Advises Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program. Also analyzes access to care, quality of care, and other issues affecting Medicare. Publishes reports.
AHRQ supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. Funding opportunities and health care quality assessment information are available as well as the AHRQ Publications and Products.
Principal advisor to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on policy development, and is responsible for major activities in policy coordination, legislation development, strategic planning, policy research, evaluation, and economic analysis.
Represents hospitals and healthcare networks in matters of national health policy development, legislative and regulatory debates, and judicial matters.
Partners with states to promote innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. Brings together state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer groups to advance models of organizing, financing, and delivering health care services.
HCCI is a non-partisan organization with an overarching goal to provide complete, accurate, unbiased information about health care utilization and costs to better understand the U.S. health care system. Through research and access to a large health insurance claims database, HCCI seeks to offer answers to critical questions about health care spending and utilization for the entire privately insured health population.
Dedicated to improving public well-being by bringing the highest standards of quality, objectivity, and excellence to bear on information collection and analysis. Focus areas include health, nutrition, education, among other areas.
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Index to U.S. foreign and domestic public policy reports. (Policy File) [1990 - present]
Covers the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Budget-Impact Analysis of Health Care Interventions: A Practical Guide by 
Health Care under the Knife: moving beyond capitalism for our health by 
Essentials of Health Care Finance by 
Health Care Budgeting and Financial Management by 
Health Economics by 
