It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
A note about the data sources below:
Beginning January 20, content on US government websites has been removed or revised for nonscientific reasons. If any of the websites on this guide have had data removed, viewing previous versions of the websites on the Internet Archive may prove helpful.
Follow along today using this document: [Word] | [PDF]
Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
Census Aggregated Data Sources
The following databases and websites allow researchers to access Census aggregated statistics (statistics that you can process into easy to use tables).
Access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Data sets from the census and the economic census are available and custom tables and maps can be created from the data. This platform replaces American FactFinder.
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, 1878 to present.
The United States Statistical Abstract (aka Stat Ab) is useful both as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information, in print and on the Web (when available). Sources include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Prior to 2012, the Stat Ab was provided free of charge. In 2012, Congress cancelled funding and ProQuest has continued producing the Stat Ab.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to email@example.com a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC): Surveys & Data
NCHS data collection systems includes population surveys (sometimes combined with physical examinations, lab tests, & more), provider surveys, and vital statistics. Below are summaries of the current systems. More information is available at cdc.gov/nchs/surveys.htm and tinyurl.com/h9zntf8 (PDF)
Data Source and Methods: Mail/web/telephone survey of directors of adult day care services centers and residential care communities, Administrative data from the CMS on nursing homes and residents, home health agencies and patients, and hospices and patients
Produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the US. Each profile includes key indicators of health outcomes, which describe the population health status of a county and factors that have the potential to influence health outcomes, such as health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors and the physical environment.
Provides access to a variety Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, and dozens of text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more. Export data: tab-delimited text file.
Healthy People 2020 includes over 1,200 objectives to monitor and improve the health of all Americans over the decade. The objectives are organized into 42 Topic Areas, each representing an important public health area. See also the 2020 Topics and Objectives for overviews and links to data.
Social vulnerability refers to the resilience of communities when confronted by external stresses on human health, stresses such as natural or human-caused disasters, or disease outbreaks. Reducing social vulnerability can decrease both human suffering and economic loss. ATSDR's Social Vulnerability Index uses U.S. census variables at tract level to help local officials identify communities that may need support in preparing for hazards, or recovering from disaster.
The Healthy People 2020 Midcourse Review provides a snapshot of objective progress toward meeting targets halfway through the 10-year initiative, providing a roadmap for the second half of the decade. This 820-page report provides detailed progress and health disparities data, as available, for over 1,200 objectives. Readers can download individual chapters of the report.
Many States and Territories use Healthy People as a guide to improving health. Find your State or Territory below to learn about how they’re working to achieve the Healthy People 2020 goals and objectives. Some states provide statistics by race and other factors; some also display at county level.
The Institute of Medicine Committee on Quality Measures for the Healthy People Leading Health Indicators was charged to identify measures of quality for the 12 Leading Health Indicator topics and 26 Leading Health Indicators in Healthy People 2020, the current version of the Department of Health and Human Services 10-year agenda for improving the nation's health. This book also addresses data reporting and analytical capacities that must be available to capture the measures and for demonstrating the value of the measures to improving population health, and provides recommendations for how the measures can be used across sectors of the public health and health care systems.