Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

PH 293: DrPH 2nd Year Seminar: Searching

Welcome!

Dinosaur in VLSB; click for library home page

guides.lib.berkeley.edu/publichealth/drph2nd

Michael Sholinbeck (msholinb@library.berkeley.edu)

 

Don't forget to register to vote
Register to vote in California.
You may also check the status of your California voter registration, or
check your status in any other state.

 

You may review the 1st year DrPH Library Guide here

Handy Databases

Continuing Your Literature Search

For a comprehensive list of dozens of databases, see the complete Public Health Databases guide.

Get Books, Articles, etc. Not Owned by UC Berkeley

Request an Interlibrary Loan for a known article or book/book chapter.
Or (better) click the UC-eLinks icon UC-eLinks button next to a citation in an article database, then click "Request this from the library"

  • Journal articles and book chapters are shared as PDFs.
  • Print books are delivered to any UCB library for pick up, however delivery of entire books is suspended until library buildings reopen
  • Articles at nearby UCs may be delivered in a few days, however some items may take up to 2 weeks for delivery, sometimes longer.
  • A free service for Berkeley faculty, staff, and students only. No limit on number of books, articles, etc you may request

Searching for Citing References

If you have a good citation/reference on your research topic, it can be helpful to look at what other articles cite your good citation/reference.  There are several databases that can help with this.

Set Up Search Alerts

Most article databases will let you set up email alerts when articles matching your search criteria are added to the database. In general, you will need to set up an account first before alerts can be created. Below are a few public health databases.

PubMed: My NCBI
» Save a search and set up/edit alerts

Web of Science: includes Web of Science and Global Health.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

Scopus
» Guide to setup alerts

EBSCOhost Search Alerts: includes CINAHL Plus and other databases.
» Guide to setup search alerts

ProQuest Auto Alerts: includes PsycInfo, and other interdisciplinary databases.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

Google Scholar Alerts