Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Optometry Research Literature for Alumni: Search for Articles

Article databases

Use databases to search for research articles by topic, author, and other fields.


KEY DATABASES


PubMed
Search 30+ million biomedical literature citations. Filter your search results for free full text articles.

 

 

PubMed Central
A searchable free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.


MORE RECOMMENDED DATABASES


Google Scholar
Broadly search the scholarly literature. However, many of the articles are not available as free full text.


Trip
A tool for finding and using high-quality clinical research evidence.


Global Index Medicus
Access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries; full text available for nearly half of the citations in this database.


Science.gov
Authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Discovery Tools for Full Text Articles

There are a few plug-ins for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari that will help you find open access journal articles.

 

Search these websites:

  • ScienceOpen
  • medRxiv - Archive for open access preprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences
  • bioRxiv - Archive for open access preprints in the life sciences
  • arXiv - Preprint archive mainly for physics, mathematics, computer sciences and related sciences