Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Public Health Library's 2018 SNAP-Ed LIA Forum guide!
THIS IS AN OLD GUIDE NO LONGER BEING UPDATED
This guide was created by the UC Berkeley Public Health Library for the 2018 SNAP-Ed LIA Forum. It includes tools and resources to help you develop appropriate programs in your area. All have been curated and annotated, and are conveniently located on this guide.
Please contact Debbie Jan or Michael Sholinbeck with any questions or feedback.
Toolkits & "Best Practices" Resources
Best Practices in Nutrition Education for Low-Income Audiences (USDA)
Identifies 28 best practices in nutrition education within five domains: Program design; Program delivery; Educator characteristics; Educator training; and Evaluation.
Best Practices Sharing Center (USDA)
This collection is intended for School Food Authorities and State Agencies to share resources and tools they use to serve healthy menus that meet school meal regulations.
Canadian Best Practices Portal
CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic or Policy Issues.
The Community Guide
Evidence-based recommendations of programs and policies that will help improve health and prevent disease. Hundreds of interventions have been reviewed. Systematic reviews are used to answer questions such as:
- Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective?
- Are there effective interventions that are right for my community?
- What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?
Community Tool Box
Provides practical skill-building information on over 250 different topics. Topic sections include step-by-step instruction, examples, check-lists, and related resources. It has sections on leadership, strategic planning, community assessment, advocacy, grant writing, and evaluation, as well as Best Practices examples and evidence.
Gateway to Health Communication & Social Marketing Practice (CDC)
Tools and templates you can use to develop your health communication and social marketing campaigns and programs: Health Communication Basics, the Health Communication Science Digest (research articles), Social Media Toolkit, and information on audience, channels, risk communication, and more.
Health Literacy Tool Shed
Use this site to learn about health literacy measurement tools, and find the right tool for your research. Search by domain (information seeking, numeracy, etc.); context (asthma, diabetes, infant care, etc.); validation aspects (validation time, sample size, sample age, etc.); language; and more.
Improving Population Health by Working with Communities: Action Guide 3.0
A framework to help multi-sector groups work together by addressing 10 interrelated elements for success and using the related resources as needed. The 10 Elements are:
Leadership Across the Region and Within Organizations
Audience-Specific Strategic Communication
A Community Health Needs Assessment and Asset Mapping Process
An Organizational Planning and Priority-Setting Process
An Agreed-Upon, Prioritized Set of Health Improvement Activities
Selection and Use of Measures and Performance Targets
Joint Reporting on Progress Toward Achieving Intended Results
Indications of Scalability
A Plan for Sustainability
Interventions and Strategies (Center TRT)
Search for interventions or intervention strategies by setting (school, worksite, etc.). Each entry provides targeted outcomes, an evidence summary, and examples. The examples include core elements, resources required, potential public health impact, evaluation, technical assistance, and more. Topics include breastfeeding, physical activity, and healthy eating.
Model Practices Database
Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, cultural competence, informatics, nutrition, and more.
Easy-to-Read Consumer Health Material
Consumer-level information on eating well, with links to selected resources. Includes topics such as food labels, diet, fast food, calories, and more. Material specific to teens, men, women, included, as well as patient handouts. Also available en Español
Health Information in Multiple Languages
Quality health information in over 50 languages other than English. From US National Library of Medicine.
Checklist for Plain Language on the Web (PlainLanguage.gov)
Checklist for your website to ensure that your readers quickly find and understand what they need.
Simply Put: A Guide for Creating Easy-to-Understand Materials
This guide helps you transform complicated scientific and technical information into more understandable communication materials. It provides practical ways to organize information, use language and visuals, and help you create fact sheets, FAQs, brochures, booklets, pamphlets, and other materials, including web content. From CDC.
Free Images and Clipart
Food and Nutrition Clipart
Free clipart in numerous food and nutrition categories.
Free images and videos you can use anywhere. All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty-free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required.
SNAP-Ed Photo Gallery
High-quality, professionally produced photographs depicting a variety of nutrition education themes and concepts. Includes cooking, shopping, family, etc.
Free ("do whatever you want") high-resolution photos submitted by photographers worldwide.
WIC Image Gallery
Categories of pictures here include Breastfeeding and Breastfeeding Peer Counseling; Clinic Environment; Food Packages, Farmer's Market, and Grocery Store; Physical Activity.
Google Image Search
Limit your Google image search to noncommercial reuse, meaning that you should be able to use the images for noncommercial purposes:
1. Search for your image. (If you have searched in Google, then click on the "Images" link above the search results).
2. Click on "Tools" below the search box.
3. Click on "Usage Rights." Select the appropriate reuse filter based on your plan for the image.
TRAIN is a national learning network that provides thousands of quality training opportunities to professionals who protect and improve the public's health.
Nutrition-Related Open Courses
From Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Provides free access to the content of the school's nutrition courses. Other course topic ares include Adolescent Health, Behavior and Health, Environment, Maternal and Child Health, and more.
Food Exchange Lists
Use these food exchange lists to check out serving sizes for each group of foods and to see what other food choices are available for each group of foods. From NIH.
SNAP-Ed Evaluation Framework and Interpretive Guide
The evaluation framework includes 51 evaluation indicators that align with the SNAP‐Ed guiding principles and lend support to documenting changes resulting from multiple approaches for low-income nutrition education and obesity prevention. approaches include individual, group, and family nutrition education and physical activity promotion and related interventions; comprehensive, multi‐level interventions in environmental settings; and community and public health approaches.
Multi-Cultural Resources for Health Information
From NIH, information about cultural competency, tools, health literacy, research, and policy. Includes links to data resources, funding, and more.
A Practitioner's Guide for Advancing Health Equity: Community Strategies for Preventing Chronic Disease (PDF)
Provides lessons learned and innovative ideas on how to maximize the effects of policy, systems and environmental improvement strategies -- all with the goal of reducing health disparities and advancing health equity. The Guide will assist practitioners with integrating the concept of health equity into local practices such as building organizational capacity, engaging the community, developing partnerships, identifying health inequities, and conducting evaluations.