Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

PH C117/IB C195: Global Health Research: More Databases, Systematic Reviews, "Grey Lit."

Additional Databases

Remember those PubMed Tips & Tricks? Most are applicable to many other online databases. For a comprehensive list of dozens of databases, see the guide to Databases in Public Health.

Grey Literature

Grey Literature generally refers to publications -- from government entities, research institutions, or NGOs/IGOs -- not produced by commercial publishers: including reports, market research, theses, conference proceedings, and other documents.

The Public Health Library's Public Health Subject Guides web guide consists of web pages by topic. Each page consists of annotated lists of organizations, agencies, databases, and publications. Topics include: 
    • AIDS/HIV 
    • Food/Nutrition 
    • International Health 
    • Maternal and Child Health 
  and many more.

Google (or other search engines) may be useful for finding grey literature. Improve your search using: 
• Quotes for phrase searching: 
"social marketing" 
• Site: to specify a particular site or domain: 
"social marketing" site:.org (for a domain search); "social marketing" site:cdcnpin.org (for a specific site search) 
• Boolean search statements (eg, OR): 
("social marketing" OR "audience segmentation")

Additional Global Health Databases

Systematic Reviews

"Systematic reviews seek to collate all evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to address a specific research question. They aim to minimize bias by using explicit, systematic methods." (from Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions)

Catalogs

Use the library catalogs to find books, reports, etc. on your topic. Books, while not often where original research is published, can often provide an overview of a topic and get you started with some key articles.

NOTE: OskiCat and Melvyl are retiring on July 27, 2021, and being replaced by UC Library Search. More information coming soon.