It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Prevelance Trends, GIS data, Chronic Disease Indicators, as well as the survey data and methodology are available.
The largest state health survey in the United States. It is a telephone survey conducted every two years on public health topics and access to health care.The web site contains the questionnaires, data files, and AskCHIS, an online data query system. (Requires one-time, free registration).
HPI includes diverse non-medical economic, social, political and environmental factors that influence physical and cognitive function, behavior and disease. Indicator data used for HPI is produced at a census tract level. Includes interactive map, decision support, and more.
Designed for public health managers, community leaders, GIS users, epidemiologists, and those interested in using GIS to chronic diseases, this site provides a forum for sharing specific examples, ideas, and techniques for using GIS to document geographic disparities, inform policy and program development, and build partnerships.
"The Chronic Disease Indicators (CDI) is a cross-cutting set of 97 indicators that were developed by consensus and that allows states and territories and large metropolitan areas to uniformly define, collect, and report chronic disease data that are important to public health practice and available for states, territories and large metropolitan areas." The search box allows indicators for states/areas within states to be compared to each other.
An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility with GIS data layers and tables displayed at varying geographies for all communities in the United States. Map topics such as poverty, crime, food insecurity, demographics, health insurance and obesity utilizing data sources such as the American Community Survey, the Census, USDA, and the CDC.
Includes vital health factors, including access to exercise opportunities, access to healthy foods, food insecurity, income, obesity, physical inactivity, poverty, and smoking in nearly every county in America. National & state data download: csv (national also SAS). Has resources to take action: database of evidence-informed policies and programs, guides and tools to move forward, and information on how to build partnerships.
Allows users to view current infectious diseases with an interactive mapping tool. The data is aggregated by disease and results can be displayed by either disease or country and provides easy access to the original alert. This site integrates outbreak data from a variety of sources.
Provides indicators and associated data within 6 topic areas, including healthy beginnings, living well, end of life, redesigning the health system, creating healthy communities, and lowering the cost of care.
Create maps showing food access indicators by census tract using different measures and indicators of supermarket accessibility; Compare food access measures based on 2015 data with the previous 2010 measures; View indicators of food access for selected subpopulations; and Download census-tract-level data on food access measures.
Food environment factors, such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics, interact to influence food choices and diet quality. Users can create maps, view individual county data, or query for multiple factors.
An easy-to-use online platform for accessing data, creating maps, and working collaboratively. It allows users to theme and filter data, conduct research, and connect with their communities. Data from CDPH, ACS, CHIS, HRSA, WIC, and more.
A searchable database of diet and physical activity measures relevant to childhood obesity research. The purpose of this registry is to promote the consistent use of common measures and research methods across childhood obesity prevention and research at the individual, community, and population levels.
NHANES is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.