It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick access to state and local data on hundreds of health topics. Run your own customized search using AskCHIS, review publications and data summaries, and more. CHIS is the state's largest health survey.
Use AskCHIS Neighborhood Edition for statistics at the local level (zip code, city, county and legislative district)
Includes vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. National & state data download: csv (national also SAS).
Online query system based on data from AHRQ's Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project. It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization at the national, regional, and State level.You can generate tables and graphs.
Designed for Community Health Needs Assessments. Pre-made, interactive maps of the United States down to census tract level for demographics, social and economic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, clinical care, and health outcomes.
Allows users to easily find, customize, and use data on more than 500 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every county, city, school district, and legislative district in California.
OECD Health Statistics consists of tables on health and health systems across OECD countries. OECD Health Data is an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics: healthcare, food and nutrition, and more in the OECD Member countries and Accession countries, which are presented in a demographic, economic and social context. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
Evidence Exchange Network from Ontario, Canada makes mental health treatment and prevention evidence accessible through research summaries, evidence briefs, rapid reviews, infographics, videos, and more.
This report explores how methods of evidence-based medicine can be applied in public health in the field of infectious diseases. A framework for rapid risk assessments is presented, including risk detection/verification, assessment of the risk, development of advice, and implementation and evaluation. Tools and templates for each stage are also presented.
Clearinghouse for evidence-based practice of medicine literature — includes links to evidence-based guidelines, systematic reviews and best practices. From the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School.
A screening methodology that can be used to help identify California communities that are disproportionately burdened by multiple sources of pollution. It uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information to produce scores for every census tract in the state.
Evidence-Based Public Health by Brownson; et al.There are at least three ways in which a public health program or policy may not reach stated goals for success:1) Choosing an intervention approach whose effectiveness is not established in the scientific literature2) Selecting a potentially effective program or policy yet achieving only weak, incomplete implementation or "reach," thereby failing to attain objectives;3) Conducting an inadequate or incorrect evaluation that results in a lack of generalizable knowledge on the effectiveness of a program or policy4) Paying inadequate attention to adapting an intervention to the population and context of interestTo enhance evidence-based practice, this book addresses all four possibilities and attempts to provide practical guidance on how to choose, carry out, and evaluate evidence-based programs and policies in public health settings. It also begins to address a fifth, overarching need for a highly trainedpublic health workforce. This book deals not only with finding and using scientific evidence, but also with implementation and evaluation of interventions that generate new evidence on effectiveness. Because all these topics are broad and require multi-disciplinary skills and perspectives, each chapter covers the basicissues and provides multiple examples to illustrate important concepts. In addition, each chapter provides links to the diverse literature and selected websites for readers wanting more detailed information. An indispensable volume for professionals, students, and researchers in the public healthsciences and preventative medicine, this new and updated edition of Evidence-Based Public Health aims to bridge research and evidence with policies and the practice of public health.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011
Evidence-Based Public Health Practice by Fink, ArleneThis practical book shows how to do evidence-based research in public health. As a great deal of evidence-based practice occurs online, it focuses on how to find, use and interpret online sources of public health information. It also includes examples of community-based participatory research and shows how to link data with community preferences and needs. Each chapter begins with specific learning objectives and concludes with practice exercises geared to the objectives. Each chapter also contains a list of key terms that are an essential part of an evidence-based public health practitioner′s vocabulary. The book includes a comprehensive glossary, and hundreds of online and print references, examples, and charts.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012
Public Health Intelligence Issues of Measure and Method by Regmi; Gee (Editors)The first textbook on public health intelligence presents indepth the key concepts, methods, and objectives of this increasingly importantcompetency. It systematically reviews types of evidence and data that compriseintelligence, effective techniques for assessment, analysis, andinterpretation, and the role of this knowledge in quality health service delivery.The book's learner-centered approach gives readers interactive context formastering the processes of gathering and working with intelligence as well asits uses in informing public health decision-making. And its pragmaticframework will help establish standards for training, practice, and policy,leading to continued improvements in population health. This path-breaking resource: Offers a comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to public health intelligence, a core area of public health competency. Is suitable for both graduates' and healthcare professionals' training and development for national and international contexts. Helps readers apply theory to real-life scenarios, from multi-professional perspectives. Features activities, case studies, and discussion tasks for easy reader engagement. Anticipates and examines emerging developments in the field. Public HealthIntelligence - Issues of Measure and Method is bedrock reading for postgraduateand advanced undergraduate students in public health, global health, healthpolicy, health service management, nursing, medicine, statistics, epidemiology,quantitative methods, health intelligence, health inequality, and other alliedhealthcare fields. It is also a salient text for public health practitionersand health policymakers. "This bookis a 'must-read' for students contemplating a career in Public Health or foranyone who is already in practice. The breadth of chapters from respectedauthors provide a detailed overview and critique of issues related to publichealth intelligence. A key strength of the book is that it is written with bothstudents and practitioners in mind." GurchRandhawa, PhD, FFPH, Professor of Diversity in Public Health & Director,Institute for Health Research, University of Bedfordshire, UK