It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
PubMed: Citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via
PubMed searching top tips:
Combine terms with AND or OR
Use Filters (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.)
Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (using Filters, Advanced Search, orField Tags)
Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), with subheadings
Use the Similar Articles link, once you find a set of relevant citations
Try PubMed's Clinical Queries or Topic-Specific Queries
Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find
» PubMed Tips: Basic search guide with link to PubMed exercise set. Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively
Use PubMed's My NCBI to save searches, search results/citations, search history, and more. Creating an account is easy!; you can even log in with your UCB bmail credentials.
» Use Clinical Queries to find systematic reviews on your topic, which can help you find more research literature and give you a sense of the body of knowledge on a topic. Using the "etiology" filter is useful a "cause of disease" search.
"Therapy" encompasses any type of intervention.
» Topic-Specific Queriesare "canned" search strategies that retrtieve a citation subset of PubMed. Some topic-specific queries are:
Beyond PubMed: Other Resources for Finding Journal Articles and More
Remember those PubMed "Top Tips"? Many are applicable to the databases below as well as several other databases.
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. [1912 - present]
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles.
Find books and other items in most libraries at UC Berkeley.
Catalog that lists materials for most UCB libraries (excluding the Law Library, many institute libraries, departmental libraries). Search any part of the catalog record (author, title, notes, etc.).
The above are but a sample of the many databases available to find article and other citations.
See the Public Health Databases guide for more.
Ask a librarian for help if you are having trouble with your topic.
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
Off-campus access is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:
Library Proxy (aka EZproxy)
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., (from a library web page) you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you will need to use a bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources. Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on VPN FAQ