A series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.
Provide evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Books & eBooks
Herbs and Natural Supplements: an evidence-based guideHerbs and Natural Supplements, 4th Edition: An evidence-based guide is an authoritative, evidence-based reference. This two volume resource is essential to the safe and effective use of herbal, nutritional and food supplements. The first volume provides a foundation of knowledge in the clinical practice of complementary medicine. It emphasises safe practice with strategies to prevent adverse drug reactions, guidelines in assessing benefit, risk and harm and the evaluation of research. . Comprehensive review of herbal medicine, clinical nutrition, aromatherapy, and food as medicine . Patient safety and wellness . Considerations in preoperative care and pregnancy . Use in the treatment of cancer . Herb/nutrient - drug interactions. Provides up-to-date evidence on the latest research impacting on herbal and natural medicine by top leaders within the fields of Pharmacy, Herbal Medicine and Natural Medicine.
Call Number: RM666.H33 B73 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Dietary Supplements: safety, efficacy and qualityDietary supplements made from foods, herbs and their constituents are a rapidly growing market sector. Consumers often view food supplements as 'natural' and therefore safe; however, supplements are regulated as foods rather than as pharmaceuticals and so are not as closely monitored as may be necessary. With the commercial market in these products growing, this book provides essential research into their safety, efficacy and potential risk of interaction with pharmaceuticals. Following an introductory chapter, part one covers the chemical composition, manufacture and regulation of dietary supplements. Part two looks at the effectiveness of different types of dietary supplement and methods of evaluation. Finally, part three focuses on supplement safety. Reviews the design, production and regulation of dietary supplements. Analyses the potential for pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamics interactions between dietary supplements and pharmaceuticals. Offers reviews of important clinical studies on the efficacy of dietary supplements for range of conditions.
Publication Date: 2014
Effects of Herbal Supplements on Clinical Laboratory Test ResultsHerbal supplements are available without prescription in many countries throughout the world. Contrary to the popular belief that herbal remedies are safe and effective, many herbal supplements have known toxicity and can interact with many Western drugs causing increased clearance of such drugs and hence treatment failure. This monograph would provide information on how herbal supplements affect laboratory test results thus patient’s safety. It is a comprehensive and concise guide for laboratory professionals, physicians and other health care professionals.
Publication Date: 2011
Herbal Supplements: efficacy, toxicity, interactions with western drugs, and effects on clinical laboratory testsThis book focuses on efficacy, toxicity, drug interactions, and abnormal clinical laboratory tests resulting from the use of herbal remedies. Although a few herbal remedies are safe and have efficacy (for example saw palmetto), many herbal remedies are toxic. This book guides in the interpretation of abnormal test results in otherwise healthy subjects due to use of herbal remedies. Chapters focus on interactions between herbals and pharmaceuticals, sources of contamination in herbal supplements, and analytical techniques used in the investigation of herbal remedies.