Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Minority Data Resource Center
Contains lots of free public health datasets for downloading on issues that affect race and ethnic minority populations. The data covers housing, health, education, crime, income and wealth, youth behavior, and politics. Can search by state or city to see data available for that location.
Minority Health (CDC)
Statistics include: Demographics, High Prevalence Health Issues, Health Disparities, and more related to different ethnic groups.
Office of Minority Health/Population Profiles
These profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports on Black/African Americans, American Indian/Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic/Latinos, Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islanders.
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander National Health Interview Survey
Over 3000 households with containing one or more NHPI were surveyed using the National Health Interview Survey. Access the survey instrument and raw data files.
Data Resources from the Center for Population Research in LGBT Health
High quality datasets useful for analysis of issues affecting sexual and gender minority populations in the United States.
A guide to US, state, and some international statistical and data sources on LGBTQ topics.
U.S. Transgender Survey
USTS is the largest survey ever devoted to the lives and experiences of trans people. Many questions were modeled after questions used in federal surveys, allowing for comparisons between the USTS sample and the U.S. population as a whole.
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding
At a time when lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals--often referred to under the umbrella acronym LGBT--are becoming more visible in society and more socially acknowledged, clinicians and researchers are faced with incomplete information about their health status. While LGBT populations often are combined as a single entity for research and advocacy purposes, each is a distinct population group with its own specific health needs. Furthermore, the experiences of LGBT individuals are not uniform and are shaped by factors of race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, geographical location, and age, any of which can have an effect on health-related concerns and needs. The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People assesses the state of science on the health status of LGBT populations, identifies research gaps and opportunities, and outlines a research agenda for the National Institute of Health. The report examines the health status of these populations in three life stages: childhood and adolescence, early/middle adulthood, and later adulthood. At each life stage, the committee studied mental health, physical health, risks and protective factors, health services, and contextual influences. To advance understanding of the health needs of all LGBT individuals, the report finds that researchers need more data about the demographics of these populations, improved methods for collecting and analyzing data, and an increased participation of sexual and gender minorities in research. The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People is a valuable resource for policymakers, federal agencies including the National Institute of Health (NIH), LGBT advocacy groups, clinicians, and service providers.
Publication Date: 2011
Access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Data sets from the census and the economic census are available and custom tables and maps can be created from the data. This platform replaces American FactFinder.
Immigration Statistics (US Dept. of Homeland Security)
Statistics about foreign nationals who enter or attempt to enter the United States for temporary or permanent residence through a variety of status categories, as well as subsequent actions such as apprehension, removal, or naturalization.
MPC Data Projects
The MPC provides demographic/population data, including IPUMS-_USA_ and IPUMS-International, to researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet SPSS, SAS, and STATA are supported.
Unauthorized Immigrant Population Profiles
Information from the Migration Policy Institute about unauthorized immigrants in the United States: residence; arrival dates and countries of origin, education, employment, income, parental and marital status, health care coverage, and more, as well as potential eligibility for relief from deportation via deferred action.
AARP Data & Tools
Provides infographics and datasets on aging.
AARP State Data
Includes state-specific statistics on the 50+ population. Topics covered include demographic data, health expenditures and financing, health status, Medicare enrollment, utilization and quality of services, economic indicators, and state housing profiles.
AGing, Independence, and Disability (AGID) Program Data Portal
The AGing, Independence, and Disability (AGID) Program Data Portal is an on-line query system that provides access to Administration for Community Living-related program performance results, surveys and other data files.
The site includes data resources, aging-related statistical information including the Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-being report.
California Department of Aging
Demographic data, services to elderly statistics, and more are available.
Health and Retirement Study
This is a longitudinal study that surveys thousands of Americans over the age of 50 every two years. It began in 1992. It looks in-depth at health, health insurance, work, retirement, income, wealth, family characteristics, and inter-generational transfers through extensive interviews with survey participants. Data products are freely available online to registered users.
Alzheimer's Disease and Healthy Aging Data Portal (CDC)
Access to national and state level CDC data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being for older adults, including:
Subjective Cognitive Decline
Screenings and vaccinations
Maternal and Child Health
California County Scorecard of Children's Well-Being
This scorecard provides county-level data visualizations, tracking 28 key indicators of child well-being across all California counties, over time and by race and ethnicity. Additionally, for each indicator, the relative performances of counties are grouped by county population density and percentage of children living above poverty.
National Survey of Children’s Health and National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbooks
annual data on multiple aspects of children’s lives – including:
Physical and mental health
Access to quality health care
The child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social circumstances
Includes Federal data on the status of children and families over time, including a summary of national indicators of child well-being.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health, National Health Interview Survey Child Component, Survey of Pathways to Diagnosis and Services, and National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.
Early Childhood Longitudinal Study Program Data
The ECLS program includes three longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences. Data on children's status at birth and at various points thereafter; children's transitions to nonparental care, early education programs, and school; and children's experiences and growth.
Tracks the well-being of children in the United States. Data is provided nationally and state-by-state. You can generate custom graphs, maps, ranked lists, and state-by-state profiles. Also, download the entire Kids Count data set as delimited text files. Indicators include: Infant mortality & child deaths, juvenile arrests, low birth weight, immunizations, children in poverty, and more.
Kidsdata.org: Data and Resources about the Health of California's Children
Has data on more than 400 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every legislative district, city, county, and school district in California. Search by region, demographic group, or topic.
Maternal and Infant Health Assessment
An annual, statewide-representative survey of women with a recent live birth in California. MIHA collects self-reported information about maternal and infant experiences and maternal attitudes and behaviors before, during and shortly after pregnancy. Topics include preconception health, health disparities, alcohol use during pregnancy, maternal weight gain, oral health, and breastfeeding.
National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research: Catalogue of Surveillance Systems
Includes surveillance systems that contain data relevant to childhood obesity research. It includes local, state, and national systems that provide data at multiple levels.
National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs
Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). Browse the data by topic, survey, data trends, Healthy People 2020 topic, or Title V topic. State snapshots, US data maps, and data downloads are also provided.
Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.
State of the World's Children
Each year, UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World's Children, closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics.
Women's Health USA
A collection of current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, their families, and their communities.