Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

Optometry Research Literature for Alumni: Browse Journals

Select journals with free full text

Optometry and Vision Science
Each issue has one "Editors Choice" article that is immediately open access and free. A selection of articles are available open access or free.


Clinical and Experimental Optometry
After 24 months, all articles are free.


Ophthalmology
A selection of articles is available open access.


Progress in Retinal and Eye Research
A selection of articles is available open access.

Find more journals with free full text

PubMed Central
A searchable archive of free full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Here is a search for Optometry journals.


Free Medical Journals 
Journals that include free full text or articles become free after a period of time. There is a subset of Ophthalmology and Optometry titles.


HighWire Press
An archive of online articles in the sciences; many are freely available.

Open access journals

Open access journals provide free full-text access immediately upon publication and less restrictive copyright restrictions for re-use and re-distribution.


BioMed Central
Publisher of hundreds of peer-reviewed, open access journals.  Browse titles by subject.


PLOS Journals
Free scholarly articles to access, distribute, reuse and remix.


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Search for more open access journals.


Journal of Vision
Exploring all aspects of biological visual function.