over three hundred and fifty commercial-based products. All data fields are defined and include a broad range of information, such as calcium contents, molecular mass, brightness, freezing/melting points, viscosity, volatility, UN/NA class, autoignition temperature, partition coefficient, processing methods, concentrations used, and more. This book is best utilized in tandem with the Handbook of Flame Retardants. Each book complements the other without repeating information, with the other release explaining the role of these products, their selection, mechanism of action, use in different polymers and products, and health and commercial issues related to flame retardants.
Biodiesel Soot by Chuan Li; Xian'guo HuBiodiesel Soot: Tribology, Properties, and Formation covers the basic properties of biodiesel soot, focusing particularly on its tribological behaviors, dispersion characteristics, and techniques for controlling and altering its tribological and material behavior. The book begins with a concise overview of the fundamentals of the properties and preparation of biodiesel, including coverage of the processes involved in the formation of soot particulates, the influence of different fuels on formation, and the effects of different soot on air pollution, friction reduction, and wear resistance of lubricating oil. Other sections cover the influence of biodiesel soot on engine parts and combustion devices. This book will be of particular interest to graduate students and academic or industrial researchers in materials science, as well as mechanical, automotive and chemical engineering.
Innovative and Emerging Technologies for Texile Dyeing and Finishing by Luqman Jameel Rather (Editor); Aminoddin Haji (Editor); Mohd Shabbir (Editor)With the public enhanced awareness towards eco-preservation, eco-safety and health concerns, environmentally benign, nontoxic and sustainable bioresource materials produced mainly from non-food crops have revolutionized all industrial sectors particularly textile industry. In recent years, textile industries in developed countries are getting increasing interest in global interest due to the varied and changing world market conditions in terms of price, durability and fiber mixtures as well as design, colors, weight, ease of handling and product safety. The increasing environmental and health concerns owing to the use of large quantities of water and hazardous chemicals in conventional textile finishing processes lead to the design and development of new dyeing strategies and technologies. Effluents produced from these textiles wet processing industries are very diverse in chemical composition, ranging from inorganic finishing agents, surfactants, chlorine compounds, salts, total phosphate to polymers and organic products. This aspect forced western countries to exploit their high technical skills in the advancements of textile materials for high quality technical performances, and development of cleaner production technologies for cost effective and value-added textile materials. Therefore, vast and effective research investigations have been undertaken all over the world to minimize the negative environmental impact of synthetic chemical agents through the sustainable harvest of eco-friendly bioresource materials. The book will discuss following research developments in academic and industry: Improvement in dye extraction and its applications Impact of textile dyeing on environment Textile finishing by natural and ecofriendly means Natural dyes as environmental-friendly bioresource products Textile effluent remediation via physical, chemical and biological processes.
Co-Rotating Twin-Screw Extruders: Applications by Klemens Kohlgrüber (Editor)Co-rotating twin-screw extruders are extensively used for the preparation, compounding, mixing, and processing of plastics, but also in other industry branches, such as in rubber and food processing, and increasingly in the pharmaceutical industry too. Derived from the classic bestselling work "Co-Rotating Twin Screw Extruders", this book focuses on the application and machine technology of co-rotating twin-screw extrusion. It includes functional zones in the extruder, scale-up and scale-down, machine technology, and many application examples from a broad range of areas.Co-rotating twin-screw machines usually have modular configurations and are thus quite flexible for adapting to changing tasks and material properties. Well-founded knowledge of machines, processes, and material behavior is required in order to design and operate twin-screw extruders for economically successful operations. With chapters written by many expert authors from industry and academia, this book provides valuable information on applications from a practical perspective, suitable for both beginners and experienced professional engineers.